Teleport to a 3D Platform [Resolved]

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Teleport to a 3D Platform [Resolved]

Post by ReX »

I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I can't easily find an answer (I've tried search using +teleport +3D +platform). How can the player be teleported to a 3D platform? I've set the destination map spot height correctly, and tried with Map Spot (Type 9001) and Map Spot w/Gravity (Type 9013).

I know that, at map start, a player can't spawn on a 3D platform. But I can't believe I've never made a map where the player uses a teleporter with a destination on a 3D platform.

At any rate, I'd greatly appreciate an answer to my question. [I have some ideas on how to jury rig what I'm trying to do, but these solutions are messy.]
Last edited by ReX on Wed Jan 25, 2023 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4058
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Teleport to a 3D Platform

Post by Kappes Buur »

While this should work for anywhere in the range of the 3D sector height, I always set the teleport destination spot 3 to 5 units higher than the 3D sector ceiling.

For example:
the 3D sector has a height of 384/360 and the teleport destination is set to a height of 387.



The player is teleported into the game with action special 71 (Teleport silent) from an outside sector and materializes on top of the 3D sector.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Teleport to a 3D Platform

Post by ReX »

Kappes Buur wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 1:17 pm While this should work for anywhere in the range of the 3D sector height, I always set the teleport destination spot 3 to 5 units higher than the 3D sector ceiling.
The control sector of the 3D sector in question has a floor height of 544 and a ceiling height of 560. The destination map spot has an absolute height of 568, so the height of the map spot relative to the 3D floor is not an issue.

Another data point that might otherwise be relevant is that the destination 3D sector is one of 4 3D floors that occupy the same space (at different heights, obviously). If the next higher 3D sector was low enough to prevent the player from spawning at the height of 568 I can understand why the teleport process wouldn't work. However, in my case, the next higher 3D layer is at 1024 to 1040. This provides more than enough room for the player to spawn.

You mentioned using Teleport_Silent (Teleport_No Fog; Line Special 71). I'm using a "standard" Teleport (Line Special 70) via a script:

Code: Select all

script 3 (void)
{
	if(teleport1)
	{
		Thing_Activate (3);
		[b][color=#FF0000]Teleport(1);[/color][/b]
	}
	else
	{
		SetHUDSize (640, 480, 1);
		HUDMessage (s:"\cCTurn on switches in the Four Towers to activate telepad.";
		HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_LOG, 2, CR_GOLD, 80.1, 30.1, 6.0);
	}
}
I don't believe using Line Special Type 70 ought to make any difference.

I'm stumped, as I am simply unable to see what I might be doing wrong. Perhaps I ought to put a small delay between activating things with TID 3 (some enemies near the teleport destination) and the teleport action. Let me try that and report back.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Teleport to a 3D Platform

Post by ReX »

ReX wrote: Tue Jan 24, 2023 6:13 pmPerhaps I ought to put a small delay between activating things with TID 3 (some enemies near the teleport destination) and the teleport action. Let me try that and report back.
I added the delay and, as expected, nothing changed.

Meanwhile, I also tried something else: Instead of using an ACS special to trigger the teleport, I just used a teleport special, with and without fog (Type 70 and Type 71). Neither teleported me to the correct height.

I might otherwise have considered abandoning this aspect of the map. But this aspect is an important element of the gameplay, and I've spent a considerable amount of effort developing it, so I don't want to give it up so easily.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4058
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Teleport to a 3D Platform

Post by Kappes Buur »

In this simple pwad both 70 and 71 work.

Are you doing anything fancy?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1565
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Teleport to a 3D Platform

Post by ReX »

Thanks, KB. Your test wad clearly demonstrates that both types of teleporters work with 3D platforms as intended.

As far as I can tell, I'm not really doing anything fancy, but let me go back and study how I've set everything up. At some point you'll get to playtest the map and you might figure out what I'm missing.

EDIT: I went back and looked at your test map in an editor. (Btw, thanks for creating it in Doom-HeXen format; you did remember that I'm still operating in a 20th century environment :wink: ) The main difference is that you used a teleport destination (Thing Type 9044) while i used a map spot. Switching to using a teleport destination did the trick and resolved the issue. Many thanks.

Return to “Mapping”