What screen resolution do you use?

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

What's your screen resolution?

800x600
2
7%
1024x768
1
3%
1360x768/1366x768
5
17%
1920x1080
14
48%
Other/Multiple (Post in a reply)
7
24%
 
Total votes: 29

irukanjji
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:27 pm

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by irukanjji »

I used also 1366x768. (The maximum my monitor supports)
mallo
Posts: 1112
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:49 pm

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by mallo »

1440x900, that's the max resolution of my screen.
User avatar
leileilol
Posts: 4449
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:16 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by leileilol »

PC 1920x1080. TV 1920x1080. And the laptop? 1400x1050.

TVs suck as monitors due to colorspace issues even if you use some TV's "pc" setting, and then there's that refreshrate thing and inconsistent support for non 480p/720p/1080p resolutions...
User avatar
Kostov
 
 
Posts: 2020
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Kostov »

Did you find a resolution that works for your TV?

Heck, now I want to post a picture of my gear.
Spoiler:
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by NiGHTMARE »

HazeBandicoot wrote:1366x768 because laptop
My laptop's native res is 1920x1080...
User avatar
Kostov
 
 
Posts: 2020
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:26 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Kostov »

Many average laptops are at 1366x768, I've noticed.
User avatar
GooberMan
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by GooberMan »

User avatar
Average
Posts: 626
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 4:28 am

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Average »

1080p/144Hz on a nice wee 24" BenQ for me. Nice monitor with good response and blacks.

I notice a couple of people using dual monitors. I've got an old LCD buried in the cupboard... How does mouse capture work on such a set up? If I had Doom running on one screen how would I move the mouse on the second screen to control Media Player Classic or the like?
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6628
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Amuscaria »

1680 x 1050 at 16:10 ratio so I don't get the "tall" sprites.
User avatar
Dancso
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:39 am
Location: at home.. Status: lazy like hell

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Dancso »

@Average
You'd need to alt+tab. Doom requires a focused window and will generally lock your cursor into it.(except when in the menu, for those sourceports/versions that have cursor support there)
You might even need to run the game in windowed mode in order to see your other screens so they won't be black when the game is focused, but don't quote me on this, I don't have dual monitors, I'm just recalling a friend's setup.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by wildweasel »

Dancso wrote:@Average
You'd need to alt+tab. Doom requires a focused window and will generally lock your cursor into it.(except when in the menu, for those sourceports/versions that have cursor support there)
You might even need to run the game in windowed mode in order to see your other screens so they won't be black when the game is focused, but don't quote me on this, I don't have dual monitors, I'm just recalling a friend's setup.
A lot of fullscreen programs will typically leave the other monitor alone, as long as they're running at the same resolution as the desktop. If not, the other monitor may be "scrolled over" to the left to compensate for the lost desktop area. It's a pain if there's something on the other screen you need to keep an eye on, and mouse capturing is also a pain in games that just won't let go of the mouse (or sometimes won't capture it at all, allowing the mouse to escape), so those are reasons why I play games windowed wherever I can, and sometimes opt to play with my gamepad (gamepads can't escape the game window, heh).
User avatar
Dragon Mech
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 3:04 am
Location: Somewhere between the CPU and RAM bank #4

Re: What screen resolution do you use?

Post by Dragon Mech »

i have a multiple monitor setup. my primary monitor is a 24 inch LED backlite LCD TV with VGA input. it's runing at 1920x1080:60Hz. (native setup)
my secondary monitor is a 17 inch NEC MultiSync LCD monitor running at 1280x1024:75Hz.
for a total width of 3200.

Return to “Off-Topic”