[Added] "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

"NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Xaser » Sun May 08, 2011 2:53 pm

I propose an alternative to NOCLIP that works similarly to the Quake series' no-clipping modes. It works similarly to ZDoom's regular no-clipping mode, with the following differences:
  • The player is not subject to gravity.
  • The player's z-movement is completely unrestricted (i.e. he/she is allowed to fly above ceilings and below floors). This is the main thing that separates it from standard NOCLIP + FLY.

The big advantage to this would be allowing players to NOCLIP above and below 3D floors easily. As it is, using standard NOCLIP alongside 3D floors is really tricky since you're still blocked from moving up or down where the 3D floor is present.

It doesn't seem necessary to expose this behavior to other actors, since I think that applying +NOINTERACTION is close enough to this effect as far as non-players are concerned (since giving +NOINTERACTION to players has trippy side effects). But don't let that stop you from adding it anyway if I'm wrong or it's easy enough to do. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Enjay » Sun May 08, 2011 3:27 pm

That would be nice. Sometimes when making and testing maps with 3D floors, it would be very useful to be able to clip up/down through the floors rather than have to run around in the void to try and find a floor of the right height and then run in to the play area to inspect the correct location relative to the 3D floor (at least that's what I do :P ).
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Jimmy » Sun May 08, 2011 5:25 pm

Would be interesting if the cheat disabled movement acceleration/deceleration, much like Quake's. Although it then may become hard to distinguish ZDoom from DB2's visual editor. :P
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Sergeant_Mark_IV » Sun May 08, 2011 6:27 pm

Agreed.
Also, I suggest make the camera don't bob like in the Fly cheat.

Enjay wrote:That would be nice. Sometimes when making and testing maps with 3D floors, it would be very useful to be able to clip up/down through the floors rather than have to run around in the void to try and find a floor of the right height and then run in to the play area to inspect the correct location relative to the 3D floor (at least that's what I do :P ).


Correct. The most painful part, is, when you find the correct location to walk over the 3D floor, but acidently, you get too close to the border, and you fall, and have to repeat the course all over again D:
Depending of the project size and how much 3D floors it uses, This feature could save precious minutes to hours of playtesting.
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Worse than Hitler.
Banned User
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby CaptainToenail » Fri May 13, 2011 4:13 am

Yes please, I use NOCLIP combined with FLY all the time but it can be fiddly at times.

Also, why is it that when spectating in Skulltag you cannot fly under 3D floors?
CaptainToenail
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Kate » Fri May 13, 2011 12:42 pm

CaptainToenail wrote:Also, why is it that when spectating in Skulltag you cannot fly under 3D floors?

No. The reason you cannot pass through floors and walls in Skulltag is because the spectator actor is still subject to full clipping. It's just an actor that has no height, which is what lets you pass below doors.
User avatar
Kate
... in loving memory ...
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby CaptainToenail » Sat May 14, 2011 8:44 am

No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?
CaptainToenail
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby plausiblesarge » Sun May 15, 2011 8:55 pm

CaptainToenail wrote:No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?


it is because of the hacky way that 3d floors are implemented within the doom engine
plausiblesarge
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Location: Sydney, Aus

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby wildweasel » Sun May 15, 2011 9:01 pm

plausiblesarge wrote:
CaptainToenail wrote:No. I wasn't referring to no-clipping there. I'm well aware that when spectating you have full clipping. But you cannot fly under 3D floors, why is that?


it is because of the hacky way that 3d floors are implemented within the doom engine

That doesn't really help much.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby NeuralStunner » Sun May 15, 2011 9:06 pm

I know the Spectator is 0 units tall, but the view height is still around 40 and MaxStepHeight still applies. This has messed me up on occasion with 3D mid textures.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Major Cooke » Mon May 16, 2011 12:53 pm

This would be fancy... You know, I wonder if it's considered a viable hack to give yourself an object that adds +NOINTERACTION. After all, that does allow full freedom.

Still I agree, this would be a helpful tool.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Do unto others as you would have unto you. Judge yourself first.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Edward-san » Mon May 16, 2011 2:25 pm

I don't know well the code, but I suppose it's needed a radical change to the movement code.
You have to make the generic actor able to do as NOCLIP2 says, then you should impose that almost all of the predefined actors (the ones in the game) cannot NOCLIP2... I can see hell in this work.

Just sayin'

[edit] Where's the piece of the code where there're the constraints? An idea could be:

Code: Select allExpand view
if (!NOCLIP2)
{
     //piece of code with costraints
}
else
{
     //piece of code without costraints
}


[edit2]maybe a better name for such variable should be "FLY2"...
Edward-san
Mathematics is the language with which God has written the universe. (Galilei)
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2009

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby H3llraich » Wed May 18, 2011 5:27 am

I wonder if they'll actually put this in... It should be pretty apparent, though, considering the feedback this suggestion has received.
User avatar
H3llraich
 
Joined: 03 Feb 2011
Location: Dead in STR35

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby Nash » Wed May 18, 2011 7:14 am

feedback != [Added]

:P
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: "NOCLIP2" Cheat

Postby randi » Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:33 pm

Added in r3832.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests