3d floors or 3d Models?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
neveranoob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2022 2:22 am

3d floors or 3d Models?

Post by neveranoob »

UDB has this great tool where you can export the map/parts of the map as 3d models
Would it be worth exporting a uppersector/lowersector skyportal and rendering it as a model or better off just keeping the map geometry?
Which of these 2 options is more optimised?
Cheers :D
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17684
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: 3d floors or 3d Models?

Post by Gez »

There isn't a one-size-fits-all best approach; different use-cases will require different methods.

One thing to keep in mind is the question of collision boxes. 3D models are represented in-game by actors, which have a square prism collision box, regardless of how they look like. Sometimes people will use an invisible 3D floor (for collision geometry) and a 3D model to represent the 3D floor. This works but the setup is more complex than just using a visible 3D floor.

Finally you mention uppersector/lowersector portals, and those are something different from 3D floor in that they are different sectors. There's a lot of game effects that depend on sectors, notably for things related to AI logic.
neveranoob
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2022 2:22 am

Re: 3d floors or 3d Models?

Post by neveranoob »

Gez wrote: Wed Nov 02, 2022 3:12 am There isn't a one-size-fits-all best approach; different use-cases will require different methods.

One thing to keep in mind is the question of collision boxes. 3D models are represented in-game by actors, which have a square prism collision box, regardless of how they look like. Sometimes people will use an invisible 3D floor (for collision geometry) and a 3D model to represent the 3D floor. This works but the setup is more complex than just using a visible 3D floor.

Finally you mention uppersector/lowersector portals, and those are something different from 3D floor in that they are different sectors. There's a lot of game effects that depend on sectors, notably for things related to AI logic.
Thanks for the reply Gez, okay, i'll clarify what i mean. So i have used 3d floors in an uppersector portal purely for aesthetic reasons but im wondering if maybe that will slow down the engine, perhaps i might be better off exporting the sucker as a 3d model instead of using 3d floors?
No monsters or players will interact with the uppersector. I just want to know which is more engine intensive, at some point it will all add up and might run slow for some machines.
I guess the perk of having a 3d model is giving it a render radius but im not sure if it makes a difference.
Thanks again :D
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17684
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: 3d floors or 3d Models?

Post by Gez »

In your case, there are indeed probably no downsides to using a 3D model.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48334
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: 3d floors or 3d Models?

Post by Graf Zahl »

3D floors are one of the most efficient constructs for complex geometry. Don't worry unless you want to stack 20-30 in a single sector and repeat that multiple times, then it can get hairy. In general a single 3D floor has the cost of one additional sector.

Return to “Mapping”