$musicalias option for SNDINFO

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Karl Murks
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:53 am

$musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Karl Murks »

I think many people have experienced this situation already:

You play a nice WAD but find the music choice of the creator dreadfully awful and want to change it to something from your music library collection.
As long as it's only using MAPINFO to define music this is not really a problem and can be changed quickly.

However, an increasingly large number of maps is changing music from within ACS and no simple approach to replace this music exists aside from replacing the actual music lumps in the WAD itself.

So how about a $musicalias command with which you can remap specific music titles to others? Optionally an ignore command could be nice which would disable switching to specified musics at all.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Project Shadowcat »

]changemus "C:\Users\Project Dark Fox\Music\Pendulum\Immersion\03 Watercolour.mp3"

Change it again once they use ACS to change the track, or just turn off music altogether and use an outside media player.
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4722
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Jimmy »

The best thing to do, I think, is to set up a short alias (called something like "watercolour", for PDF's example) and do it from the console. You can change the music in hub episodes like Phocas Island 2, and the music is preserved for that level even when you exit and re-enter it. :) SetMusic is used a couple of times in that mod, but as long as you have an appropriate alias, you can change it back quite quickly.
Karl Murks
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:53 am

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Karl Murks »

Groan!

Are you people really this dense or are clumsy second grade workarounds really second nature to you so that it doesn't bother you to suggest them as a serious alternative?

I wasn't asking for a way to change music on the fly but for one to make it easy to permanently change it without taking apart such WADs!
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Project Shadowcat »

We do this with every feature suggestion if there's a method. Yes, I get annoyed with bad music, and probably wouldn't mind an alternative. But geez, you should relax a bit instead of calling us dense. :|
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Graf Zahl »

PDF, seriously, you got what you deserved. I have to agree that your suggested workaround are 100% non-functional for what he requested. And this is not the first time I have seen such borderline stupid suggestions being made here.

BTW, adding such a feature won't cost me more than a few minutes, so why not? I see a few other usage scenarios as well for it (e.g. mapping E2M5's music to E1M7's in a high quality music replacement resource.)
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Project Shadowcat »

:shrug:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49096
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: $musicalias option for SNDINFO

Post by Graf Zahl »

added

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”