[v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

What do you think of the fixes so far?

Great
13
50%
Okay
7
27%
Don't care
5
19%
Meh
1
4%
Bad
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 26

PaskaTykki
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:34 am
Location: Finland

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by PaskaTykki »

Finally this versio fix that annoying Pump shotgun iron sight problem. Thanks! I notice gore decorations vanish in time. Will they possible have own options too?
User avatar
Jake Crusher
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:49 am
Location: Who gives a beep from where I am? :)

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Jake Crusher »

Well, thank you very much for these fixes! But I want to ask - is it possible in the next version of your patch to fix the REALLY F@#$!ING ANNOYING bug, when player is torn to pieces while kicking the agonizing enemy?
LegendaryFalco
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by LegendaryFalco »

well my only complaint with the patch is the NC hud 1.14 does not work right even with the BD patch added on for the NC hud 1.14
Endless123
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:36 pm

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Endless123 »

LegendaryFalco wrote:well my only complaint with the patch is the NC hud 1.14 does not work right even with the BD patch added on for the NC hud 1.14
Yeah the ammo reserve and ammo remaining in clip aren't showing for me if i use the patch along with NC hud. Since the patch also modify some things about the weapons every previous weapon modifications will be ignored (like ammo used, damage, customized firerate, etc). However custom weapon sprites aren't affected by the patch apparently. It's still a very good patch and the regeneration included in the patch really helps on some hard maps.

I wonder if the same kind of regeneration could be applied to the armor ... anyways if the patch could be fixed for those of us using the NC hud (which is the best for playing brutal doom to my opinion) it would be a perfect patch.
Immortal Destroyer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:34 pm
Location: That's a very interesting Question.

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Immortal Destroyer »

Finally, you update it from the ModDB's version. Well, you are incorrect in something; "CVARINFO are NOT supported by Zandronum"

I'm not a crazy Zandronum user, i use it a little due to his limitations, but no, Zandronum support CVARINFO. I tried it a few days before and it worked. Make sure you have the Latest Zandronum Version, of course it's not needed to tell the location, isn't it?

Well, do you mind if i use a few stuff of this Add-On? I personally make a Zandronum compatible version, of course with limitations, but, CVARINFO worked like hell. I will use them publicly soon, for one of my BD Add-On's, do you mind if i use - edit them? There pretty cool.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by The Zombie Killer »

@PaskaTykki
Most likely

@Jake Crusher
Workin' on it

@LegendaryFalco & Endless123
I'll see what I can do

@Immortal Destroyer
When I was developing the patch, CVARINFO wasn't supported, so it was correct at the time of writing :p
If you wanna use my patch in your own work, go ahead, I don't mind at all :D
Immortal Destroyer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:34 pm
Location: That's a very interesting Question.

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Immortal Destroyer »

The Zombie Killer wrote: @Immortal Destroyer
When I was developing the patch, CVARINFO wasn't supported, so it was correct at the time of writing :p
If you wanna use my patch in your own work, go ahead, I don't mind at all :D
*Sorry for the bump*

Thanks a lot dude! In case you want to know, i will modify some of this stuff and remove some features to make Zandronum compatibility because Zandronum doesn't support Call ACS. Also, a bug request; Even with the Original V19, the Blood Fade Time option doesn't work. If you don't have time, i will try to fix this bug.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by The Zombie Killer »

@Immortal Destroyer
Immortal Destroyer wrote:i will modify some of this stuff and remove some features to make Zandronum compatibility because Zandronum doesn't support Call ACS
You can change the named scripts to numbered scripts and use ACS_ExecuteWithResult to make it work in Zandronum.
Immortal Destroyer wrote:Also, a bug request; Even with the Original V19, the Blood Fade Time option doesn't work.
Works fine for me
Immortal Destroyer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:34 pm
Location: That's a very interesting Question.

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Immortal Destroyer »

The Zombie Killer wrote:@Immortal Destroyer
Immortal Destroyer wrote:i will modify some of this stuff and remove some features to make Zandronum compatibility because Zandronum doesn't support Call ACS
You can change the named scripts to numbered scripts and use ACS_ExecuteWithResult to make it work in Zandronum.
Immortal Destroyer wrote:Also, a bug request; Even with the Original V19, the Blood Fade Time option doesn't work.
Works fine for me
Well, i know that my GZDoom version is old (1.8.2) but i use it because the new GZDoom version also comes with some incorrect flags, making no compatibility with some modifications. I personally hate Zandronum because it's TOO much out-dated, for example it doesn't support Voxels, something that is very related. About ACS_ExecuteWithResult; I will check it out tomorrow.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4904
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Blue Shadow »

Immortal Destroyer wrote:Well, i know that my GZDoom version is old (1.8.2) but i use it because the new GZDoom version also comes with some incorrect flags, making no compatibility with some modifications.
What do you mean by "incorrect flags"? Also, if a change took place in the engine that renders previously-working* mods broken, especially released mods, then report it to the developers.


* Note that if you're exploiting an undefined behavior in the engine to achieve a certain feature, which got fixed in newer versions/builds of the engine, and which in turn was the cause of your mod being broken, then you need to find another, legitimate way of achieving what you wanted to achieve.
Immortal Destroyer
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:34 pm
Location: That's a very interesting Question.

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Immortal Destroyer »

Blue Shadow wrote:
Immortal Destroyer wrote:Well, i know that my GZDoom version is old (1.8.2) but i use it because the new GZDoom version also comes with some incorrect flags, making no compatibility with some modifications.
What do you mean by "incorrect flags"? Also, if a change took place in the engine that renders previously-working* mods broken, especially released mods, then report it to the developers.


* Note that if you're exploiting an undefined behavior in the engine to achieve a certain feature, which got fixed in newer versions/builds of the engine, and which in turn was the cause of your mod being broken, then you need to find another, legitimate way of achieving what you wanted to achieve.
I can report about mods to the developers? I thought i can only talk about the selected engine without extra stuff. Thanks! :)
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17654
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [v2.4] Brutal Doom Patch

Post by Gez »

You can perfectly say "<blah> used to work, but doesn't anymore".

Though it's better if you can isolate the problem and create a small, minimal example wad that reproduce the same issue without having any additional baggage. If you come up saying "map 10 of Grezzo 2 crashes", it's quite unlikely any developer will bother to investigate.

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”