More Blood!

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

HotWax wrote:
arioch wrote:Yeah, decals on the floor would be nice. Implementation is probably a nightmare though.
Actually, I've begun to wonder if this is still actually out of reach. As I understood it, the reason it couldn't be done before was connected to why flats couldn't be scaled beyond 64x64... well, now that any size image can be placed on the floor (and scaled, I presume),
Image sizes for flats range up to 256x256 (there is only code to check for 64x64, 64x65, 64x128, 128x128 and 256x256). However, now that textures are interchangeable between walls and floors, any size should be possible, according to randomlag, a Doom pic can be up to 32767 high.
User avatar
Doom
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 3:45 am
Location: Stuffed in your ass

Post by Doom »

If an IMP explodes and it's corpse opens like blooming, that would spurt a lot of blood!, blood that should stick to all of the surrounding walls, not only the back one!, even more, ceiling shall be splattered as well, it seems logical to me. Sadly I don't know a thing about nothing but playing, I'm relatively new to ports, so I'd have to wait for someone else to get the dirty job well done..
User avatar
randomlag
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm

Post by randomlag »

Hirogen2 wrote:Image sizes for flats range up to 256x256 (there is only code to check for 64x64, 64x65, 64x128, 128x128 and 256x256). However, now that textures are interchangeable between walls and floors, any size should be possible, according to randomlag, a Doom pic can be up to 32767 high.
The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

ReX wrote:About the windows port, in what way does it improve the game? I'm a big fan of Duke 3D, and I wouldn't mind trying stuff that will improve it.
Oh, so you call me a sadist, then want some info eh? Well, seeing as how I take being called a sadist as a compliment... :)

The port actually does very little to add to Duke, it simply makes it playable as a windows app on an XP machine. As far as I can tell, it's all pretty much as Duke ever was. Setting it up was a little confusing because it still used the old DOS setup for some things, but not for the things windows takes care of. It always seems to start windowed and requires shift enter to make it full screen. I think there may be an ini setting, but it didn't work.

It has crashed on me once, but I have also played the first 2 episodes through in a single sitting each without any problems.

I tried 2 ports.

The one I am using, I don't remember where it came from, but this site is mentioned in the docs

http://www.rancidmeat.com/project.php3?id=1

I also tried one from Jono F's site, but I couldn't get it to start. Shame, because it looked like it might be the better option.

http://jonof.edgenetwork.org/build/
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Post by wildweasel »

HotWax wrote:ZDoom still accepts the old DEH trick that makes blood splats turn into pools of blood and stay on the ground for however long you'd like them to.....
Except that it's not really that realistic, especially shooting bigger monsters with the SSG (a perfect line of blood pools). Also, I haven't figured out how to give the pools actual gravity (if you shoot a monster at the top of an elevator, the pool floats in place if the elevator goes down). Just a hack in my opinion. Would be better if ZDoom could have a hardcoded, fully implemented solution (like leaving decals on the floor).
Cyb
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm

Post by Cyb »

the reason you can't have floor decals is because doom textures floors and ceilings with a flood fill and a flat decal would require a new transparent texture to be laid on the floor. that itself isn't really a problem with the new system in place, it's the flood fill thing. you could place the decal, but as far as I know there wouldn't be any way to stop it from tiling on the visplane it was placed in outside of actually creating a new visplane for it or something wacky like that.

this is my understanding of it anyway, corrections/additions welcome
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2945
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Post by Chris »

I don't really see why you can't draw the floors, then use a special function, ala slopes, to take a standard patch and draw it flat(be it a translucent decal, a texture, or sprite(3d floors!)), then draw the rest of the level as normal...
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

wildweasel wrote:Also, I haven't figured out how to give the pools actual gravity (if you shoot a monster at the top of an elevator, the pool floats in place if the elevator goes down).
Then you need to read this:

http://www.btinternet.com/~Enjay001/dehex04.htm

Specifically step 5. :)
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

randomlag wrote:The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
Why? Because Doom can't read more than 64K (256x256) at once?
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

zdoom files willa be to large :)
User avatar
randomlag
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm

Post by randomlag »

Hirogen2 wrote:
randomlag wrote:The raw patch format I described is a technical limit. The actual practical limit is 2048 as implemented in ZDOOM.
Why? Because Doom can't read more than 64K (256x256) at once?
No

Return to “General”