[Project] Quake II Resources

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21445
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by wildweasel »

It doesn't look like this behavior offers any advantages over using built-in features like Weapon.SelectionOrder and a PowerDamage item. I'm not even sure what the AlphaShotgunInventory stuff is for.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26415
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by Enjay »

Thanks. I was trying to make sense of the code but I just couldn't figure out why a lot of the stuff was there. At least I'm not alone in that. Perhaps some cleanup is in order. I wonder if 22alpha22 is going to come back to this.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

Ok I'm back, I'm sorry that I was silent over the last few months. I've been very busy with work and school and didn't really have time to work on this. I'm still busy and have given another couple of projects priority now, so I don't know when I will be able to work on this again. Rest assured that this project isn't scrapped, just on hold and I will come back to it when I have more time. I will monitor this thread and try to post in it with more regularity than every few months. :oops:
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by SyntherAugustus »

This is awesome. Looking forward for the monsters.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

Enjay wrote:22alpha22 hasn't been around for a couple of months so can anyone who has looked into the code for this explain something to me? The weapon code seems to use a lot of inventory items and inventory-check jumps. My confusion comes from the fact that a lot of this seems to be doing things that is usually done with more traditional DECORATE code.

So, what I'm wondering is, why is the code like this and what, if any, features/advantages does it allow? Thanks.
The inventory-check state jumps are a messy workaround so that I can play the weapon dry sound when the weapon runs out of ammo without playing it each time the player deselects the weapon. If I had the sound play in the "Deselect" state, it would play every time the player switched weapons, even when they still had ammo. So instead the weapon runs checks on ammo count, and when its reaches zero, the weapon redirects to the "Dry" state. After playing the dry sound, the weapon checks to see which is the highest priority weapon the player has ammo for and jumps to a state to make sure the player has actually has the weapon. If the player has the weapon, then the command to select that weapon is given, otherwise it checks for ammo for the next priority weapon, and repeats the process until a suitable weapon is found or the Blaster is selected.

As for the "AlphaShotgunInventory" and the "AlphaShotgunInventoryGiver", each weapon has corresponding versions of these that are used so that the player can select the weapon from the inventory list like a powerup or other portable inventory item. This mimics Quake II behavior, all weapons in Quake II, could be selected from the inventory, as well the powerups.

I hope this clears up any confusion, I know my implementation of these features is messy and if anyone has a better way to implement them, I'd be only to happy for assistance.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26415
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by Enjay »

22alpha22 wrote:The inventory-check state jumps are a messy workaround so that I can play the weapon dry sound when the weapon runs out of ammo without playing it each time the player deselects the weapon. If I had the sound play in the "Deselect" state, it would play every time the player switched weapons, even when they still had ammo. So instead the weapon runs checks on ammo count, and when its reaches zero, the weapon redirects to the "Dry" state. After playing the dry sound, the weapon checks to see which is the highest priority weapon the player has ammo for and jumps to a state to make sure the player has actually has the weapon. If the player has the weapon, then the command to select that weapon is given, otherwise it checks for ammo for the next priority weapon, and repeats the process until a suitable weapon is found or the Blaster is selected.
Ah, OK, thanks. I think you're probably over complicating things though. A little while back I released a mod and I used your mod as a (much appreciated) starting point for my weapons. With a bit of help from the editing forum, I made the "dead man's click" work by running an ammo check in the deselect state. If there is no ammo, it jumps to a state that plays the click and then jumps back to the deselect sequence at a point past the ammo check.

Here is a copy/paste from one of the weapons in my mod:

Code: Select all

	Deselect:
		MOD3 H 0 A_JumpIfNoAmmo("DeadMan")
		MOD3 HIJ 4 A_Lower
		TNT1 A 1 A_Lower
		Goto Deselect +4

	DeadMan:
		MOD3 H 4 A_PlayWeaponSound("GTWeapons/Deadman")
		Goto Deselect+2
As for the checks for which weapon is available and contains ammo, there's really no need to do that at all. ZDoom has a built in system of weapon priorities that allows you to set things up without all the checks and jumps you are using.

[wiki]Weapon_properties[/wiki]
Weapon.SelectionOrder value
Defines the place in the weapons list when ammo runs out. Lower numbers have higher priority
If you want to check my mod it is here:

http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=46718

and you are, of course, more than welcome to use anything in it that you find useful.
diegomula
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:17 am

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by diegomula »

Hi, this mod looks very interesting, congratulations. I have a few questions about this mod.

If you take a number from 1 to 100, how much is this mod completed? considering: 100 is full-tested completed mod release and 1 would be like a beta phase of this project.

and my second question is: is possible to make this mod compatible with zandronum? I mean for multiplayer coop games and the easier way to make servers.

Thanks for this amazing mod man. I hope you're still working on it in the future.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

diegomula wrote: If you take a number from 1 to 100, how much is this mod completed? considering: 100 is full-tested completed mod release and 1 would be like a beta phase of this project.
This project would probably considered a working Alpha rather than Beta right now. I'd say it is only 5-10% complete considering I still have to do monsters, textures, various other models, the weapons and pickups still need some work, and various other things. There is certainly a lot still to do before I consider it finished.
diegomula wrote: and my second question is: is possible to make this mod compatible with zandronum? I mean for multiplayer coop games and the easier way to make servers.
To be honest, I don't have any experience working with Zandronum, I have used it to set up games with my friends before, but have never actually modded for it. I have heard that it is quite outdated compared to ZDoom and by extension that means GZDoom too. So it may not be compatible and probably isn't with my project. When the main project eventually does get done, I want to recreate the original Quake II PC and PS1 multiplayer maps, and I do agree that Zandronum is a much better multiplayer platform than GZDoom. So when I get that far, I'll have to see what can be done.
diegomula
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:17 am

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by diegomula »

22alpha22 wrote: To be honest, I don't have any experience working with Zandronum, I have used it to set up games with my friends before, but have never actually modded for it. I have heard that it is quite outdated compared to ZDoom and by extension that means GZDoom too. So it may not be compatible and probably isn't with my project. When the main project eventually does get done, I want to recreate the original Quake II PC and PS1 multiplayer maps, and I do agree that Zandronum is a much better multiplayer platform than GZDoom. So when I get that far, I'll have to see what can be done.
I understand, but as an option you can make a 'Q2 weapons mod' for zandronum, to combine with other mods like monster packs and cooperative/deathmach games. I always wanted to play the Doom maps with the Q2 weapons, and with a multiplayer option to play with my friends would be awesome. There's some mods of Quake 2 weapons but they aren't good mods. This mod is so much better. Thanks for working on it.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

I have some free time coming up, so I'm going try to get some more progress made on this, maybe all the armor pickups, menu graphics and sounds, and HUD.
diegomula wrote: I understand, but as an option you can make a 'Q2 weapons mod' for zandronum, to combine with other mods like monster packs and cooperative/deathmach games. I always wanted to play the Doom maps with the Q2 weapons, and with a multiplayer option to play with my friends would be awesome. There's some mods of Quake 2 weapons but they aren't good mods. This mod is so much better. Thanks for working on it.

Single player resources and compatibility are my first priority, when that is done, I'll see what can be done for multi-player.
Matsilagi
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:37 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by Matsilagi »

A suggestion would be fix the delays for the weapons (Especially shotgun, its too slow and makes pump noises on draw).
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

I have just released update version 0.19, it is a minor update aimed at smoothing out the powerup and weapon coding, making it easier to understand and less likely to break. I'm working on version 0.2, it will have all the armor pickups and will hopefully be done in less than a week.

Version 0.19 changes

-I've completely scrapped my messy ACS implementation of the powerups. It tracked their duration so I could play their expiring sound when they ran out of time. Instead, I use the powerup "PowerProtection" which supports active and expiring sounds, as a base for the other powerups.
-Thanks to Enjay for pointing out my over complicated weapon deselection system and how to improve and make it much simpler.
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by SyntherAugustus »

I know it's not the purpose of this, but I'd really love to see a weapons mod based off of these resources. I might tackle it this week.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

Version 0.2 is released! I have added the armor pickups as well as the silencer. The silencer has some issues however. It works well with all weapons except the machinegun, chaingun, and hyperblaster. There is not much I can do about that due to limitations of the ZDoom engine. I've submitted a feature request for a proper silencer powerup and if approved, should clear up any issues with the silencer. The power armor was not included in this update because I'm still not sure how to go about implementing it, but I'll try to get it added soon.
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: [Project] Quake II Resources

Post by 22alpha22 »

Matsilagi wrote:A suggestion would be fix the delays for the weapons (Especially shotgun, its too slow and makes pump noises on draw).
I haven't noticed any delay problems, more details please. I know the shotgun didn't make the pump noise when selected in Quake II, however the shotgun is clearly being pumped when selected so I added the pump noise to match the animation.
blackfish wrote:I know it's not the purpose of this, but I'd really love to see a weapons mod based off of these resources. I might tackle it this week.
You're free to make a gameplay mod from this, all I ask is id games be credited for all the models, sounds, etc and I be credited for any coding you don't change and assembling this all together. Please be aware however there are still issues with some of the weapons.
22alpha22 wrote: -The silencer has some issues however. It works well with all weapons except the machinegun, chaingun, and hyperblaster. There is not much I can do about that due to limitations of the ZDoom engine. I've submitted a feature request for a proper silencer powerup and if approved, should clear up any issues with the silencer.
-The Chaingun and the Hyperblaster still need a bit of work on their animations and behavior (they are currently usable, they just don't look right when they shoot)
-The BFG 10K fires the BFG 9000's ball (this is because the BFG 10K fires a very complicated ball that attacks enemies close to it with laser beams as it flies and I'm not sure how to replicate it, assistance on this would be appreciated)

Return to “Resources”