Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
dfuse
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2024 3:20 pm

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by dfuse »

Sorry for the stupid question, but how do I use this mod? I'm new to classic doom and using GZDoom.
I tried to put the WIDESTBAR.wad file in [Global.Autoload], but it doesn't do anything. (I know it's not this mod but I tried the original first to see if that would be simpler)
I only want this for the default episodes in Doom 1 and 2
Also, is there something similar for Heretic and Hexen?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by NightFright »

GZDoom instructions

In your ini, place this line:

Code: Select all

[doom.id.Autoload]
Path=autoload/
This will make sure that any file you place in a dir called "autoload" inside your GZDoom installation folder will be automatically loaded whenever you launch any Doom title (Doom, Doom II, Plutonia, TNT). Then take doom_uwide.wad from this project and place it into this new autoload folder. That should be it. Note that you can also load the file directly with something like Path=autoload/doom_uwide.wad if you just want this specific file to be loaded. You can also name the folder differently or place it elsewhere, but then you would have to adjust the path, of course.

Also, the following line must be set as follows in your ini:

Code: Select all

[GlobalSettings]
disableautoload=false
For Heretic, Hexen and Strife, providing widescreen statusbars is not necessary since they are included in Nash's game_widescreen_gfx.pk3 which comes with more recent GZDoom versions. Just make sure to have this line set in your ini:

Code: Select all

[GlobalSettings] 
autoloadwidescreen=true
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Non-GZDoom instructions

For ports like Crispy Doom, PrBoom+ or Woof!, you can place IWAD enhancements into the proper autoload folder. In our example, Doom's widescreen statusbar (doom_uwide.wad) would go to autoload/doom-all or autoload/doom.wad, autoload/doom2.wad, autoload/plutonia.wad and autoload/tnt.wad.

In general, PWAD usage with parameters is like: -iwad <iwad> -file <pwad> -file <pwad widescreen statusbar file>
Example: -iwad tnt.wad -file tntgb.wad -file tntgb_wide.wad
Launchers like ZDL or DoomRunner make this process a lot easier.

Note that some ports like GZDoom or Woof! also support zipfiles, so you could just zip the pwad and its widescreen file together and load them both at once.
dfuse
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2024 3:20 pm

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by dfuse »

Thanks for the explanation! Got it working for Doom 1.
But for Heretic it doesn't seem to work, although I can see the file game_widescreen_gfx.pk3 in my GZdoom dir..
Last edited by dfuse on Wed Jan 24, 2024 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by NightFright »

In the worst case (even though it shouldn't be required if "autoloadwidescreen" is set to "true"), add this line in your ini in the [Global.Autoload] section:

Code: Select all

[Global.Autoload]
Path=game_widescreen_gfx.pk3
Provided you haven't moved the file anywhere (= in the same dir as gzdoom.exe).

Should that also fail, unzip the wad file in the attachment and drop it into the GZDoom autoload dir, set up as follows via ini:

Code: Select all

[heretic.Autoload]
Path=autoload/
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
VoanHead
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:35 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by VoanHead »

Hello! Happy to download the latest version again to nab the widescreen for Machete. Just what I needed. Now, getting straight to the point: I see there's a widescreen statbar for Interception, could I suggest maybe making one for it's sequel Interception 2?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1339
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by NightFright »

Interception II has been added. Will be in the next release. If you don't want to wait, download latest dev snapshot ("Code" --> "Download Zip"). Filename is intercep2_uwide.wad.

See attachment for preview.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
VoanHead
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 3:35 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Widescreen statusbars (v2401)

Post by VoanHead »

late reply, but thx broski

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”