Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

Postby Ezepov » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:58 pm

Doom1, Doom2, Plutonia, TNT skyboxes for GZDoom

Screenshots
Spoiler:


Download
Last edited by Ezepov on Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Ezepov
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Tapwave » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:02 pm

Pardon me if this is incredibly stupid of me, but what difference is there from the original? Does it use a skybox sector, or..?
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby unRyker » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:32 pm

No skyboxes, I looked inside and it's just good use of GLDEFS. This is definetly auto-load material, good work!

Edit:
Spoiler: Before Pictures
User avatar
unRyker
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2015
Location: United States

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Tapwave » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:53 pm

Oooh! My bad, then. Just a simple, silly little thing that does it's job wonderfully. :p
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby PandaDoomer » Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:35 pm

Could you release a pack for TNT and Plutonia?


Also, these came out GREAT.
Last edited by PandaDoomer on Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PandaDoomer
I suck at making DOOM mods.
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2015
Location: USA
Discord: PedroThePanda64#1661
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Reinchard2 » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:14 pm

Thanks for this skyboxes. That's one thing I always wanted to have. Nice job.
Reinchard2
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Location: Poland - Bytom

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Ezepov » Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:24 am

PandaDoomer wrote:Could you release a pack for TNT and Plutonia?

Maybe later
User avatar
Ezepov
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Princess Viscra Maelstrom » Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:05 am

Would these skyboxes interfere with wads that use custom skies?
User avatar
Princess Viscra Maelstrom
Lives To Serve
 
Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Location: plergleland

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Ezepov » Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:22 am

These are skyboxes that replace the skies for Doom1, Doom2, depending on the pack loaded.
You can put them all in the autoload of the INI, like this:

[Doom1.autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/SB_D1.wad

[Doom2.autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/SB_D2.wad

There are a couple of problems, though. When a new wad is loaded that replaces SkyX in the texturex, the skybox is still displayed. This can be fixed by manually loading the skybox whenever you want it, or removing it from the INI whenever you don't.
From:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=16768
User avatar
Ezepov
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Wiw » Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:47 am

I like, I like!
User avatar
Wiw
Frequently puts foot in mouth
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2015
Location: Everywhere and nowhere.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby jpalomo » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:20 am

This is really awesome! How did you make these? I'm sticking this in my autoloads.
Spoiler:
User avatar
jpalomo
 
Joined: 17 May 2010

Re: Skyboxes Doom 1 and 2 for GZDoom

Postby Ezepov » Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:50 am

jpalomo wrote:This is really awesome! How did you make these?

I make skyboxes in 3D Max. Default skies + new clouds.
Spoiler:

jpalomo wrote:I took the two WADs, put everything into one file, and used lump filtering to load them with the right IWADs. One less line to stick in my ini file :P

It's interesting. Upload your file please.
User avatar
Ezepov
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

Postby Ezepov » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:54 am

Update.
Added WADs for Plutonia and TNT, and PK3 for all Dooms (thanks jpalomo for help).
User avatar
Ezepov
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

Postby Skrell » Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:52 pm

Forgive me guys, but i dont understand, what are the advantages/disadvantages between skyboxes and GLDEFS?
Skrell
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2013

Re: Doom skyboxes for GZDoom

Postby Nash » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:46 pm

My only critique is the vertically mirrored art at the bottom hemisphere of the skybox. If you could actually model unique terrain for the bottom half and somehow keep it looking vanilla, it would look better, in my opinion. :D

Otherwise, this is beautiful. Very vanilla.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Next

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 1 guest