The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers
Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
-
- Posts: 91
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:42 pm
- Location: Looking Over Your Shoulder ;)
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
I installed it, but I can't move the wads to that share folder, and I don't know how to bring up that other directory you mentioned.
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
I'm not sure if there's a GUI way to do administrative tasks, so you'll need to put them in your home directory somewhere and use "sudo mv" to move them into that directory.
-
- Posts: 21706
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
- Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
My trick is to open the file manager with sudo. You need to know the executable name of your file manager, though...Blzut3 wrote:I'm not sure if there's a GUI way to do administrative tasks, so you'll need to put them in your home directory somewhere and use "sudo mv" to move them into that directory.
-
- Posts: 91
- Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:42 pm
- Location: Looking Over Your Shoulder ;)
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Somehow installing GZDoom cleared all of the problems I encountered ha. Strangeness.
-
- Posts: 2128
- Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:08 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Location: Behind you
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
I cant help but notice that gzdoom's hqnx filters are not present in the linux version. I have tried with proprietary and free drivers for my nvidia gt650m. Using Bumblebee.
-
-
- Posts: 17921
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Yep, apparently they wouldn't compile right or something, so they're #ifndef-ed out when not compiling on Windows. If you have Linux and some programming experience you can try removing the #ifndef blocks and see if you can make it work on Linux.
A working patch (or rather, pull request) would certainly be appreciated.
A working patch (or rather, pull request) would certainly be appreciated.
-
- Posts: 2128
- Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:08 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Location: Behind you
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Does anyone know how to compile acs on linux? I DO NOT have acces to a windows machine currently.
-
- Posts: 9696
- Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
- Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
- Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
The repo blzut3 linked to should have acc, or you could compile the source code.xenoxols wrote:Does anyone know how to compile acs on linux? I DO NOT have acces to a windows machine currently.
Meanwhile, I can't run Oblige ever since I reinstalled CrunchBang, it just gives a file-not-found error when I attempt to run the executable. I have FLTK. Anyone have any idea what I might have neglected to reinstall?
EDIT: here's the actual error message now that I'm back on my #! boot:
Code: Select all
./Oblige: error while loading shared libraries: libXext.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
-
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Perhaps a silly question, but is there anything else that needs to be done to enable hqnx filters in "texture options" menu ?
I can switch using console var, but in the menu they don't appear for some reason, just Scalenx options.
I can switch using console var, but in the menu they don't appear for some reason, just Scalenx options.
-
-
- Posts: 17921
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Look up a few posts above, xenoxols' question (not the one about ACS, the post before that one) and my reply.
-
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
:sigh:Gez wrote:Look up a few posts above, xenoxols' question (not the one about ACS, the post before that one) and my reply.
That was the reason I asked in this thread.
I've already found (on the net) and added the code and it looks like it's working, but those names from menudef.z just don't show up in menu.
-
-
- Posts: 17921
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Sorry, I'm so used to people overlooking already-said stuff.
Yes, there is something needed to do because the full extent of the menu is disabled in the code. Look in gl_menu.cpp, you need to alter or remove the preprocessor directives here:
(Or just remove that entire block. Depends on if you think the code will now work on all three main platforms or not. If you got hqnx working on Windows, Mac, and Linux, then by all mean remove that entire block.)
Yes, there is something needed to do because the full extent of the menu is disabled in the code. Look in gl_menu.cpp, you need to alter or remove the preprocessor directives here:
Code: Select all
// Do some tinkering with the menus so that certain options only appear
// when they are actually valid.
void gl_SetupMenu()
{
#ifndef _MSC_VER
FOptionValues **opt = OptionValues.CheckKey("HqResizeModes");
if (opt != NULL)
{
for(int i = (*opt)->mValues.Size()-1; i>=0; i--)
{
// Delete HQnX resize modes for non MSVC targets
if ((*opt)->mValues[i].Value >= 4.0)
{
(*opt)->mValues.Delete(i);
}
}
}
#endif
-
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Thanks.
So, the code in question is http://code.google.com/p/hqx.
It claims to support transparency, btw. - not sure about that, but I don't know what to look at to test.
The code is written in C, so it might be a tad slower, on the other hand WIN64 shouldn't be a problem.
There seem to be no need for Image.cpp, as it looks it was written with 32bit color in mind.
On the other hand, it includes stdint.h, so might need a little change for Windows (shame on MSVC).
The changes in gl/textures/gl_hqresize.cpp are nearly insignificant - if interested, can attach it in Code Submision, but honestly, it's probably less than five minutes to come up with those changes, stdint.h editions might take much longer.
So, the code in question is http://code.google.com/p/hqx.
It claims to support transparency, btw. - not sure about that, but I don't know what to look at to test.
The code is written in C, so it might be a tad slower, on the other hand WIN64 shouldn't be a problem.
There seem to be no need for Image.cpp, as it looks it was written with 32bit color in mind.
On the other hand, it includes stdint.h, so might need a little change for Windows (shame on MSVC).
The changes in gl/textures/gl_hqresize.cpp are nearly insignificant - if interested, can attach it in Code Submision, but honestly, it's probably less than five minutes to come up with those changes, stdint.h editions might take much longer.
-
-
- Posts: 17921
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
The best thing to do would be to clone GZDoom on GitHub and then do a pull request.
-
- Posts: 2839
- Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:24 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.
Linux Mint user here. What should I do to install GZDoom? I just want to ask beforehand before I try the wrong distro's procedure by accident and irradiate everything in the room.