Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347 Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Post
by Cutmanmike » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:43 am
Graf Zahl wrote: Here's some advice: Use models where it makes sense. This doesn't.
SlayeR wrote: Yeah I don't see the point in a bloodsplat model
Nash wrote: *insert PWNAGE here*
Oh my that's funny. Awesome idea too nash!
Grubber wrote: Adding future features into the wiki is nonsense. They can be changed and the info only confuse people.
What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.
Tormentor667
Posts: 13547 Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Post
by Tormentor667 » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:54 am
This is indeed a very clever trick
Awesome!
Nash
Posts: 17454 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Post
by Nash » Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:24 pm
Updated my post with a flag proposal to go along with the property, if it gets added.
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:29 pm
Added. There are 3 actors that can be replaced: Blood, BloodSplatter and AxeBlood. There is one new property:
Code: Select all
BloodType replaceBlood [, replaceBloodSplatter [, replaceAxeBlood]]
If only one type is specified it will be used for all 3 blood actors.
A DONTTRANSLATE flag has been added, too.
HotWax
Posts: 10002 Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Post
by HotWax » Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:01 pm
What about a PuffType property?
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:17 am
Nearly all functions that can spawn puffs already have such a parameter. Puffs depend on the weapon being used, not the object being hit.
Anakin S.
Posts: 1067 Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...
Post
by Anakin S. » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:37 am
But the railgun still uses the default bullet puff when it hits a noblood actor, right? Can that be set too?
So do you use the property by typing this?
Code: Select all
BloodType replaceBloodSplatter "NewBloodSplatter"
@HotWax: Do you mean something like having different hitting sounds for different armor materials, as in Hexen 2 and Warcraft 3?
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:03 am
Thanks for pointing that out. I added a puff parameter to A_RailAttack and A_CustomRailgun.
Nash
Posts: 17454 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Post
by Nash » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:56 am
Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.
EDIT:
Would this be correct?
Code: Select all
actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 5:03 am
Nash wrote: Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.
EDIT:
Would this be correct?
Code: Select all
actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}
No. replacesBlood is not a keyword, it's just a placeholder.
Code: Select all
actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType "FlameChunk"
}
would be correct.
HotWax
Posts: 10002 Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Post
by HotWax » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:08 am
Question on DONTTRANSLATE:
Is this a flag added for this particular property? i.e. would this work:
BloodType "FlameChunk" "FlameSplatter" DONTTRANSLATE
Or is this a separate flag that goes on its own line? If so, what does it affect?
Cutmanmike wrote: What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.
You can start here.
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:16 am
It's a real flag that has to be used like all other flags. A_SpawnItem will also not transfer a translation if it is set.
Nash
Posts: 17454 Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Post
by Nash » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:17 am
I imagine +DONTTRANSLATE would go to the custom blood actor.
A useful example would be to make a FlameDemon that bleeds yellow without the game engine affecting the flame chunks' translation.
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130 Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany
Post
by Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 am
The default is not to translate the blood anyway. You only need this flag if you are doing something special with the blood that might get affected by translations. This is more likely when replacing Blood globally. As long as you control everything you won't need this flag.