EDGE 2.1.0 Discussion [RC-1 Released on 10.3.2018]

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Big C
Posts: 2839
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Big C »

We don't know who, but they seem to have something to do with a recent bruteforce hacking attack on the forums.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by NeuralStunner »

Coraline wrote:On a side note, I ended up getting ICD-SE running through 3DGE 2.1.0 quite painlessly. :-)
Good to hear. :D
User avatar
chronoteeth
Posts: 2653
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by chronoteeth »

I have a really silly request

could you make some sort of check or identifier for DDFWEAPONS so that when, lets say we have a shotgun that needs reloading, if we only have to load like 2 shells out of the 8, we only have to load the 2 instead of the full 8? Basically a CHECKIFFULL command or something
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

Yep! We are already reworking the weapon reloading logic. I wrote the code -- we just need to create the identifier.

We have also been looking at replacing the entire reload code to just always assume to partially reload (unless using clip weapons, reloading for those will remain unchanged).
User avatar
mutator
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by mutator »

this is really good engine to be honest, it's like gzdoom so I don't understand why people can't appreciate this engine like they do with rest of them
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

mutator wrote:this is really good engine to be honest, it's like gzdoom so I don't understand why people can't appreciate this engine like they do with rest of them
Who knows, but thanks for that! It just needs a bit of TLC is all ;)
User avatar
unRyker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:30 am
Location: United States

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by unRyker »

Hey. just checked it out and I like the options it gives! However, I'm experiencing stuttering and input delay which is strange due to the fact that my specs aren't bad and I can run GZDoom fine. I'm running Windows 10 (it pushed the update to me, might switch to Linux) and I'm wondering what I could do to improve my framerate?

Also, I can't rebind the 'Use' key and I prefer WASD and mouse, unless I'm missing something. It's a cool engine and I'll be interested in learning the few languages it supports to maybe do a mod or two once I get it sorted out!
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

Pull the console down when the game starts, and type:

r_maxfps 0 (0 here means unlimited framerate)
r_vsync 0 (usually the case for input delay)
r_lerp 1 (if not already interpolated)

Your issues should be completely solved. If you want to keep the frame limiter on (>= 60fps), just set r_maxfps to '60' (but you might occasionally have issues - the code was not highly tested on many machines).

All users: to completely eliminate that problem, disabling both r_maxfps by setting it to '0' and setting v_sync to '0' results in near-perfect interpolation with no stuttering.

Rebinding issues:

Some users have reported this behavior (which no longer happens on the still-unreleased SDL2 branch), so to get around it, do the following:

Highlight the function key you want to rebind. Hit either 'backspace' or 'delete' until it clears. If it does not, select a different function (keyd_down or keyd_up) but don't do anything. Then, move the cursor back to the function key you were trying to delete in the first place -- it should rebind just fine now. This is a really old bug, and has since been fixed.

Let me know if that helps!
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

Just checking in - did those cvars help anyone with the input lag and stuttering?

Need some feedback before I start adding to what works... :-P
User avatar
unRyker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:30 am
Location: United States

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by unRyker »

Strange, must've gotten a corrupt download and it played silky-smooth when I re-downloaded it today! Albeit the input delay was still there. About the use key, I can't find a way to rebind the key that opens doors from the space key to a different one, like the 'e' key. I'd prefer to have jump space instead. Changing the controls works fine for me by the way!

I really like the Zoom-In key, so far it's my favorite addition along with the few 'extra's option menu! (Extra blood? I don't mind!)

To add: The console CVars you provided actually did get rid of the input delay!

However, I seem to lag when I'm coming up close to the wall, but I'm fine when I'm far enough away from it or right up against it. Could it have something to do with the dimming fog? That happens to me on the first map of Doom 2 by the lift that contains the switch secret. I haven't seen it on another map yet because I'm still busy fiddling around with 3DGE's options.

Some personal suggestions: Crouch transition could be slightly faster, since it seems too slow, and numerical values for the sliders would be nice as well!

This is a really neat engine, can't wait to see where it goes! I also have a few more suggestions as well, but I'll save most of them for later since I've been only playing on this engine for less than a day.
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

Dimming fog? Are you using 2.0.4? Should not be affected by the lighting equation (first time I have heard of that slowdown issue). Just in case, clear out the ./cache folder and rebuild nodes. What does your hardware look like?

Gonna speed up the crouch transition and try to add numeric values to the menus. We are using really old menu code, which was supposed to have been revamped by now, so it will either make it, or I will hold off until new menu code gets finished...

And yeah - the rebinding issue also only seems to happen with the Use key (even in 2.1.0..., again, old menu code -- I was rewriting it awhile ago, might pick that back up again).

All in all, I am glad you are enjoying the port! :)
User avatar
unRyker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:30 am
Location: United States

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by unRyker »

I'm using 2.0.4 final, the one released in April 24 this year. Deleting the cache did make it rebuild nodes, but it isn't resolved.

Code: Select all

Intel Core i7-4500U CPU at 1.8GHz, 2.4GHz Processor
8GB Ram
64-Bit OS
NVidia GeForce 745m
Hopefully, the issue gets resolved. Here's a video demonstrating it along with the FPS counter enabled:


Thanks for taking my suggestions!
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

I cannot recreate this issue - I tested it with a few computers as well.

What I think might be the culprit is your NVidia GeForce 745m -- integrated graphics on a laptop? With r_maxfps '0', I get close to ~2K framerate. Yours is only maxing out around 300 when, on average PCs with an external card, will throw up close to either 2K or beyond. Of course it cannot be physically seen, but regardless, it should be pumping out more frames than that.

As a real test, cap your framerate to Doom's 35T/s:
Make sure r_maxfps is 0 and r_vsync to 0, then turn off interpolation (r_lerp 0 or use the menu) . The framerate ticker technically won't adjust to 35.5 (it technically does, but there's a reason) - this will cap the rendering system at 35FPS -- even without the FPS counter, the problem you are having should persist. If it does not, then this is unfortunately a hardware issue. :(

What I recommend doing is lowering the resolution, and turning off dynamic lights. If you have your options set to maxfps (0) and vsync (0), I suspect it might be your graphics chip on your laptop. Turn off anything that could be affecting it in VIdeo Options.
User avatar
unRyker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:30 am
Location: United States

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by unRyker »

Yep, just tried what you've told me and it's a hardware problem on my laptop. However, I will be on my desktop PC in a month since I'm visiting relatives and friends right now. Thanks for your patience with me, I'll see where I could start modding for 3DGE now though since it really is an interesting engine!

Thanks again for your time!
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 2.0.4 Final Released! (4.26.2016)

Post by Coraline »

unRyker wrote:Yep, just tried what you've told me and it's a hardware problem on my laptop. However, I will be on my desktop PC in a month since I'm visiting relatives and friends right now. Thanks for your patience with me, I'll see where I could start modding for 3DGE now though since it really is an interesting engine!

Thanks again for your time!
You are totally welcome! Thanks for being patient yourself, sometimes it feels like I talk too much =)

In case you missed it, the 3DGEWiki is your best bet for learning how to mod ^_^

Return to “Game Engines”