DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRL Arsenal Extended build]

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Your favorite Monster Pack for DoomRPG?

DoomRL Monsters Pack Beta 7.3
55
71%
Pandemonia Monsters v2.2
4
5%
Colourful Hell v0.99b
13
17%
DeHacked Attack 4.0
3
4%
Rampancy 2.0
2
3%
 
Total votes: 77

Armage
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 8:07 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by Armage »

Hi!

I tested this new build, and wow, really congratulations!

I liked this new additions and the name of wads appearing.

I only don't know how to run DRLA Extended properly without "error parsing 2 decorate scripts", maybe is an error with LZDoom now, , i don't know! I don't tried run in GZDoom, because bad performance, same with Vulkan running without mods. I get errors running only DoomRL Arsenal, after Monsters and after Extended.

But it's only a detail, because everything working nice :D

Congratulations again, very good mod, and is nice see more modders working in this mod :)
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by lucker42 »

Armage wrote: Mon Aug 22, 2022 6:40 am Hi!

I tested this new build, and wow, really congratulations!

I liked this new additions and the name of wads appearing.

I only don't know how to run DRLA Extended properly without "error parsing 2 decorate scripts", maybe is an error with LZDoom now, , i don't know! I don't tried run in GZDoom, because bad performance, same with Vulkan running without mods. I get errors running only DoomRL Arsenal, after Monsters and after Extended.

But it's only a detail, because everything working nice :D

Congratulations again, very good mod, and is nice see more modders working in this mod :)
Thanks for the feedback!

As I said before, these 2 bugs refer to the original DRLA Extended version and you need to inform the author of this modification.

I made a small patch for you so you can run this on LZDoom, but note that I just commented out the scripts that LZdoom can't recognize. So this could have unintended consequences and I have no idea what they are responsible for. Just extract the files into the appropriate folder in DoomRPG-core.

Use it only at your own risk.
DoomRPG-RLArsenal-Extended (for LZDoom).rar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Armage
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 8:07 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by Armage »

lucker42 wrote: Mon Aug 22, 2022 8:29 am
Armage wrote: Mon Aug 22, 2022 6:40 am Hi!

I tested this new build, and wow, really congratulations!

I liked this new additions and the name of wads appearing.

I only don't know how to run DRLA Extended properly without "error parsing 2 decorate scripts", maybe is an error with LZDoom now, , i don't know! I don't tried run in GZDoom, because bad performance, same with Vulkan running without mods. I get errors running only DoomRL Arsenal, after Monsters and after Extended.

But it's only a detail, because everything working nice :D

Congratulations again, very good mod, and is nice see more modders working in this mod :)
Thanks for the feedback!

As I said before, these 2 bugs refer to the original DRLA Extended version and you need to inform the author of this modification.

I made a small patch for you so you can run this on LZDoom, but note that I just commented out the scripts that LZdoom can't recognize. So this could have unintended consequences and I have no idea what they are responsible for. Just extract the files into the appropriate folder in DoomRPG-core.

Use it only at your own risk.

DoomRPG-RLArsenal-Extended (for LZDoom).rar
Nice, really thanks for your attention :D

I will try this patch (before i will create an backup of the original DoomRPG-core folder), but if i have any issue i will continue play without Extended like before (using the unpatched folder). I sent a message to mod author of Extended, but no response yet.

Anyway, can i play, then save my character, update the version of your mod, and after the new update, reload my character? Or better is start a new game with a new character each time i update?

Thank you again =)

EDIT: I tested this patch, and really worked now, no "error parsing 2 decorates", but unfortunately i don't know why, but the game become really slow same with Toaster Mode activated and other options disabled to best performance. So i disabled, deleted the patch and worked fast with Toaster Mode activated. I tested and see some mods are more heavy than others, in low end machines i say. Thanks anyway :)
MutantMods
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2022 11:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by MutantMods »

Bug maybe?

I'm unable to pick up the DRLA extended craft parts off the floor.
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by lucker42 »

MutantMods wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 9:01 am Bug maybe?

I'm unable to pick up the DRLA extended craft parts off the floor.
A screenshot would give more information.

Perhaps you already have these parts in your inventory? A player cannot carry more than one craft part of the same species.
MutantMods
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2022 11:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by MutantMods »

lucker42 wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 11:45 am
MutantMods wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 9:01 am Bug maybe?

I'm unable to pick up the DRLA extended craft parts off the floor.
A screenshot would give more information.

Perhaps you already have these parts in your inventory? A player cannot carry more than one craft part of the same species.
I will play some more to see if maybe there's something I'm doing wrong, and get back to you. But I haven't ever been able to pick craft parts (UAC modpacks from DRLA Ext)
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by lucker42 »

MutantMods wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 6:24 pm
lucker42 wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 11:45 am
MutantMods wrote: Fri Aug 26, 2022 9:01 am Bug maybe?

I'm unable to pick up the DRLA extended craft parts off the floor.
A screenshot would give more information.

Perhaps you already have these parts in your inventory? A player cannot carry more than one craft part of the same species.
I will play some more to see if maybe there's something I'm doing wrong, and get back to you. But I haven't ever been able to pick craft parts (UAC modpacks from DRLA Ext)
What do you mean by "UAC modpacks from DRLA Ext". I don't understand. Show me a screenshot.
MutantMods
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2022 11:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by MutantMods »

Here's the video I made for the mod, do you think I have everything covered?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cpsm9pcnQ2s
Last edited by MutantMods on Sat Aug 27, 2022 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by lucker42 »

MutantMods wrote: Sat Aug 27, 2022 3:09 pm Here's the video I made for the mod, do you think I have everything covered?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cpsm9pcnQ2s
I watched the video. It's really cool. I liked it.

From what else could be said about it:
- The teleport system with support for WadSmoosh, Lexicon, Compendium mappaks.
- support for Monsterpacks: DoomRL Monsters Beta 7.3, Colourful Hell v0.98c, Rampancy v1.3 and Dehacked Attack v3.1;
- setting the number of WADs to pass - there is a subtlety here, namely: the difficulty, quality of the loot, types of monsters on the Adaptive difficulty with a package of monsters DRLA Monsters will depend on the number of WADS to pass;
- Natural leveling - in more detail;
- customizable system of loot from the latest updates, in which you can choose the system DRLA, or DRPG (with a tie to luck and the stage of passage).

Perhaps there is something else.

I'll be sure to add this video to the header of this thread in the "Reviews" section.
Krydax
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2022 2:31 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by Krydax »

Hello! I made an account just to post here, this modset is absolutely awesome. Currently playing through TNT with it and having a blast. I had been enjoying DRLA a lot, but wanted something a bit longer to dig my teeth into, and the progression feels very satisfying. I have it set to 4 wads and i'm about halfway through TNT and enjoying things a lot. There definitely aren't a lot of new DRLA weapons popping up yet, and basically no modpacks for the weapons, so I haven't been able to make very many assemblies, but as I progress and get rich, that should be less of an issue!

Thanks again for making this and maintaining it!

One recommendation/request. I turned off alternative HUD, because, well, it's pretty bad with DRLA since it doesn't show your current magazine, just your total ammo pools. So when you turn that off, you get two numbers in the bottom right, the current magazine amount, and the amount in your stockpile. The problem is it does NOT show the "max amount". This normally wouldn't be too much of an issue since the max amount is fixed, but since capacity is always changing, it's kinda annoying to not know if my 76 shells are max or not, because if they're not max, I want to avoid walking over a box of shells. I'm not certain if there's a great way to display it or if it would be too many numbers, but I'd love to be able to see max ammo without going into the skills menu. Hope this makes sense!
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA build]

Post by lucker42 »

Krydax wrote: Tue Aug 30, 2022 2:36 pm Hello! I made an account just to post here, this modset is absolutely awesome. Currently playing through TNT with it and having a blast. I had been enjoying DRLA a lot, but wanted something a bit longer to dig my teeth into, and the progression feels very satisfying. I have it set to 4 wads and i'm about halfway through TNT and enjoying things a lot. There definitely aren't a lot of new DRLA weapons popping up yet, and basically no modpacks for the weapons, so I haven't been able to make very many assemblies, but as I progress and get rich, that should be less of an issue!

Thanks again for making this and maintaining it!

One recommendation/request. I turned off alternative HUD, because, well, it's pretty bad with DRLA since it doesn't show your current magazine, just your total ammo pools. So when you turn that off, you get two numbers in the bottom right, the current magazine amount, and the amount in your stockpile. The problem is it does NOT show the "max amount". This normally wouldn't be too much of an issue since the max amount is fixed, but since capacity is always changing, it's kinda annoying to not know if my 76 shells are max or not, because if they're not max, I want to avoid walking over a box of shells. I'm not certain if there's a great way to display it or if it would be too many numbers, but I'd love to be able to see max ammo without going into the skills menu. Hope this makes sense!
Thanks for the feedback!

I'll see what I can do about it.
FilthySilver
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:52 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA Extended build]

Post by FilthySilver »

Is it possible to make an option where you go to the outpost after completing a level and using the teleporter to select the next level? Because I think whenever I leave the level for the outpost and come back to the level, the Corruption Card effect disappears.
kroftek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2022 10:01 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): win10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA Extended build]

Post by kroftek »

I have 2 issues, and would appreciate anyone's help:
-There doesn't seem to be any HP/armor/weapon/ammo stats on the HUD, I've browsed through a ton of options, but there doesn't seem to be any to enable this, am I missing something?
-PDA mouse movement doesn't seem to work, the cursor is just stuck, even though the message on the main menu says that this specific patch fixed that misbehavior.
lucker42
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:25 pm

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA Extended build]

Post by lucker42 »

FilthySilver wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 12:25 am Is it possible to make an option where you go to the outpost after completing a level and using the teleporter to select the next level? Because I think whenever I leave the level for the outpost and come back to the level, the Corruption Card effect disappears.
There is currently no such feature in the game. Only load a level and return to the Outpost. Is there a card selection going on?
kroftek wrote: Tue Sep 06, 2022 10:05 am I have 2 issues, and would appreciate anyone's help:
-There doesn't seem to be any HP/armor/weapon/ammo stats on the HUD, I've browsed through a ton of options, but there doesn't seem to be any to enable this, am I missing something?
-PDA mouse movement doesn't seem to work, the cursor is just stuck, even though the message on the main menu says that this specific patch fixed that misbehavior.
1) Is the scale of the HUD sure it's okay? Try pressing "+" or "-"
2) Try changing the mouse settings in the options. particularly freelook
kroftek
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2022 10:01 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): win10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRPG Rebalance [DoomRPG + DoomRLA Extended build]

Post by kroftek »

lucker42 wrote: Tue Sep 06, 2022 12:37 pm
FilthySilver wrote: Fri Sep 02, 2022 12:25 am Is it possible to make an option where you go to the outpost after completing a level and using the teleporter to select the next level? Because I think whenever I leave the level for the outpost and come back to the level, the Corruption Card effect disappears.
There is currently no such feature in the game. Only load a level and return to the Outpost. Is there a card selection going on?
kroftek wrote: Tue Sep 06, 2022 10:05 am I have 2 issues, and would appreciate anyone's help:
-There doesn't seem to be any HP/armor/weapon/ammo stats on the HUD, I've browsed through a ton of options, but there doesn't seem to be any to enable this, am I missing something?
-PDA mouse movement doesn't seem to work, the cursor is just stuck, even though the message on the main menu says that this specific patch fixed that misbehavior.
1) Is the scale of the HUD sure it's okay? Try pressing "+" or "-"
2) Try changing the mouse settings in the options. particularly freelook
The first one was indeed just a "+" button press away from fixing it. The second one however works only if I set the horizontal/vertical sens to high values, and put the values below them (turning, mouselook) to very low. But at least it works now. Thanks a bunch!

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”