Zdoom multi-player?

Talk about multiplayer ZDoom games here.
Forum rules
Image

Zdoom multi-player?

Postby lolwut? » Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:45 am

(im new here lolwut)

So im asking here about the zdoom multiplayer. i goed to wiki and learned the join commands and how to host and more. I would wanna go play Instant action 3 in multi, but how does other people see my game's ip? Do i need to post it into this forum or what :?
User avatar
lolwut?
 
Joined: 14 Mar 2010

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby NeuralStunner » Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:44 pm

ZDoom itself plays over a LAN (local network). Usually an internet service assigns you an IP, then any computers attached to that use a sort of sub-IP specific to your local network. So knowing your IP only helps for other computers on the same network. Other networks could easily have the same IPs assigned to their own computers.

If you're looking to play over the internet, Skulltag is what you need.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Ceeb » Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:03 pm

You can play online in ZDoom. I use ZDL. Have the person with the fastest connection host, and then have your pals join with your IP.
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:14 pm

There is a section just for you:

Image

But anyways,
the host starts the process with the number of players (including the host),
the other players then join the game with the host's IP address.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Captain Ventris » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:19 pm

I think I only discovered that we had a Networking forum last year.
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Buy my novel, “The Shadow Among The Stars” on Amazon!
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby lolwut? » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:30 am

Kappes Buur wrote:There is a section just for you:

Image

But anyways,
the host starts the process with the number of players (including the host),
the other players then join the game with the host's IP address.


It not there. And i know skulltag, but server making in it is annyoing and all wads dont have skulltag support.
User avatar
lolwut?
 
Joined: 14 Mar 2010

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby TheDarkArchon » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:41 am

lolwut? wrote:It not there.


You're not looking hard enough.

And i know skulltag, but server making in it is annyoing


Ho boy, you haven't seen anything yet

and all wads dont have skulltag support.


There are some WADs that don't have ZDoom support, either.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Siggi » Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:19 pm

I'm not sure why I didn't move this earlier.
User avatar
Siggi
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Location: South Africa

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby lolwut? » Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:32 pm

TheDarkArchon wrote:
lolwut? wrote:It not there.


You're not looking hard enough.

And i know skulltag, but server making in it is annyoing


Ho boy, you haven't seen anything yet

and all wads dont have skulltag support.


There are some WADs that don't have ZDoom support, either.


It wasnt there or im blind:P
Skulltag IS annyoing. if i create server, it dosent even appear to server list.
User avatar
lolwut?
 
Joined: 14 Mar 2010

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Zhs2 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:42 pm

lolwut? wrote:Skulltag IS annyoing. if i create server, it dosent even appear to server list.

This tends to happen often, no matter whether or not you tell Skulltag to broadcast to LAN - only Windows seems to have this problem, too; I haven't had it happen on a Linux distro yet. Easiest solution is to load up Skulltag with the same wads as the server and use the internal browser to locate your server via local methods.
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of meh.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby zalgax » Fri May 28, 2010 12:36 am

My friend and I just tried playing multiplayer hexen and doom 2. We cant get it to work. We are on a laptop with Win 7 and a desktop with XP media center. Help plz?
zalgax
 
Joined: 28 May 2010

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby edward850 » Mon May 31, 2010 11:40 pm

Would be nice if you told us whats not working, so we can get an idea on what you are possibly doing wrong.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby zalgax » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:37 am

well, I'm using unleashed. And we tried both doom2 and Hexen. It launches the game on the hosts end and the other person cannot join for some reason. We checked the settings over and over and it appears to be correct. Any other info you need?
zalgax
 
Joined: 28 May 2010

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:43 am

Unleashed is an outdated and horrible launcher (The GUI just makes me cringe).

I would first suggest trying a friendlier launcher. ZDL is a great choice: http://zdoom.org/wiki/ZDL
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Zdoom multi-player?

Postby edward850 » Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:31 pm

zalgax wrote:well, I'm using unleashed. And we tried both doom2 and Hexen. It launches the game on the hosts end and the other person cannot join for some reason. We checked the settings over and over and it appears to be correct. Any other info you need?

Make sure your ports (5029 UDP in this case) is forwarded on the hosts router and allowed on any firewalls you may have.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Next

Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests