Voxels?

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Voxels?

Post by Graf Zahl »

very, very long ago. It just never got posted on the KDiZD homepage - but is available at /idgames.
User avatar
Shadelight
Posts: 5113
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 11:16 am
Location: Labrynna

Re: Voxels?

Post by Shadelight »

Yay, rocket projectile! Been wondering how that'll look in game.
User avatar
Amuscaria
Posts: 6627
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:59 pm
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: Voxels?

Post by Amuscaria »

Graf Zahl wrote:very, very long ago. It just never got posted on the KDiZD homepage - but is available at /idgames.
Ok, I've been away for way too long. :/
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17429
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Voxels?

Post by Nash »

The in flight rocket should adjust its pitch like what MODELDEF's PITCHFROMMOMENTUM flag does, otherwise shooting rockets up/down would look odd.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: Voxels?

Post by Project Shadowcat »

Graf Zahl wrote:very, very long ago. It just never got posted on the KDiZD homepage - but is available at /idgames.
I didn't know it got released, either. O_o
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: Voxels?

Post by Edward-san »

the voxel_test.wad has a little misalignment with this switch:
Spoiler:
Revision 3086 log wrote:Merge voxels back into trunk. Even if it needs further tweaking, it should at least be stable now.
What? Nice! :D
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12323
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Voxels?

Post by NeuralStunner »

Yeah, I noticed that too. Here's my previous reports, some of which I'm sure are engine problems. Don't know if it's still too early to report these in the Bugs forum yet.
Spoiler:
User avatar
phi108
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:28 pm

Re: Voxels?

Post by phi108 »

EDIT: r3079 might have fixed that first point Neural, I haven't checked.

I did 5 items that work with AFADoomer's Wolf3D TC, the bed, vase, column, spears, and oil drum. The shading is a bit off in places:

http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/file ... lfvoxs.zip

Image
Image
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17830
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Voxels?

Post by Gez »

Not bad. The column looks especially nice.
User avatar
Cyanosis
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:06 am

Re: Voxels?

Post by Cyanosis »

Those are cool.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17429
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Voxels?

Post by Nash »

Pretty cool. Also, apparently this has already been merged into the trunk. Yay!
User avatar
DooMAD
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Voxels?

Post by DooMAD »

Edward-san wrote:the voxel_test.wad has a little misalignment with this switch:
Spoiler:
The switches are still kind of hacked in, so at the moment I don't know if they're going to be included in the final release. They only work on that particular level, whereas all the pickup items and scenery work in the regular IWAD levels, since they don't rely on DECORATE. If there's ever a way to officially include switches (or "voxtures" in general) then they'll be fixed and included (the black outlines on the eye switch too), otherwise they might have to be dropped. :/
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Voxels?

Post by Graf Zahl »

The switches make no sense as auto-replacements but as a feature available to mappers they are not that useless. So the best course of action would be to release them as a separate add-on.
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:43 pm

Re: Voxels?

Post by SyntherAugustus »

glad to know voxels are in the trunk. Any chance of them being in GZdoom? I played some quake in low resolution recently (640x480 with gl_nearest) and i realized the pixelated models are similar to voxels, but it'd be neat to see them nonetheless.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Voxels?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Already in. I was just waiting for Randy to make his code official.

Return to “General”