[WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

[WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

A while ago, I made a mod which allowed you to build with blocks like in the popular game Minecraft.
I scrapped the mod and never released it.

Earlier, I saw this thread and decided to redo the mod and release it.

Features:
* Voxel & model blocks!
* Blocks are snapped to a grid!
* Build and break blocks!
* [Relatively] easy to add your own blocks!
* Uh, that's about it

Credits:
* Nash - 3d model for blocks

Screenshots:
Image

Known bugs/bad things:
* None, looks like you guys need to report some

Custom content creation:
I'll write a tutorial later, but for now, have a tool that'll help you convert
reskins of the block model into a voxel, so it can be used in software mode too:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/707 ... to_kvx.zip

Download:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by The Zombie Killer on Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:37 pm, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
Captain J
Β 
Β 
Posts: 16806
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Discord: DiscussJ#3128
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Captain J »

i hope there's tnt that breaks blocks in circle radius there, it's getting great to see!
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

Yep, I'm hoping to add TNT and more Doom-styled blocks, like flesh blocks, etc

I have no idea how I'm going to do water and lava (and maybe blood) though...
User avatar
RastaManGames
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:13 pm
Discord: ℝ𝕒𝕀π•₯π•’π•„π•’π•Ÿπ”Ύπ•’π•žπ•–π•€#4168
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation, Krasnoyarsk

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by RastaManGames »

You know Player radius and height?
Doom Player is 48x48x64 pixels. Its normal in Height, but radius is weird. (MC player in 2/2 in Height and 1/2 in Radius)
You may fix player radius or do something?
User avatar
Enjay
Β 
Β 
Posts: 26413
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Enjay »

RastaManGames wrote:Doom Player is 48x48x64 pixels.
Ummm... Radius 16, Height 56.

[wiki]Classes:DoomPlayer[/wiki]
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

The MCDoom player is smaller because I wanted it to be to scale with the blocks. Since in Minecraft, two blocks is about the same if not equal to the player's height.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

I got this error: Script error, "mcdoom.pk3:decorate.txt" line 105:
Invalid state parameter a_dropitem
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Discord: Hellser#8156
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Hellser »

Lisac_the_fox wrote:I got this error: Script error, "mcdoom.pk3:decorate.txt" line 105:
Invalid state parameter a_dropitem
Update your (G)ZDoom here.

I just gave it a try, not bad. It even looks nice under ZDoom's Software Renderer. I can also see what you mean by the .. selector-box thingy being picky. If you manage to fix that, I think you have something worth messing around with.
Last edited by Hellser on Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

Ok, i will try.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

Working! But its really complicated to place blocks.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

EDIT: File removed, download in OP is newer

Here's a slightly updated version with the alternate method of building.

Changes
* Fixed crash when building into ceiling
* Switched build method

The problem with this method is that building on top of a block only works properly on the last block placed.
Last edited by The Zombie Killer on Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Batandy
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:56 am

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Batandy »

This looks good! But i'd replace voxels with 3d models so you can have blocks textured on the sides and on the top, judging from the screen, only the front and the back have a texture
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

I did make a 3d model before, but didn't end up using it because of UV mapping issues.
If anyone could supply me with a 16x16x16 (Doom units) cube, with a good UV map then I'd definitely use it.

Any part of the voxel can have a texture, it's just that the way I made the grass blocks was I converted it from a 2d image, so it essentially layered the image over and over.
I'm planning to use original voxels anyway, rather than Minecraft's stuff.
User avatar
Cage
Posts: 470
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:47 pm
Discord: Cage#9861
Location: San Escobar

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Cage »

You can make the texture in your editor of choice, copy it, and then paste it into the front/side/top projection views in SLAB6.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Discord: Zombie#1795
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] MCDoom - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

Whoa, really? Thanks! If only I had known that earlier.
EDIT: I'm not sure how to do this, maybe I have an old version of Slab6, maybe not. Could you give me some steps on how to do it?

Return to β€œTCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”