Support 3D Floors and dynamic lighting?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48341
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

I can make it. Don't worry. In fact, most of it is working. What's stalling this project more than anything else is Randy's refusal to post some status updates. It's impossible to plan ahead in the current situation. :(

Right now what I have is based on the latest .96x build and I'd say 90-95% stable. But I'd really like to do the floating point conversion before a release because some of the instabilities are caused by fixed point overflow (most likely the biggest problem Doom is having...)

But if the current situation continues maybe I'll release as it is. But I need some web space first (and worse, have absolutely no experience with that...) Can anybody help me with that?
User avatar
David Ferstat
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by David Ferstat »

How much web-space do you need?
User avatar
jallamann
Posts: 2271
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:25 am
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Post by jallamann »

I'd be more than happy to put it up for download! And if you need help with html, I'd help with that too ;)
But let's wait a while and see if randy decides to make some updates...
User avatar
Siggi
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:57 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Support 3D Floors and dynamic lighting?

Post by Siggi »

é wrote:in the next version of zdoom, will there ever nodes, to support
3D Floors and Dynamic Lighting that also features decorate?
If 3D floors and dynamic lighting are that important to you,,, play Quake.
User avatar
Wills
Posts: 1446
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:01 pm
Location: The Well of Wishes

Post by Wills »

One day, we'll realize we've modified Doom so much it's become something completely different...
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

Wills wrote:One day, we'll realize we've modified Doom so much it's become something completely different...
ZDoom isn't anything like Doom anymore really. Take a look at PRBoom for an example of Doom in the modern day. It has some extra features, and runs in the Windows environment, but it's still just Doom. ZDoom has editing features almost comparable to games like Half-Life. What ZDoom really lacks when compared to modern FPS games, are 3D floors and the graphics. If 3D floors were added, ZDoom would well be brought up to the gameplay standards of many late 90s FPS games.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48341
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Aren't we already there yet?

When I look at ZDoom I see:

-high resolutions
-mouselook
-jumping
-custom monsters
-complex scripting capabilities

and much more which have as much impact (if not more) on the game as True Color, 3D-floors or dynamic lights - which I may add, my work in progress will all have. (Full dynamic light support isn't finished yet though.)

But the important thing is: When I play Doom with it, it still looks and feels like Doom, albeit a much better looking Doom.
User avatar
ace
Posts: 787
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Just south of the True North

Post by ace »

Graf Zahl wrote:But the important thing is: When I play Doom with it, it still looks and feels like Doom, albeit a much better looking Doom.
Same here. The only time Doom seems to be a different game to me would have to be a mod which replaces all sounds, graphics, textures, music, levels, intermissions, weapons, bosses, and monsters... PLUS 3D floors and slopes, PLUS scripting and cutscenes, THAT would be the only case in which I would consider it to be not Doom.

It's just too bad that well... NOTHING LIKE THIS HAS BEEN MADE! At least, nothing like this on any of the good/popular ports (there was a Quake II conversion for Vavoom). So anything that uses the same textures... even at hi-res, and the doom monsters... even in 3D, and the same levels... even in OpenGL, and even with 3D floors and slopes, It'll still be Doom to me.

So IMO I think 3D floors would be an excellent addition. Dynamic lights would be nice, but not really necessary.
User avatar
solarsnowfall
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:44 am

Post by solarsnowfall »

Graf Zahl wrote:But I need some web space first (and worse, have absolutely no experience with that...) Can anybody help me with that?
Graf, I hope your efforts go well. And I hope you can resolve the aformentioned issue. I can't speak on behalf of Grubber, but I'd bet DRDTeam.org would be happy to host you. They hosted me, and all I've done so far, is make a few monsters. As for lacking experience in... html specificly? I'd personally be happy to help you with any html.

I'd be one in the line of thought that says it's time for a better way of doing 3d floors. K2 bridges (HA! Solar bridges) are too demanding of tedium. And I've gotten some ugly crashes trying to implement stacked sectors (probably my ignorance).

Anyhoo....
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48341
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Stacked sectors are the ugliest thing ZDoom has to offer. Does it surprise anyone that this is one of the things I am having the most problems with? Maps that abuse this feature to its limit (as Zen Dynamics) don't work that well with my code and I really don't see much of a chance to fix that.
User avatar
solarsnowfall
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:44 am

Post by solarsnowfall »

I do, however, like the oppertunity to use translucent floors. This is the one redeeming quality of stacked secotrs, in my mind. If there was a way to do transfer heights with with this feature, it'd be kick ass.
User avatar
Nmn
Posts: 4614
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:41 pm

Post by Nmn »

Graf Zahl wrote:But I need some web space first (and worse, have absolutely no experience with that...) Can anybody help me with that?
Contact Grubber ASAP. DRD Team needs more hostees ;) And I'm sure Grubby will be happy to set You up.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

Graf Zahl wrote:Can anybody help me with that?
I'd be happy to write you a little site-thing that would suit you fine for a while. I just have other stuff to take care of first. But the offer is on the table. AIM me or something and we can work it out.
User avatar
Post
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:48 pm

Post by Post »

Well , i played Heretic some time ago , and found very interesting the ,methods of creating Torche's dinamic lightning...Maybe we can use somthing like that for Rockets or any fire\plasma balls...

Like flag +DINLIGHT
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
Posts: 4220
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Post by Lexus Alyus »

WTF... Heretic never had dynamic lighting.

Okay, forget voxel support... what about model support!? :D. I only suggested Voxel support because that is a software alternative to models... but if Graf is working on dynamic lights and 3D floors then I'm guessing that it is a GL port. If Zdoom had model support I could load up some Quake models and change the face of Doom forver... Bwahahaha :D.

Anyone ever play that Zan Zan mod? That was for Zdoom 1.22 with a bodged GL port... yet that looked like a totally new game and played quite well. I'm telling you, all Zdoom needs to stand up to 90's FPS' is 3D models, true colour, dynamic lighting and 3D floors... then we can have super hi-res textures and make a game that looks as good as HL2 :D.

Heres a better suggestion: Graf, get hosted at DRD and sway away from ZDooms code allowing you to focus on a completely new port. If we had a port that looked better than Jdoom and had all the editing of Zdoom then I would look no other place :D. Its what the Doom comunity needs! :D.

:twisted:

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”