[Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE - Chaingun!)

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
scalliano
Posts: 2848
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 1:16 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by scalliano »

And long may it continue. :cheers:
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

Very cool shit. You're the same Cage that did some weapons for WGRealms2, right?
User avatar
Cage
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:47 pm
Location: San Escobar

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Cage »

Yep, doing some doom stuff for a change.

If anyone would make a patch for the D64 tc with the animations I'd be very grateful - I was actually counting for this when posting this stuff. I've tried renaming the frames to the default names, putting them in a pk3 and then in the auto folder, but no success. I have no idea how doomsday works anyway so help would be good.
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

Cool, nice to see you. I'm pretty much doing the same thing. I'm the same Captain Awesome that posted around Duke4 and whatnot. I doubt you remember me. :P

Anyways, cheers!

Edit: I had a thought. Maybe you could convert these weapons to the regular Doom palette, with Doom hands, and submit them to the Realm 667 Armory. That'd be neat.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Ceeb »

Captain Awesome wrote:Doom palette
I don't think so, Tim.

Doom's palette rapes D64 sprites like a japenese schoolgirl. And besides, Realm667 accepts (and encourages!) PNG graphics... And even further, stock ZDoom supports full-color HUD graphics. Forcing any sprites into palette-only colors, unless it's for a vanilla mod or for the sake of translations, is goddamn stupid.
User avatar
phi108
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:28 pm

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by phi108 »

Indeed, I now love playing good old 256 color doom with true-color guns, but we should still keep in mind that it is a Direct X only thing, so testing replacement guns/hud elements with "vid_hw2d 0" is best to make sure linux and mac users don't see horribly palettized images. One big example: Translucent blood-splatter effects on the screen when you take damage can be pretty annoying, but more so when it is no longer translucent, and you just have a solid red shape covering most of the screen.
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Lexus Alyus »

@Ceeb: I see you're beong very PC there :D.

From those screenshots on the first page this looks pretty sexy. I've downloaded these and may use them as I plan to do a bit of a resource package to use in my Doom maps.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17849
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Gez »

Doom64 actually uses several different palettes at the same time, since it wasn't in 256-color mode. Each gun has its own palette, enemies have their own palettes, etc. Instead of translations, monster variants and extra player use different palettes.
User avatar
Viscra Maelstrom
Posts: 6200
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 am
Location: plergleland

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Viscra Maelstrom »

There's something weird about the angle of that plasma gun. The hoops are way too small, the red buttons way too big and those small metallic things attached to the gun looks wrong, perspective wise. Might wanna fix those things. Otherwise it's a fantastic edit, As well as the SG and SSG!
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

Ceeb wrote:
Captain Awesome wrote:Doom palette
I don't think so, Tim.

Doom's palette rapes D64 sprites like a japenese schoolgirl. And besides, Realm667 accepts (and encourages!) PNG graphics... And even further, stock ZDoom supports full-color HUD graphics. Forcing any sprites into palette-only colors, unless it's for a vanilla mod or for the sake of translations, is goddamn stupid.
Can I get a facepalm here? When I say in the Doom palette, I am not saying just dump it in there. I did a quick and dirty version last night that didn't look too bad. Lrn2mod.
User avatar
XutaWoo
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by XutaWoo »

Nah, you can't, since you didn't say you wanted them remade into the doom palette, just in the doom palette.
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

XutaWoo wrote:Nah, you can't, since you didn't say you wanted them remade into the doom palette, just in the doom palette.
Oh I'm sorry you guys can't read between the lines. "Convert to the doom palette": That says to me "put the weapon into a palette without it looking like shit." Simple concepts, people.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26537
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Enjay »

Given the extensive history of shit looking sprites that have been forced into the Doom palette over the years, it's not an unreasonable assumption to think you meant "palette rape them just like thousands of sprites before". :P
User avatar
Captain Awesome
Posts: 580
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Captain Awesome »

I know what you're saying, but I actually type in formal English. That and Cage is a perfectly respectable artist, very unlikely to release garbage.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: [Sprites] Doom 64 reloading animations (UPDATE!)

Post by Ceeb »

Captain Awesome wrote:Not conceited, I promise!
I call BS.

Return to “Resources”