WidePix v1.3 [complete/final] - GZDoom 4.7.1

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by NightFright »

As if it had never been any other way.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17367
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Nash »

loinbread wrote:Boss work, Nash! Looks awesome! Is it rude to ask if there's any way to use them in Strife VE?
Currently, no (because the VE engine doesn't fully support it)... but I've already contacted Nightdive about it. We'll see how it goes...
Scuba Steve
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 8:56 pm

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Scuba Steve »

Absolutely incredible stuff.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13474
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Tormentor667 »

Brilliant work Nash - usual hq!
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by NightFright »

Just to clarify:
This new version for GZD 4.7 doesn't affect any sprites, right? Asking to make sure I don't have to update my brightmaps for this.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17367
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Nash »

As far as WidePix is concerned, the only new content introduced with GZDoom 4.7 is Strife. The other games are completely untouched. Do note that Strife has some widescreen-ified weapon sprites: https://github.com/nashmuhandes/WidePix ... fe/sprites
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17779
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Gez »

So, what remains on your plate? Just Chex and Hacx?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48664
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Graf Zahl »

Chex, Hacx and Harmony. Harmony is just 3 images, where two can use the same extension, though.
After that the officially supported IWADs are all covered.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by NightFright »

Amazing that we reached this state regarding widescreen support after all these years. And in the end, all it took was one talented and motivated guy.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26472
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Enjay »

I'm just happy to see Strife getting almost as much love as its engine siblings these days. I remember, many years ago, a map of mine had the crusader sprites in it (I think it was my Marine Assault mod - so that was something like 2003) and several people on Doomworld posted to ask where the sprites had come from. That's how little known the game was at that time.

I remember seeing it in a video game store when it was new but I didn't buy it for some reason. So, a little while later, being unable to find a physical copy online from ebay or whatever, I asked a friend who lived in the US to keep an eye out for it. Much to my surprise, he was able to get it from a store and post it to me.

Anyway, this thread isn't for my own personal wander down memory lane. :P
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17367
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Nash »

It's fine Enjay. :)

Yes, this year has been interesting for Strife in general. It just got an official Switch port by Nightdive Studios. And for the first time since its release, Strife is fully playable in cooperative mode via my Strife Coop Patch project. Now, the graphics don't get cut off anymore.

The funny thing? I'm not even THAT much of a Strife fan, if I can be completely honest. I play VERY little Strife, truth be told. In fact, my coop mod was the first time I actually played the game from start to finish.

I do acknowledge that it's a pretty cool game that did something special for the first person genre (you wouldn't see another first person RPG in the mainstream for quite some time - I think until Deus Ex came along?), though sadly mostly flew under everyone's radar...
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17779
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Gez »

Nash wrote:I do acknowledge that it's a pretty cool game that did something special for the first person genre (you wouldn't see another first person RPG in the mainstream for quite some time - I think until Deus Ex came along?), though sadly mostly flew under everyone's radar...
I can't really give it that, since the year of Strife's release also saw TES: Daggerfall released...

And before that, the real-time, free-movement, single-character first-person perspective RPG subgenre had been pioneered by Ultima Underworld: The Stygian Abyss in 1992. Ultima Underworld II: Labyrinth of Worlds in 1993, System Shock in 1994, TES: Arena also in 1994...
User avatar
UnknDoomer
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 10:18 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Another reality

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by UnknDoomer »

Greetings.

If I've got right this WidePix also provides high-poly one versions of intermission screens, right? If so - how I can turn in on via last GzDoom? Interested in manual version, via [Global.Autoload] in gzdoom.ini in my case.

Also have found such https://zandronum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1608, but most of the links are dead currently.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26472
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Enjay »

Not high poly, wide.

They are the same height as the standard graphics, but they are wider. The original graphics were 320x200 and designed to fit on an old 4:3 monitor (by stretching the height so it was effectively 240 pixels tall, kind of). However, modern monitors are rarely 4:3 ratio. They are 16:10, 16:9, or wider. So the old graphics ended up occupying the centre of the screen with black bars at the sides. These graphics are wider - 560x200 (thanks to Nash drawing them) and so they cover the areas that would have otherwise been black.

If, when you boot up the game, there are no black edges on the game's titlepic, you have loaded the resource. If you do have the black edges, add game_widescreen_gfx.pk3 to the autoload section of your ini or just check the tickbox on the GZDoom launcher.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17367
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: WidePix v1.2 (Strife update!!!) [GZDoom 4.7.0]

Post by Nash »

UnknDoomer wrote:Greetings.

If I've got right this WidePix also provides high-poly one versions of intermission screens, right? If so - how I can turn in on via last GzDoom? Interested in manual version, via [Global.Autoload] in gzdoom.ini in my case.

Also have found such https://zandronum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1608, but most of the links are dead currently.
No, WidePix are not high resolution/HD. They are all still in the original, pixelated size. They are just made wider, so that there are no more black bars at the sides. To load it up in the latest GZDoom, just tick the checkbox at the startup window.

Return to “Graphic/Audio Patches”