Fast Doom

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Fast Doom

Post by Rowsol »

Small mod I made just for the hell of it.

Halved the tic duration of all monster and weapon states. Doubled projectile speed. Things are twice as fast basically. Can you survive? I couldn't.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/hyd9g ... stdoom.pk3
Last edited by Rowsol on Sun Jul 17, 2016 6:44 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
ZioMcCall
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:05 pm
Location: Senigallia,Italy

Re: Fast Doom

Post by ZioMcCall »

2 FAST 4 ME
User avatar
Big C
Posts: 2839
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Big C »

But are all the sound effects sped up to chipmunk levels, too? :P
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Rowsol »

It's only 7kb, try it. BTW, might wanna turn off "always run".
Last edited by Rowsol on Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Fast Doom

Post by NeuralStunner »

I've always thought that mods like this should include a tweaked xlat that doubles door/plat/etc speeds.

I hope you also made sure to double up weapon switching, too.
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Rowsol »

For sure, as well as bobbing. No idea how to do xlat but if someone cared enough to do it I'd throw it in the mod.
User avatar
Somagu
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Somagu »

This stacks with -fast. Someone send help.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Fast Doom

Post by NeuralStunner »

Rowsol wrote:No idea how to do xlat but if someone cared enough to do it I'd throw it in the mod.
As I suspected, it's as simple as changing the speed defines. Here you go!
Somagu wrote:This stacks with -fast. Someone send help.
You knew what forces you toyed with, mortal. :twisted:
User avatar
Big C
Posts: 2839
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Big C »

Somagu wrote:This stacks with -fast. Someone send help.
JESUS TAKE THE WHEEL!
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Fast Doom

Post by NeuralStunner »

Jesus wrote:You're on your own, kid.
One other thing: Does this account for odd-numbered tic amounts? I'm wondering how much accuracy is maintained here. :P
User avatar
Rowsol
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:31 am

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Rowsol »

Somagu wrote:This stacks with -fast. Someone send help.
Yea, doubled the fastspeeds too.
NeuralStunner wrote:As I suspected, it's as simple as changing the speed defines. Here you go!
Is this file not plug and play? I got numerous errors on map01 so I warped to map02 where I got no errors but I couldn't flip the first switch.
NeuralStunner wrote:One other thing: Does this account for odd-numbered tic amounts? I'm wondering how much accuracy is maintained here. :P
I used random() in place of odd numbers, so yes, perfect accuracy assuming the wiki is correct and you're okay with some variation in the speed.

Code: Select all

SPOS AABBCCDD Random(1,2) A_Chase
User avatar
Ethril
Posts: 2677
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:59 am
Location: with you in the dark

Re: Fast Doom

Post by Ethril »

Oh boy now I can have the TurboCharged ARCADE! experience anywhere I want!
User avatar
ZikShadow
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:43 am
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Fast Doom

Post by ZikShadow »

Honestly, all we're missing here is just white gloves for Doomguy.
User avatar
4thcharacter
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:54 am

Re: Fast Doom

Post by 4thcharacter »

Tried it, meddled with the chaingun. Still not fast enough. But then I set sv_fastweapons to 3. I never loved the chaingun this much.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Fast Doom

Post by NeuralStunner »

Rowsol wrote:Is this file not plug and play? I got numerous errors on map01 so I warped to map02 where I got no errors but I couldn't flip the first switch.
Huh, I had an errant comma in there. No idea why it worked fine when I tested it. :?

I just reuploaded it with a fix, so it should be alright.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”