QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.3.0 released!)

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

HazeBandicoot wrote:Though I can't use it anymore, I must say, congratulations on official release, devs, this port will certainly be the go-to for quite a few people.
Thank you - though I must ask, why can't you use it? Have you tried "+vid_used3d true" on the command line?
Abba Zabba wrote:Just want to start off by saying thank you for this port. This is pretty much my ideal dream port I've imagined about for a long time.

Little question though that might be covered by the OP (but seemingly not to me); will there be support for radial gradients or whatever overarching sprite type they fall under, in the future? It's the only thing that caught my eye (besides the linear filtering that cambertian pointed out, however I never use texture filters), because the general translucency is ignored (meaning it produces a square sprite in game, it fades out just fine)
I'm afraid you've stumped me with the meaning of your question. Could you rephrase that or clarify?
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by dpJudas »

You're welcome, Abba. :)

On the subject of linear filtering: This is missing from sprites mostly because they used to use palette input until very recently where this wasn't possible. I am planning on fixing this at some point in the future now that this limitation has been lifted.

The mipmapping issue is best solved by using trilinear filtering, which I might add at some point, but even if I do that it will reduce the frame rate. The math that it is using for the switch-over point from one mipmap to another is currently rather poor - I've recently gotten a better understanding of how the GPUs calculate this that might help improve the looks of it.
User avatar
Abba Zabba
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:50 pm
Location: a place lol!

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Abba Zabba »

Eruanna wrote:I'm afraid you've stumped me with the meaning of your question. Could you rephrase that or clarify?
No prob. Sprites like these where the black edges are made transparent in GZ:
Spoiler:
In software it's a very faint gray, but still noticeable square. Said radial gradient as IIRC some mods include black borders with those sprites, like Beautiful Doom (though rounded.) Another example in Beautiful Doom would be the sparks.
Last edited by Abba Zabba on Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
YukiHerz
Global Moderator
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:01 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by YukiHerz »

Eruanna wrote:
HazeBandicoot wrote:Though I can't use it anymore, I must say, congratulations on official release, devs, this port will certainly be the go-to for quite a few people.
Thank you - though I must ask, why can't you use it? Have you tried "+vid_used3d true" on the command line?
Must've missed that before, it works, though it crashed when starting a map of Chex 3, here's the console log, seems related to the discussion on the previous page.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows NT (NT 10.0) Build 14393
    
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
 adding C:/Users/gabie/Desktop/GZDoom/QZDoom/qzdoom.pk3, 636 lumps
 adding ./chex3.wad, 2240 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU speed: 1596 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU B815 @ 1.60GHz
  Family 6, Model 42, Stepping 7
  Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright © Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.44.60
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
DECORATE parsing took 75.28 ms
R_Init: Init Chex refresh subsystem.
DecalLibrary: Load decals.
M_Init: Init menus.
P_Init: Init Playloop state.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading default status bar definition.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading custom status bar definition.
D_CheckNetGame: Checking network game status.
player 1 of 1 (1 nodes)
I_InitInput
I_StartupMouse
I_StartupKeyboard
I_StartupXInput
I_StartupRawPS2
I_StartupDirectInputJoystick
Resolution: 1024 x 576

═════════════════════════════════

e2m1 - Spaceport

(null): invalid ACS module

Execution could not continue.

Fatal drawer error: DrawWall1LLVMCommand
dest_y = 367, count = 1, flags = 3
dpJudas
 
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by dpJudas »

Hmm, another Celeron drawer crash. I wonder if the current codegen outputs instructions valid for Celerons. LLVM should be auto-detecting what the CPU got, but if that fails.. kaboom.

HazeBandicoot: if you launch Doom 2 map01 at 800x600, does it crash immediately?
User avatar
YukiHerz
Global Moderator
Posts: 1503
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:01 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by YukiHerz »

Yup.

Code: Select all

Fatal drawer error: DrawWall4LLVMCommand
dest_y = 0, count = 495, flags = 3
Both crashes are with the 64-bits build, with the 32-bits one it simply crashes with "QZDoom has stopped working", no crash log generates.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Abba Zabba wrote:
Eruanna wrote:I'm afraid you've stumped me with the meaning of your question. Could you rephrase that or clarify?
No prob. Sprites like these where the black edges are made transparent in GZ:
Spoiler:
In software it's a very faint gray, but still noticeable square. Said radial gradient as IIRC some mods include black borders with those sprites, like Beautiful Doom (though rounded.) Another example in Beautiful Doom would be the sparks.
I think the problem you're describing is what happens when ZDoom's pixels are shoved into an RGB555 color array and then taken back out. (I've suggested expanding the array to RGB666 for improved color accuracy and reduce these color artifacts, but I didn't want to go through the trouble of redoing all the drawers to accommodate for this - but now, with my experience with the software renderer the project at least seems a lot more feasible than it did before)

That does not happen with the True-Color drawer. Sprites with transparent edges should look a lot closer to how they look in GZDoom.
User avatar
Abba Zabba
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:50 pm
Location: a place lol!

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Abba Zabba »

Spoiler:
Taken with QZDoom with RGBA8 texture format in true color renderer.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

And how do they look in GZDoom?
User avatar
Abba Zabba
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:50 pm
Location: a place lol!

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Abba Zabba »

Spoiler:
GZDoom with RGBA8 texture format.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Hmm... I better have a look at this, myself. My guess is, there's something GZDoom is doing that is not supported by QZDoom yet - in which case I do not know if QZDoom's renderer can/will support it.

But now you have me intrigued. What mod is this that's making these explosions? How are the sprites/actors defined?
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21506
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by wildweasel »

The mod is Project MSX, but this looks like the classic additive-blending trick to me - sprites with black backgrounds are set to RenderStyle Add so that the black portions are invisible, and opacity is equal to luminance. If I had to guess, there's some imprecision in the way this is calculated in ZDoom and QZDoom.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

The part that gets me, though, is those white boxes were visible in the Slade3 screenshot, too, even if it wasn't as obvious.

So my guess is, there's some sort of alpha trickery going on here. As far as I know, ZDoom (and by proxy, QZDoom) can only handle solid alphas - and I always thought this to be the case with GZDoom, as well, although it might have been changed when I was not looking.
User avatar
MartinHowe
Posts: 1967
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:50 pm
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by MartinHowe »

Just like to say this is AWESOME work. Will give it a try when my current phase of projects finishes.

Several years ago a Russian programmer did something like this with a fork of EDuke32, it looked amazing; slopes, RoR, etc, all based on a Build implementation software renderer. I have not heard of it in a long time, but this could do similar for ZDoom :D
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13100
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 0.1 released!)

Post by Rachael »

Thank you, MartinHowe :) Though most of the credit really goes to dpJudas. XD

Return to “Game Engines”