New actor property: BloodSprite

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

Graf Zahl wrote:Here's some advice: Use models where it makes sense. This doesn't.
SlayeR wrote:Yeah I don't see the point in a bloodsplat model
Nash wrote:*insert PWNAGE here*
Oh my that's funny. Awesome idea too nash!
Grubber wrote:Adding future features into the wiki is nonsense. They can be changed and the info only confuse people.
What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13547
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Post by Tormentor667 »

This is indeed a very clever trick :) Awesome!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17454
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

Updated my post with a flag proposal to go along with the property, if it gets added.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Added. There are 3 actors that can be replaced: Blood, BloodSplatter and AxeBlood. There is one new property:

Code: Select all

BloodType replaceBlood [, replaceBloodSplatter [, replaceAxeBlood]]
If only one type is specified it will be used for all 3 blood actors.
A DONTTRANSLATE flag has been added, too.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

What about a PuffType property?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nearly all functions that can spawn puffs already have such a parameter. Puffs depend on the weapon being used, not the object being hit.
User avatar
Anakin S.
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Post by Anakin S. »

But the railgun still uses the default bullet puff when it hits a noblood actor, right? Can that be set too?

So do you use the property by typing this?

Code: Select all

BloodType replaceBloodSplatter "NewBloodSplatter"
@HotWax: Do you mean something like having different hitting sounds for different armor materials, as in Hexen 2 and Warcraft 3?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Thanks for pointing that out. I added a puff parameter to A_RailAttack and A_CustomRailgun.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17454
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.

EDIT:

Would this be correct?

Code: Select all


actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nash wrote:Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.

EDIT:

Would this be correct?

Code: Select all


actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}

No. replacesBlood is not a keyword, it's just a placeholder.

Code: Select all

actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType "FlameChunk"
}
would be correct.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Question on DONTTRANSLATE:

Is this a flag added for this particular property? i.e. would this work:

BloodType "FlameChunk" "FlameSplatter" DONTTRANSLATE

Or is this a separate flag that goes on its own line? If so, what does it affect?
Cutmanmike wrote:What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.
You can start here. :)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

It's a real flag that has to be used like all other flags. A_SpawnItem will also not transfer a translation if it is set.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17454
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

I imagine +DONTTRANSLATE would go to the custom blood actor.

A useful example would be to make a FlameDemon that bleeds yellow without the game engine affecting the flame chunks' translation.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49130
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

The default is not to translate the blood anyway. You only need this flag if you are doing something special with the blood that might get affected by translations. This is more likely when replacing Blood globally. As long as you control everything you won't need this flag.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

OK, hopefully I understood that. Please verify that the description on this page is correct:

http://www.zdoom.org/wiki/index.php?tit ... _.26_Sound

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”