Status Bar Modifiable?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

ant1991331
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:19 am
Location: Makin tracks with jetboots

Status Bar Modifiable?

Post by ant1991331 »

Is it possible at all to modify the Status Bar???
If not, I'll mkae this a Feature Suggestion, modifiable Status Bars will be great, because you can't even see the AltFire Ammo when the status bar is up, and for custom ammunition and slots, you should be able to put the ammunition numbers on the side of the screen, and for the Weapon Slots, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, and 0.
User avatar
Sphagne
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:36 am

Post by Sphagne »

I hope we would be able to disable status bar, and remove it from screen, so that we could design our own status bars, by hudmessages and graphical fonts.
ant1991331
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:19 am
Location: Makin tracks with jetboots

Post by ant1991331 »

I get your point there.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

ant1991331
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:19 am
Location: Makin tracks with jetboots

Post by ant1991331 »

Oh right, I remember that...
Jonathan
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:35 am

Post by Jonathan »

Why not move the whole hud system into acs? Rewrite the existing game huds using acs functions, then provide some way to override or complement the original scripts, maybe with a function like RegisterHUDRenderer(int scriptnum) or something.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48037
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

The status bar code is far too complicated for ACS.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1248
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Post by AFADoomer »

Graf Zahl wrote:The status bar code is far too complicated for ACS.
Why do you say that? Other than not currently being able to pull the max ammo amounts from code, and not being able to do the damage direction faces, everything else can be done...
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3460
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Post by NiGHTMARE »

HUDINFO.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Post by Nash »

In addition to modifying the HUD, any future implementations should also make it possible to modify the game menus... that way you can totally customize the look of your game, determine what menus appear or don't appear, etc.
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Discord: DoomRater#6308
Location: WATR HQ

Post by DoomRater »

DOOM SKINS!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48037
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

AFADoomer wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:The status bar code is far too complicated for ACS.
Why do you say that? Other than not currently being able to pull the max ammo amounts from code, and not being able to do the damage direction faces, everything else can be done...

No, it can't. The status bar handling contains much more than just display the graphics. And the max ammo amount can be retrieved but what can't be retrieved is the type of ammo the player uses. And checking the current weapon is possible but only with prior knowledge of all the weapons that exist.
Don't forget the other games which also do some specialized stuff on their status bars.

Another very important issue is that the status bar only updates the parts that change so an ACS implementation would be somewhat slower.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48037
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nash wrote:In addition to modifying the HUD, any future implementations should also make it possible to modify the game menus... that way you can totally customize the look of your game, determine what menus appear or don't appear, etc.
Cool in theory but IMO that goes far beyond any reasonable amount of work for the features gained by it.
Jonathan
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 5:35 am

Post by Jonathan »

I decided to have a go at making an acs emulation of the status bar myself last night. I managed to get something pretty reasonable with a couple of hours work, I'll probably polish it up and post it tonight. It's actually pretty easy to get 90% of the hud functionality with the current acs capability. Of course it's the remaining 10% that's trickier. Some stuff that would help:

- Some way to get the size of font/image glyphs. It would reduce the amount of magic numbers you have to store in #defines and int arrays.

- Better weapon and ammo interrogation. As Graf mentioned, this is a sticking point. Maybe just a CheckInventory("CurrentAmmo") extension would solve it, or some functions such as GetCurrentWeapon and GetCurrentWeaponAmmo.

- Events/Messaging. A little pie in the sky perhaps, but being able to register scripts to receive engine events such as damage, firing and pickups would save you having to store and check these values yourself each time round the loop. This would also mitigate the speed issues.

- GetLastAttacker, for implementing attack direction faces.

Speed-wise, my test seems to go quick enough. Yes there's bound to be a performance hit, but so long as you code carefully I don't think it would be too significant.[/list][/list]
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48037
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

The real hit occurs when drawing all the stuff. The ACS code is fast enough.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions”