Random crashes

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

Recently i experienced some random crashes on raze that i was unable to replicate. Everything i got is the coredump of the last one, hope it can help somehow...
https://www.mediafire.com/file/fy0gcnni ... mp.7z/file
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48356
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Random crashes

Post by Graf Zahl »

I can't do anything with that. It's just a large binary file I cannot analyze on Windows.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

I installed gdb, but it always says "failed to run debug - segmentation fault - coredump created", and nothing else. Can someone help me to properly activate this damned gdb?
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

I have a savegame, but sometimes crashes and sometimes not. The game is blood, with https://www.moddb.com/downloads/trauma-therapy.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/eqaq3e97 ... dsave/file
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Random crashes

Post by _mental_ »

SaveTheDoomer wrote:I installed gdb, but it always says "failed to run debug - segmentation fault - coredump created", and nothing else. Can someone help me to properly activate this damned gdb?
You don't need to activate anything. Launch Raze from console aka terminal, and post its output when it crashes. At the end of the log, it should be something like this.

Code: Select all

*** Fatal Error ***
Address not mapped to object (signal 11)
Address: (nil)

Generating raze-crash.log and killing process 2401, please wait... 30   ../sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/waitpid.c: No such file or directory.
Killed
In the current directory, raze-crash.log has been created.

To be able to help, you need to provide more information about PC and Linux distro you are using.
BTW core dumps are mostly useless without executable that causes a crash.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

It doesn't do anything like that, no error, no logs, nothing. I did manually run gdb and managed to replicate the crash, but gdb simply froze. After several minutes, it says that the program received sigkill and doesn't exist anymore.
Thank you anyways for your reply and your time, don't you worry. I give up. I just want to play some old games from time to time, things are getting too complicated for me.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Random crashes

Post by _mental_ »

_mental_ wrote:To be able to help, you need to provide more information about PC and Linux distro you are using.
Help us help you. At least, share executable file for that core dump please.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

As i said, don't you worry, I already uninstalled the game, i'm done with it.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

Someone gave me an advice, to try lldb; i tried it and finally managed to obtain something :

(lldb) bt
* thread #1, name = 'raze', stop reason = signal SIGSEGV: invalid address (fault address: 0x555561c61000)
* frame #0: 0x00005555558e80bc raze`getzrange(vec3_t const*, short, int*, int*, int*, int*, int, unsigned int) + 428
frame #1: 0x0000555555c8f2bb raze`Blood::GetZRange(spritetype*, int*, int*, int*, int*, int, unsigned int, unsigned int) + 459
frame #2: 0x0000555555cef3ef raze`Blood::MoveThing(spritetype*) + 751
frame #3: 0x0000555555d0eae0 raze`Blood::actProcessSprites() + 1072
frame #4: 0x0000555555d113d0 raze`Blood::GameInterface::Ticker() + 464
frame #5: 0x0000555555925452 raze`TryRunTics() + 3106
frame #6: 0x000055555592549d raze`MainLoop() + 45
frame #7: 0x000055555592b6e6 raze`RunGame() + 5158
frame #8: 0x000055555592c924 raze`GameMain() + 308
frame #9: 0x0000555555759124 raze`main + 260
frame #10: 0x00007ffff6988b25 libc.so.6`__libc_start_main + 213
frame #11: 0x000055555576d7be raze`_start + 46

if someone is interested...
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Random crashes

Post by Redneckerz »

SaveTheDoomer wrote:As i said, don't you worry, I already uninstalled the game, i'm done with it.
That was not really what you were after when you started the thread, right?

Please post the coredump and also try to search for raze-crash.log.

So you run Windows. How does Duke Nukem 3D run, if at all?
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Random crashes

Post by sinisterseed »

Redneckerz wrote:
SaveTheDoomer wrote:So you run Windows. How does Duke Nukem 3D run, if at all?
Judging by their profile OP uses Linux.
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

No, i use mainly Manjaro linux, raze and gzdoom can be compiled from the aur.
As i said before, the program just freezes at a certain point then crashes without saying anything useful, just segmentation fault. No error is returned, no crash log is generated. I tried to run raze within gdb but it simply freezes as well, then the program is killed and goodbye.
I tried to upload the coredump, but i was told it's useless. At that point, i got frustrated with the whole thing and i decided to give up.
Yesterday someone that's into linux told me to try lldb. So i reinstalled the game on the fly, and i managed to replicate the incident but, unlike gdb, lldb worked. I posted what i could get, it's everything i got.
That's all. I'm into other games now, i just did it to help somehow.
As for duke, i played it some time ago, but with eduke32. In raze it worked, no crash if i remember.
Thank you for your reply.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Random crashes

Post by _mental_ »

Callstack doesn't explain much in this case. May I ask you to upload saved game again?
User avatar
SaveTheDoomer
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:20 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows10/Manjaro
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Yog-Sothoth stone circle on the dark hills

Re: Random crashes

Post by SaveTheDoomer »

_mental_ wrote:Callstack doesn't explain much in this case. May I ask you to upload saved game again?
Here you go:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/p7842fcv ... dsave/file
Link to the mod:
https://www.moddb.com/mods/blood-trauma ... erapy-v-11
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Random crashes

Post by _mental_ »

What did you do right before it crashed?

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”