SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Post your example zscripts/ACS scripts/etc here.

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Moktar » Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:31 pm

panzerfaustmna wrote:

Hi, ive got this error while playing brutal doom on gz 4.1.3 , its happens when iam using brutality on enemys
sry 4 bad english =)


Hi. I'm getting the same error, it occurs when performing fatalities on BD under GZDOOM 4.2. Also there is another error, it happens after loading E1M2 (immediately after the intermission from E1M1).



Also, sorry for the bad english too.
User avatar
Moktar
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2012

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Nash » Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:26 pm

The latest Github commit has a fix for that already merged in; if you don't mind using dev versions of the mod, you can just download it from the Github.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby 40KN » Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:33 pm

Hey @Nash, using the latest build seemingly stopped the frequent crashes, but this one eventually popped up upon picking up an item:

40KN
 
Joined: 08 May 2019

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby bLUEbYTE » Sun Nov 17, 2019 7:42 pm

I had an odd issue where the mod simply doesn't get loaded... GZDoom version 4.2.4. This started happening all of a sudden, I could see every other mod in my autoload list get mentioned in the console but not this one. I had double checked the file path in gzdoom.ini. Tried to load it via '-file ...', still no go, it would get silently ignored. Have you seen such oddity before?

So I went ahead and made a .wad version of it as at commit fe1eb1, with menu stuff removed. It loads fine now.

Providing the WAD here just in case someone hits a similar issue.

Thanks for a great mod, Nash.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bLUEbYTE
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2019
Location: Australia
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Nash » Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:11 pm

@bLUEbYTE: That's strange indeed. Seems to be working for me. I'm sorry but I haven't the slightest clue what's going on, or how to reproduce it...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby StrikerMan780 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 5:25 pm

40KN wrote:Hey @Nash, using the latest build seemingly stopped the frequent crashes, but this one eventually popped up upon picking up an item:


My ZScript knowledge is limited, but perhaps a NULL check on this line before calling Object.Destroy could prevent this?
User avatar
StrikerMan780
Struggling but getting by. For now.
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Discord: StrikerTheHedgefox#6299
Github ID: StrikerMan780
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby ZellSF » Sun Dec 08, 2019 2:14 pm

It's a bit jarring how Strife's roof crawlers and roof mounted turrets cast shadows. Is there any logical way to make exceptions for them so they don't have shadows?
ZellSF
 
Joined: 13 Aug 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Nash » Tue Dec 10, 2019 8:29 pm

ZellSF: thanks for the feedback, I'll have to see what I can do about that. Good point.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby A_D_M_E_R_A_L » Tue Jul 07, 2020 9:40 pm

Idk if this was already reported or if you'll come back to this, but here it is anyway:
The shadows don't detect sprites that have a SPRITEFLIP flag. (the sprite is flipped, but the shadow isn't)
User avatar
A_D_M_E_R_A_L
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Discord: A_D_M_E_R_A_L#7602

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Nash » Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:02 pm

While that is a valid report, I am working on bringing sprite shadows directly into GZDoom. What this means is that soon this mod will be obsolete and discontinued.

(the benefits of implementing sprite shadows directly into the engine is vastly superior performance).

Still, thanks for the report though because I will need to account for that even if it's going to be built into the engine.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby NightFright » Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:52 pm

That is terrific news. I have been playing with this mod almost for as long as it exists, so having this as a menu option will make things even easier and convenient. Thanks a lot for this outstanding effort!
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: SpriteShadow (Duke3D Shadows) v1.9

Postby Gamerwarrior117 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:27 pm

how do i load this with hakros launcher? it has duke nukem 3d.

https://doomlauncher.hakros.com/
Gamerwarrior117
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2019

Previous

Return to Script Library

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest