[Release] NC HUD v2.6.0 - September 7th, 2019

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby X-DOOM » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:25 am

Oh sweet, i really enjoy the new hud, even more with the reloading frame for the ammo count. I made a modification myself and you just made a perfect and polished one.

I just added it to my mod and it rocks.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Imp monger
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby BlueFireZ88 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:52 am

Good to know that work for the Expanded HUD really went a long way for your HUD. It's looks great. :)
User avatar
BlueFireZ88
Fight fire with BlueFire.
 
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Argent Tower

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:12 pm

Yeah, I liked how the Expanded version turned out at the end. So, I decided to incorporate its features into the official version.


@X-DOOM: Thanks. It's good to know that you're enjoying the add-on.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:20 pm

Awesome, thanks for the update
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby aspicboat » Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:56 pm

A nicely designed hud, love it.
I have one question though: I want to use this with Brutaldoom, but the ammo counter and the weapon display for some reason doesn't work. It does work without it. I tried it with Zdoom, Gzdoom 1.7. Can I do anything with it or is it an issue with BrutalDoom 0.17?
aspicboat
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2013

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby Blue Shadow » Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:59 am

Ooops! Sorry I didn't notice your post for some reason.

Anyway, without making some modifications by the end-user (i.e., you), the HUD won't work out of the box with mods that modify/add to the player's arsenal (weapons, ammo and armor). If there was a way to seamlessly make it work with them while keeping the same current presentation, then I would've done it. But sadly, there isn't. So you have to make the necessary adjustments yourself.

However, if you don't know how, or don't want to bother with doing all that stuff, then you're in luck! Because blackfish has made a version of this HUD that can be used with Brutal Doom. Check it out here.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby wildweasel » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:00 am

Blue Shadow wrote:Ooops! Sorry I didn't notice your post for some reason.

Probably because I didn't notice it, either; my greatest apologies for not approving it for three whole days... =P
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby aspicboat » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:42 pm

I'm grateful for the help, thank you. I didn't mind the wait, so no worries, I'm glad I can enjoy this work fully with BD. :)
aspicboat
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2013

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby Blue Shadow » Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:43 am

Just a bit of info: aspicboat got me thinking about the HUD's lack of flexibility with user-made mods. So, I'm currently trying to come up with something to make it a little more* mod-friendly. Initial results look promising, but there is still a lot to do.

Will I succeed? I'm not sure. But I guess time will tell.


* Even if I managed to improve the HUD's flexibility somehow, the end-user would still need to modify it to make it work properly with the mod(s) they're trying to use the HUD with. I don't see that being avoidable completely with what current features ZDoom has to offer. But the number of modifications won't be as many as they're now (hopefully).
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby TiberiumSoul » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:24 pm

could i use this in my strife project? or rather could i ask for a personalized version of this that will work with my mod :P

by my limited understanding of SBARINFO the only real changes that would be necessary is around the weapon names which are as follows:

Fists
ACS-40
Makoto Type 919
Breaker
Gnasher
UAC-M75
Supressor
R-300
Tank Rifle
Nailgun
ElectroDriver
BFG2K

with the following ammo types:

BULLETAmmo
NewShell
R300RocketPack
TankShells
CAL-12 EPA

if you wouldn't mind doing this i'd appreciate it greatly or if you'd be willing to learn me the basics of SBARINFO (I've looked at the kek'n wiki and i still don't understand it.)
Last edited by TiberiumSoul on Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:14 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
TiberiumSoul
The Lost Soul that stumbled into a patch of tiberium crystals
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2012
Location: My Computer...
Discord: 2012
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby X-DOOM » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:41 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Just a bit of info: aspicboat got me thinking about the HUD's lack of flexibility with user-made mods. So, I'm currently trying to come up with something to make it a little more* mod-friendly. Initial results look promising, but there is still a lot to do.

Will I succeed? I'm not sure. But I guess time will tell.


* Even if I managed to improve the HUD's flexibility somehow, the end-user would still need to modify it to make it work properly with the mod(s) they're trying to use the HUD with. I don't see that being avoidable completely with what current features ZDoom has to offer. But the number of modifications won't be as many as they're now (hopefully).



It is indeed hard to make it work with a mod, it took me about a whole week to understand how to add properly all custom weapons and such. But i so like how this HUD improved my own game, it was worth reading every lines of his code and the time i spent making it work with all my weapons. I even improved it a little.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Imp monger
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.6

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:54 am

TiberiumSoul wrote:could i use this in my strife project?

Sure.

As for supporting Strife or any other game, I'm sorry, no. I made this HUD for Doom and Doom only. If you or anyone else wants to use it in other games, then you have to make the necessary adjustments yourselves. I did put comments in the code where I thought it needed to show what certain things are for or what they're supposed to do (of course, I'm assuming you know the basics beforehand). If you're stuck with something, then refer to the wiki (can't stress this enough) to learn how certain features work - that's how I, myself, learned, basically.

X-DOOM wrote:It is indeed hard to make it work with a mod, it took me about a whole week to understand how to add properly all custom weapons and such.

Sorry that it took this long to figure things out in it, and make it work with your mod. It's good to know that it was worth it in the end, though. :)
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.7

Postby Blue Shadow » Wed May 22, 2013 11:01 pm

Version 1.7 is up! Refer to the OP for what is new or changed in this new version.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.7

Postby TiberiumSoul » Thu May 23, 2013 6:27 pm

ok so im trying to use this with my gzdoom version of tiberiumdoom and it works but the ammo bars arent diplaying .-. ive tried changing the sbar info to call on the mods guns and that didnt fix it what am i doing wrong .-.
User avatar
TiberiumSoul
The Lost Soul that stumbled into a patch of tiberium crystals
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2012
Location: My Computer...
Discord: 2012
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] NC HUD v1.7

Postby Blue Shadow » Thu May 23, 2013 7:23 pm

What version of the HUD are you using? Note that in the latest version (i.e 1.7) things kind of changed*, and in order to make your custom weapons work with the HUD, you've got to do things a little differently. Check the readme.txt file inside the HUD's pk3. It, hopefully, explains everything you need to know on how to make your weapons work with the HUD.

Spoiler: *
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

PreviousNext

Return to Graphic/Audio Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CasualChris and 2 guests