GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
GenericItalianGuy
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2022 8:38 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Post by GenericItalianGuy »

So, downloaded the new gzdoom version, on my macos high sierra version 10.13.6 whit a AMD Radeon HD 512MB as graphic card, and for some reason every time i boot up doom and every other game the screen is just black, funny thing is if i press esc for a brief moment i can see the dead bunny as an icon but it disappears right after, this thing is happening whit zandronum new version and im concerned that ZDoom source ports will not work on my pc anymore; so yeah i need some help.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Post by Graf Zahl »

If this is only with recent builds it may well be that Apple's current toolchains no longer support this old OS version properly. In that case your only chance would be an OS upgrade, provided that it still can be done for your system.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Post by _mental_ »

What's the last version of GZDoom that works? What's the version of Zandronum that works? What's the version that doesn't?
Also, try to rename ~/Library/Preferences/gzdoom.ini or move it to a different folder, and start GZDoom.

GZDoom runs on 10.12 and newer. Vulkan renderer may have some issues on macOS versions that are no longer supported by Apple, OpenGL should be fine.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13568
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Post by Rachael »

You will need to upgrade your OS. What Mac model are you using? Monterey (12.x) works quite well on hardware as old as 2014, and offers very little of an interface change (hence, not much to get used to in the change).

If your concern is losing 32-bit app support, you can split the boot device into partitions and install Monterey or Ventura (if your Mac supports it) to it for newer apps.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13568
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: GZDoom version 4.10.0 not working on macOS

Post by Rachael »

Return to “Technical Issues”