Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21454
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by wildweasel »

darkhog wrote:Also, if you still can't do that, even with the console closed, the wad in question may block the cheats via mapinfo. Like my mod does. I hate cheaters.
I don't recall that being possible.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by Hellser »

By making all the skills "nightmare" skills (in the sense that you can't use iddqd, idkfa, etc). But there are ways around that. Using the console to type in sv_cheats 1 is an example. Regardless, I don't think having your mod being "cheatsydoodles" free is the proper way to do things. A lot of people might want to test your mod first by giving themselves all the weapons and see if the mod is worth playing rather than spending 30 minutes of their precious time to determine that all your weapons, and gameplay, is crap or it's worth playing again from the start. This is how I've came to love WW's mods.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by Nevander »

I already have set sv_cheats 1 in my autoexec, so you can't block my cheats. :wink:
User avatar
DemonSlayer
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:03 am
Location: Resides in a base on Mars guarding the world from the Ream of Hell

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by DemonSlayer »

I do not blame you and I have much of the same sentiment because I want to win through skill than cheating. The point for me in using cheats is more of a testing tool in that if I get stuck or if there is not enough ammo I can use that as a bookmark of what I will edit if I have to, but If a map does block cheats but has issues of poor design such as horrible monster/ammo ratio along with impassible doors that do not have the scripts correct or there are pitfalls that cannot be escaped, What command or script do I need to edit to unblock the no cheating limit (personal use only)?
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by Hellser »

The only real cheat I use is Resurrect, mostly in what I call "bullshit!" situations. Such as someone making a imp-ranked monster rip off half of my health in one go.
User avatar
Viscra Maelstrom
Posts: 6197
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 am
Location: plergleland

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by Viscra Maelstrom »

i also admit to using resurrect over here. it's a godsend when i'm being terrible at the game. besides, games are meant to be fun, and sometimes i do cheat in Doom to have fun or blow off steam. it doesn't have anything to do about "git gud" for me, i've played the game for about 8 years dammit.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by Hellser »

Viscra Maelstrom wrote:i've played the game for about 8 years dammit.
20 years here. It's sort of a game I play when I've got nothing else better to do.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by NeuralStunner »

Someone who hacks a game in order to ruin the experience for someone else is a cheater. Someone using codes in their own game is only affecting their own experience, why "hate" them? What people do behind closed doors for their own enjoyment is their own business.

Besides, if you've ever modded a game at all, you're in the same "playing the game in a way other than how it was made" boat.
User avatar
kalensar
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 9:40 pm

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by kalensar »

I cheat in my own mods just to bug test them. Gotta short cut gameplay balance somehow. Some mods and maps are just beyond my skill level yup, definitely going to try it legit first but if the creator is a meany then time abuse. Not all of us are slaughter Masters.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21454
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Unable to use Doom cheat codes like IDKFA, IDDQD etc.

Post by wildweasel »

This thread was about 5 years out of date. I'm not gonna shuffle this to the Gallery of Useless Bumps, though - I'm just going to lock it. The discussion's been and gone by now.

Return to “General”