[Resolved] Autoaim for switch high on wall?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
violgamba
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2024 4:53 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

[Resolved] Autoaim for switch high on wall?

Post by violgamba »

Is there any possibility of setting up vertical auto-aim to aim for switches that are high up on a wall? I'm making a map for younger people who are still getting used to controls so I disabled up/down look to simplify things for them. Yet the plot of the map includes opening a tall castle drawbridge by firing at switches that are kind of high up. I suppose I could lower them to eye level if there's not an easy way set vertical auto-aim for switches. Just thought I'd ask.
Last edited by violgamba on Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
violgamba
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2024 4:53 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

Re: Autoaim for switch high on wall?

Post by violgamba »

FYI, my current solution is to make the entire vertical linedef a trigger, not just the official target. This works great, but I'm developing a projectile weapon that would definitely show WHERE the projectile ends up.

This is all pretty finicky, I'm ok if this solution I've got is the best there is.
violgamba
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2024 4:53 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

Re: Autoaim for switch high on wall?

Post by violgamba »

I'm thinking that maybe I could put a thing in front of each target for the autoaim to latch onto. The big question with this is: can you setup a thing so that the autoaim targets it, yet bullets pass through it to whatever is behind?
violgamba
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2024 4:53 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10

Re: Autoaim for switch high on wall?

Post by violgamba »

It was pretty obvious, really. I just setup an "enemy" that just sat in front of the target symbol and acted AS the behind-the-scenes target. I would die in one hit and this would trigger the target's logic.

Return to “Mapping”