Animated Interpics

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Project Shadowcat »

Skunk wrote:... he'll probably not like it even after all my hard work on it. :P
I'll find that he's surprisingly easy to please.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Skunk »

Dude I got like totally bored and animated parts of E4... the burning house flickers and the demonic volcano thing lets off smoke and a red glow at the bottom and the skull lights up when you enter E4M8.
User avatar
Impboy4
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Impboy4 »

It's excellent Skunk, but there are some bugs in it though:

- When you enter the interpic, the buring house animation gets squished a little
- The smoke from that hellish volcano thing clips into the sky and also distorts it

Thats all I found, otherwise great job!
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Xaser »

Project Dark Fox wrote:
Skunk wrote:... he'll probably not like it even after all my hard work on it. :P
I'll find that he's surprisingly easy to please.
Was that a half-insult directed half at me, half at Skunk? If so, then go half-jump off a cliff! :P

Otherwise, uh... yeah, his new interpic rocks pretty good actually. :P
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by HotWax »

Xaser wrote:
Project Dark Fox wrote:
Skunk wrote:... he'll probably not like it even after all my hard work on it. :P
I'll find that he's surprisingly easy to please.
Was that a half-insult directed half at me, half at Skunk? If so, then go half-jump off a cliff! :P

Otherwise, uh... yeah, his new interpic rocks pretty good actually. :P
The way I read it, he was just reassuring Skunk that you wouldn't turn up your nose at his work...
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Project Shadowcat »

While it was what HotWax read it as, this is why I love your sense of humor Xaser. :lol:
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3159
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Blzut3 »

Skunk wrote:Anyway, amended the wiki, animations and pics have an offset of dead center and four pixels from the bottom
Uhh, I thought it was the offsets in the image were applied first? For example, if you were to open you're wad with XWE you will notice that all the images have an offset exactly how you describe. So if you set all the images to have an offset of 0, 0 then the coordinates would reference the top left hand corner of the image. I believe SBarInfo also works this way.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Project Shadowcat »

Blzut3 wrote:I believe SBarInfo also works this way.
Correct. Fonts however you have to start from the top right, but that's another topic.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Skunk »

Oh really? I didn't know that. I'll go re edit the wiki then and remove that little comment.
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Skunk »

Okay, quick question for anyone who knows about the interpic scripting... I wanna begin an animation and then start it looping at a different point... like I want the animation to do this...

Frame 1
Frame 2
Frame 3 <--- Loop point
Frame 4
Frame 5
Frame 6
Frame 3 <--- Begin Loop
Frame 4
Frame 5
Frame 6
Etc

Is this possible?
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Xaser »

Hmm... as far as I can tell, it's not possible, but that's not a bad feature request, really.

Though, if you just copy+paste those frames a bunch of times and have them in an IFENTERING type, you can make the animation long enough so the game advances anyhow and you don't have to worry about the loop anyway (I fixed it for the E5 map this way... it works!).
User avatar
Skunk
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:04 am

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Skunk »

I did that for your E5 map but I couldn't get it to work right, you made it look really awesome.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17840
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Animated Interpics

Post by Gez »

Hey, did you make any update to the E4 interpic?

Return to “Editing (Archive)”