[Done] Railings in Doom

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Railings in Doom

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 13, 2005 3:14 am

Since Strife's railing flag can't be accessed in the other games, how about this:

Code: Select allExpand view
      case PCD_SETLINEBLOCKING:
         {
            int line = -1;

            while ((line = P_FindLineFromID (STACK(2), line)) >= 0)
            {
               switch (STACK(1))
               {
               case BLOCK_NOTHING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
                  break;
               case BLOCK_CREATURES:
               default:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING;
                  break;
               case BLOCK_EVERYTHING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_RAILING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING;
                  break;
               case BLOCK_RAILING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_RAILING|ML_BLOCKING;
                  break;
               }
            }

            sp -= 2;
         }
         break;



Of course Strife's lower side hack should be restricted to Strife then (and best to non-Hexen format maps as well!)
Last edited by Graf Zahl on Fri May 13, 2005 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Risen » Fri May 13, 2005 11:24 am

Yes, please!
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby Hirogen2 » Fri May 13, 2005 12:06 pm

And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Nmn » Fri May 13, 2005 1:12 pm

Variable height for railings without using the bridge things or Boom tricks? Oh yeah...
User avatar
Nmn
Stay creative, my friends.
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 13, 2005 1:35 pm

Hirogen2 wrote:And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?


None. That's the problem. It's a Strife flag that's inaccessible in the other games because the flag word is full.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Hirogen2 » Mon May 16, 2005 3:30 am

/* Heh, heh */
Design a new map format :p
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 16, 2005 5:03 am

Then an ACS option still would be useful.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Cutmanmike » Mon May 16, 2005 5:44 am

Risen wrote:Yes, please!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby David Ferstat » Mon May 16, 2005 11:05 pm

Sounds like a fairly easy way to give a useful function to the mapper.
User avatar
David Ferstat
Oh dear, I think you'll find reality is on the blink again.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby Hirogen2 » Tue May 17, 2005 12:56 pm

Why not just:
another sector, 242 (209 in Z-mode) and a mid texture with y = -someNumber
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue May 17, 2005 1:00 pm

Maybe because it needs another sector (2 to be precise) for each railing?

That is needless geometry that adds up in large maps.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Grubber » Wed May 25, 2005 7:58 am

User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest