[Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

New maps, and other projects whose primary focus is new maps, belong here.

Note: This forum, and all forums below it, are not for questions or troubleshooting! Threads created here are for active projects only! If you have questions please feel free to use the Editing subforums or General forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Enjay »

Did you cheat or no-clip at any point during the map? In order for the door to open, a monster has to teleport into the play area. When you kill it, the door opens. However, if you noclip, it is very easy to miss out the area where your shots will wake up the monster in its hidden teleport room. So, if it doesn't wake up, it won't wander around, won't cross a teleport line and you won't be able to kill it. The monster in question is in a little teleport room at location x4448, y-3232.
Zatos
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:13 pm

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Zatos »

No... I haven't cheated at all.
User avatar
Demolisher
Posts: 1749
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Winchester, VA

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Demolisher »

I recall encountering this, I went back, killed everything, and it was open.
User avatar
esselfortium
Posts: 3862
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:43 pm

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by esselfortium »

TheDarkArchon wrote:
Enjay wrote: There was an area where I went through a hole in a wall and I just stopped and looked at it for a while. The area couldn't have been much bigger than 192x192 units but it was made just perfectly. The broken wall was the right width, not just some generic 32 units wide. The slopes and textures in the cavity beyond the hole created a believable representation of a rocky blast hole and the way it dropped down into the next area using slopes was just right.

This isn't just any hole in a wall: It's an expertly crafted, finely exploded hole in the wall created with the most exotic foreign explosives and tangy nodes.

This isn't just any terrain. This is KDiZD terrain.

I couldn't resist :P
I originally read this as "tangy noodles", which I hold to be a superior tagline.
Zatos
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 5:13 pm

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Zatos »

Demolisher wrote:I recall encountering this, I went back, killed everything, and it was open.
I checked... no monsters left. I warped as suggested and killed the monsters in there. Sucks having to cheat, but what can you do when something is buggy? Somehow though at least one of the monsters inside there became active, as I could hear him nearby in one of the rooms. At the end I did have 100% kills so I know I didnt miss any.
User avatar
Orangewaggs
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:03 pm

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Orangewaggs »

im not trying to cause trouble but i was playing doom 3 classic the other day and the ending kinda cool and i was kinda of thinking if kdizd had voice acting in the intro why didn't it have any for the ending kinda like d3 classic? :)
this was just a thought that came to mind like i said i wasnt trying to bump this and make people mad.....
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Posts: 4605
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Captain Ventris »

...because the "voice acting" was, I believe, and old add for DooM, and not made by the KDiZD team?
User avatar
esselfortium
Posts: 3862
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 8:43 pm

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by esselfortium »

Indeed. The audio from the KDiZD intro was based on a radio advertisement that id Software made for Doom's original release.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Ceeb »

esselfortium wrote:Indeed. The audio from the KDiZD intro was based on a radio advertisement that id Software made for Doom's original release.
Image
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Posts: 3482
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:45 pm
Location: Plahnit Urff

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by DoomKrakken »

One of the awesomest map packs EVER.

One big question... why is it that I can't use weapon mods with it? Brutal Doom, Project MSX, and Russian Overkill don't work at all. Is there a place where I can find a version of KDIZD that can be compatible with weapon mods (like say... a more "vanilla" version...)?
User avatar
Dynamo
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Industrial District

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Dynamo »

Well, you could make it compatible yourself
User avatar
edward850
Posts: 5886
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by edward850 »

No.
Absolutely not.
Never yes.
Negative.
Nada.
Why would you expect this?

KDiZD is incompatible with gameplay mods because it is just simply incompatible. No if, ands or buts about it. Stuff like this was never really intended to be compatible.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by Ed the Bat »

It's incompatible with many mods because of the KEYCONF lump. That was the only way to add new weapons when it was first made.

I once took it upon myself to rectify this for myself.
User avatar
TheMightyHeracross
Posts: 2100
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by TheMightyHeracross »

I think the new monsters would break mods, too.
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Posts: 3482
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:45 pm
Location: Plahnit Urff

Re: [Project] "Knee-Deep in ZDoom"

Post by DoomKrakken »

Ed the Bat wrote:It's incompatible with many mods because of the KEYCONF lump. That was the only way to add new weapons when it was first made.

I once took it upon myself to rectify this for myself.
This fix makes it compatible with other mods?

Return to “Levels”