Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta 4 Release!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16833
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0)

Post by Captain J »

Probably should wait instead of bumping without any info given.
User avatar
RubyEyeShabranigdu
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:03 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0)

Post by RubyEyeShabranigdu »

Ok! I'm sorry...
User avatar
RubyEyeShabranigdu
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:03 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0)

Post by RubyEyeShabranigdu »

Captain J wrote:Probably should wait instead of bumping without any info given.
SOD (1, 2 and 3) only works through cheat!
Blue pistol from SOD expansion is missing!
There is no official release of 3.0
Last edited by RubyEyeShabranigdu on Sun Jul 24, 2022 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
TheBeardedJedi
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0)

Post by TheBeardedJedi »

AFADoomer, right now WolfenDoom 3.0 TC spits out these four errors on the latest GZDoom:

"Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.zip:scripts/classicstats.txt" line 430:
Can't call play function GetLivesPlay from ui context
Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.zip:scripts/classicstats.txt" line 459:
Can't call play function GiveInventory from ui context
Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.zip:scripts/classicstats.txt" line 461:
Can't call play function CheckLifeAmount from ui context
Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.zip:scripts/classicstats.txt" line 464:
Can't call play function GetLivesPlay from ui context"

Any possibility of a fix? Thanks.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by AFADoomer »

*door creaks*

*coughing*

*wipes away cobwebs*


Whew... It's been a while. I've updated the first post with download information for the beta for version 3.0 of the TC. This beta is a stand-alone IWAD that re-adds full support for Spear of Destiny and the associated level packs, complete with an in-engine game selection screen. Just drop the .pk3 into your GZDoom folder and select it as your IWAD!

Get it here, or build your own IWAD from the GitHub site! I'm looking for feedback and bug reports before I do a final release - I'll likely do that when a new stable GZDoom version is released.

* Please note, this beta currently requires a dev build of GZDoom to run *
User avatar
TheBeardedJedi
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by TheBeardedJedi »

Great news. I tried the new build you just posted and it works well. The only bug I noticed now is that if a savegame is loaded or the game is loaded back into without hitting the "return to game" option, the menu music continues to play instead of the level music.
User avatar
Zenon
Posts: 513
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:05 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New Zealand

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by Zenon »

I wonder if we're going to see any custom mapsets or anything that use this as a base
D2 Mod Player
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by D2 Mod Player »

I'm still using your 2016 version for my HD mod. Does this version support lost levels like that version did? I haven't done it yet but was thinking of doing it. (spear of destiny episodes 2-3 with alternative graphics)

I'll assume it still works with the utility that converts vanilla level sets to your TC.
User avatar
RubyEyeShabranigdu
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:03 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by RubyEyeShabranigdu »

GZDoom 4.8.2 (Tried on my main GZDOOM and a clean one)

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.ipk3:animdefs.txt" line 15:
Bad syntax.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by AFADoomer »

D2 Mod Player wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 4:02 pm I'm still using your 2016 version for my HD mod. Does this version support lost levels like that version did? I haven't done it yet but was thinking of doing it. (spear of destiny episodes 2-3 with alternative graphics)

I'll assume it still works with the utility that converts vanilla level sets to your TC.
The lost levels are included in this version. The original conversion tool should work as well; I've left the original texture naming conventions and script calls intact from the previous version, just in case someone had made their own levels.
RubyEyeShabranigdu wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 5:28 pm GZDoom 4.8.2 (Tried on my main GZDOOM and a clean one)

Execution could not continue.

Script error, "Wolf3D-TC-3.0-master.ipk3:animdefs.txt" line 15:
Bad syntax.
You need to run with a dev build for now until a new stable release comes out.
User avatar
RubyEyeShabranigdu
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2022 9:03 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Brazil

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by RubyEyeShabranigdu »

AFADoomer wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 6:32 pm
You need to run with a dev build for now until a new stable release comes out.
Thank You! :D
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7333
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by Kinsie »

That new start-sequence and pre-game menu is very impressive.
User avatar
MrRumbleRoses
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:01 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by MrRumbleRoses »

looking nice with the newly updated stuff
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by AFADoomer »

MrRumbleRoses wrote: Thu Oct 13, 2022 4:00 pm looking nice with the newly updated stuff
Kinsie wrote: Wed Oct 12, 2022 9:47 pm That new start-sequence and pre-game menu is very impressive.
Thanks for the feedback!

I wanted something as a unique splash, especially given the relatively quiet level of recognition of Wolfenstein 3D's 30th anniversary this year. The intro screen music is a clip from an unused Wolf3D music track, and the game selection screen music is another unused Wolf3D track.

Most of the unique interactive screens in the mod now, including the loading screen, finale screens, and the high score screen are custom menu code rather than the old ACS-based interfaces that were in older versions of the mod. This has allowed much more flexibility, including directly parsing exports of the original data for the finale text screens and adding actual functionality to the high score screen.
User avatar
AFADoomer
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:18 pm

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0) Beta Release!

Post by AFADoomer »

TheBeardedJedi wrote: Mon Oct 10, 2022 12:01 am Great news. I tried the new build you just posted and it works well. The only bug I noticed now is that if a savegame is loaded or the game is loaded back into without hitting the "return to game" option, the menu music continues to play instead of the level music.
Thanks for reporting this! I've fixed this in the current GitHub version.

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”