How to disable certain feature

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
Vegeta(dw)
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:23 am

How to disable certain feature

Post by Vegeta(dw) »

Hi, in a mod I'm playing online actors are edited so BRIGHT flag only aplies to certain pixels (like eyes, fire, etc). Is it posible to disable this without editing the wad itself?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by wildweasel »

Sounds like the mod is using brightmaps; I think those can be disabled somewhere in the OpenGL options?
User avatar
Dancso
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:39 am
Location: at home.. Status: lazy like hell

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by Dancso »

Just looked for it in GZDoom, couldn't find such an option.

Also,
http://zdoom.org/wiki/CVARs:Display
Doesn't seem like there's a cvar for it (unless I missed it).
User avatar
Vegeta(dw)
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:23 am

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by Vegeta(dw) »

I'm playing the wad on Zandronum. I just found how to disable it. It's in GL options -> Shaders (shaders for brightness maps).

Thanks a lot for the quick replies.
User avatar
Dancso
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:39 am
Location: at home.. Status: lazy like hell

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by Dancso »

Hm, that no longer seems to be present in GZDoom.
I did remember that shader option as it had the odd quirk for me, such as turning textures white as I walked through a decorative sprite, like a tree. (noticed it in hexen)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by Graf Zahl »

The shader option no longer exists, because with modern hardware there are no corner cases where it might cause compatibility issues.
Even in GZDoom 1.x it only applies to ancient pre GL 3.x hardware.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12326
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by NeuralStunner »

If turning off that option worked, it's a "happy" coincidence that the non-shader method isn't working.

There is currently no toggle for brightmaps. It's been suggested multiple times, however:
Graf Zahl wrote:Even for GZDoom the answer is 'no'. This feature has little to no impact on performance and the toggle's only function would be to cripple mods depending on it. The stock brightmaps are a separate file to begin with so they are of no consequence.
In Zandronum's case I guess the lights/brightmaps are still in the main PK3 jsut because Skulltag did it that way. They should probably be split back out, but I'm sure that would just make a bunch of people complain who have nothing better to do.
User avatar
Vegeta(dw)
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:23 am

Re: How to disable certain feature

Post by Vegeta(dw) »

My bad, on the latest version of zandronum the option is no more. I guess I'll have to get used to it if I want to play that wad.

Return to “Off-Topic”