GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Graf Zahl »

The problem starts with this commit:

https://github.com/ZDoom/gzdoom/commit/ ... d18e2398c0
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Graf Zahl »

fixed. It was a buffer overflow in the canvas texture code.
User avatar
Daryn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:22 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Professional X64
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Daryn »

Graf Zahl wrote: Fri Jan 27, 2023 11:44 am fixed. It was a buffer overflow in the canvas texture code.
Beauty. That was quite the trip to get there. I'll give tomorrow's pre-build a try and see what I get on this end.

Thanks again, Graf!
User avatar
CandiceJoy
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Win11, MacOS Ventura
Graphics Processor: Apple M1

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by CandiceJoy »

Graf Zahl wrote: Fri Jan 27, 2023 11:44 am fixed. It was a buffer overflow in the canvas texture code.
Oh hell yeah! You’re awesome <3
User avatar
CandiceJoy
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Win11, MacOS Ventura
Graphics Processor: Apple M1

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by CandiceJoy »

Well.......this is still happening for me on HEAD. No matter what mod I load (that uses models), though, I always get the same error.

Assertion failed: (mBufferPointer != nullptr), function UploadBones, file hw_bonebuffer.cpp, line 87.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Kappes Buur »

For me MAP01 does not crash, however, models do not display,
for example
when I load dragon-sector-remake-v0.51a.pk3

or, for example
Enjay's Gene-Tech: Before the Storm

or, for example
Zanieon's MMDCXIV

with any 4.11-pre or 4.10 versions


Sorry for erroneous post, see below.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 29, 2023 2:57 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
CandiceJoy
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Win11, MacOS Ventura
Graphics Processor: Apple M1

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by CandiceJoy »

Kappes Buur wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 5:32 am For me MAP01 does not crash, however, models do not display,
for example


when I load the pk3 with any 4.11-pre or 4.10 versions
Is that a dev build?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Kappes Buur »

CandiceJoy wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 5:35 am Is that a dev build?
Yes, all 4.11pre are development versions:
  • gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-6-g46d36cf5c
  • gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-109-g70d355cfa


and the final release of 4.10
  • gzdoom-4-10-0-Windows-64bit


Sorry for erroneous post, see below.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 29, 2023 2:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Daryn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:22 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Professional X64
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Daryn »

Kappes Buur wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:43 am
CandiceJoy wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 5:35 am Is that a dev build?
Yes:
gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-6-g46d36cf5c
gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-109-g70d355cfa

and
gzdoom-4-10-0-Windows-64bit
I don't know if this particular fix would have been in 109 since Graf made the commit that afternoon.

I've just tried it out with gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-112-g4d9e60574 and I set the wipe effect to melt and skill to Brutal. I was able to load into Map 01 and play through, and all the 3D models are in there. So, might be something else going on here.

Just throwing my 0.02 Canadian cents in as another data point.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Kappes Buur »

In case it is important, I edited my earlier reply to include other pwads
where the models are not displayed.

[edit]
Still happens with gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-112-g4d9e60574


Sorry for erroneous post, see below.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 29, 2023 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Daryn
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:22 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Professional X64
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Daryn »

Kappes Buur wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 12:04 pm In case it is important, I edited my earlier reply to include other pwads
where the models are not displayed.

[edit]
Still happens with gzdoom-x64-g4.11pre-112-g4d9e60574
May I ask, what renderer you're using?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by Kappes Buur »

Daryn wrote: Sun Jan 29, 2023 12:40 pm May I ask, what renderer you're using?
Well, now I really feel stupid. I blame my deteriorating memory for that.
I was so certain that I set the renderer to Hardware Accelerated, as I always use that,
but I had been playing Knee-Deep in KDiZD and changed it to Software Renderer
and forgot to change it back.

I'm sorry for my misleading posts. I will correct the posts above.
User avatar
CandiceJoy
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Win11, MacOS Ventura
Graphics Processor: Apple M1

Re: GZDoom Crash on Starting Dragon Sector

Post by CandiceJoy »

This is fixed in https://github.com/ZDoom/gzdoom/pull/1981 (just tried it myself) :D

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”