3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTAL!]

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

Sp00kyFox wrote:@Max Dickings
you sure you used the xBR-filter? doesn't look so on the screenshots you posted (probably the problem you mentioned) and judging from you sprite example (which indeed looks like xBR), you didn't used the batch script I posted. the blocky head is an issue caused by the sprite touching the border of the image, which leads to a wrong edge detection. you have to enlarge the pictures boundaries to prevent this from happening and afterwards cut if off again.
Well this is the batch I'm using

Code: Select all

cd sprites
FOR %%f IN (*.png) DO (
C:\3xbr\GraphicsMagick\gm mogrify -background cyan -extent 0x0 -bordercolor cyan -border 2 -transparent cyan %%f
C:\3xbr\3xBRLV4.exe %%f %%f
C:\3xbr\GraphicsMagick\gm mogrify -shave 6x6 %%f
)
And I do have GraphicsMagick in the folder too.

I have to enlarge pictures too? Oh man, I think at this rate I'll wait (and hope) this gets added as a filter :P
User avatar
tuintje
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by tuintje »

Max Dickings wrote:Yes, I waited until v19 came out to modify them.

Specifically, I altered -everything- in "DECORATION, FATALITY, GORE, MONSTERFATALITY, MONSTERS" and some parts of "PLAYER"
(Also added in the "Brutal Doom Addon" that was buried in the thread, way cooler subtle gory changes)

For instance:

Original Version, upscaled
Image

"Brutal Doom Addon," upscaled
Image


Delicious :twisted:
what brutal doom addon is the one with the imp? I like it
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

This is the original post,
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?p=683071#p683071

But since the link is dead, I'll upload the original file
http://www.filedropper.com/brutaladdonm12v1
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

Max Dickings wrote:I have to enlarge pictures too? Oh man, I think at this rate I'll wait (and hope) this gets added as a filter :P
nah, the batchfile is doing that for you. just wanted to make sure, but it is weird. the script should prevent this from happening.
maybe there is some issue with the transparency colors.

edit:
you clearly did something wrong. I just tested it with the same sprite and batch script:

Image

I guess you ripped the sprites with a tool that maps the transparency to a fixed color.
but graphicsmagick actually needs to know which color it is so I'd suggest you use slade for ripping.
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

Ah didn't see you made an edit recently!
Sp00kyFox wrote:I guess you ripped the sprites with a tool that maps the transparency to a fixed color.
I used winrar and extracted the png's, and added .png to the files that didn't have them?

Sorry for the hand-holding I need, I'm entirely new to this :p
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

no problem max. the whole brutal doom package is kinda confusing. there are normal pngs and lmp files and also some which have the same filename but are actually different. check out the two "PUP2B0" and "PUNSA0" files in SPRITES\WEAPONS, are they even used by BD or is it a mistake by mark? on top of this there are a few files with continous transparency. it's really a bit of a mess to convert'em all. the good news is that I reworked my batch file for this purpose, so it's only a matter of time consuming stupid work.

btw yeah, to extract the png files from the archive is actually the best way. I found out that slade rarely screws up the transperancy in png files if you use the "export as png" option.
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 11/19/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

ok here it is. I tested it in a quick run and it seems ok. here is the load order:

Code: Select all

doom2.wad (resp. doom.wad)
SPRFIX13.wad (resp. D1SPFX13.wad)
brutal19.pk3
3xBR_brutal19.pk3
the pack itself already contains the upscaled sprites from doom, so you don't need any other xbr pack. gimme feedback if there are issues or if it works without problems! :wink:
here is the download:
https://anonfiles.com/file/7a1cf2268556 ... eb6311db77

ps: I had to modify the batch script so that it would work with continous transparencies:
Spoiler:
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 11/19/13]

Post by Max Dickings »

Ah this is fantastic! Thank you!

And yeah it is really messy in those BD packs :p


Seriously though you should start your own topic releasing this pack.
User avatar
Sp00kyFox
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:50 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 11/19/13]

Post by Sp00kyFox »

yeah I know that you're a big fan of the mod ^^
but I feel this thread is enough, don't wanna create seperate threads for every package. but I'll change the thread title to reflect the new pack and probably gonna add another screenshot.
any suggestion which sprite is suitable for representing brutal doom? probably a fatality one, what do you think?
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTA

Post by Max Dickings »

Oh definitely a fatality, it perfectly shows off so much of what the mod has to offer haha

I always appreciated these three the most

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
cortlong50
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:12 pm
Location: UT-WA

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update 09/21/13]

Post by cortlong50 »

Enjay wrote:I am using the latest dev version. It does do the export but then it crashes afterwards. So, it's not that big a deal. I quickly ran the textures through the filter and it works pretty well actually. The effect is more subtle than how it appears with the sprites IMO.

Image
Yeah, I know that resizing the image probably defeats some of the purpose of showing it. :P


BTW, Slade also crashes with me when I pick a sound font so I can't use it to listen to midis. From memory, the last non-dev version could accept a sound font so I could use that, but then I'd be missing out on other features. It's a minor inconvenience. I think I'm right in saying that Slade uses fluidsynth. ZDoom auto-uses my sound card's built-in sound font when I set fluidsynth as the output. No idea why Slade doesn't. Still, I don't suppose I'm comparing like for like there.


i really love the way this looks, is there any chance of this coming to zdoom or gzdoom?
linear filter makes my game look like im playing it without glasses on.
ad it looks a little early internet flash cartoon website on the sprtes alone for me to give this a download.

edit:
got it, love it. it actually makes the people pop and look a lot smoother than i thought it would.
Skrell
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:47 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTA

Post by Skrell »

i also was surprised by how good this looks in game!! the sprites at first looked out of context to me but in game....WOW! Please post a youtube video of it in action!!
m4lmaster
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:16 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTA

Post by m4lmaster »

Max Dickings wrote:This is the original post,
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?p=683071#p683071

But since the link is dead, I'll upload the original file
http://www.filedropper.com/brutaladdonm12v1
that link is dead as well
User avatar
Max Dickings
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:27 am

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTA

Post by Max Dickings »

m4lmaster wrote:
Max Dickings wrote:This is the original post,
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?p=683071#p683071

But since the link is dead, I'll upload the original file
http://www.filedropper.com/brutaladdonm12v1
that link is dead as well
God dammit. Know any good upload sites then? Cause I don't.

Otherwise you can pm me your email address.
Immortal Destroyer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:34 pm
Location: That's a very interesting Question.

Re: 3xBR-noblend Sprite Upscales [Update: It's getting BRUTA

Post by Immortal Destroyer »

Max Dickings wrote:
m4lmaster wrote:
Max Dickings wrote:This is the original post,
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?p=683071#p683071

But since the link is dead, I'll upload the original file
http://www.filedropper.com/brutaladdonm12v1
that link is dead as well
God dammit. Know any good upload sites then? Cause I don't.

Otherwise you can pm me your email address.
MediaFire. It's an excellent hosting service.

EDIT; I forgot to tell about this mod; Awesome work. I don't think it's pretty needed in OpenGL users, just use HQ4X and the sprites will look absolutely the same. But, for software, or underpowered OpenGL users, i highly recommend this Sprite Pack. A few sprites look weird, i will put clean versions of them soon (I just need to find time...)

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”