Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby Urthur » Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:28 am



The sky in this map is a dome with a scolling texture. Vertical glitches appear in the (8bit) Doom Software Renderer in GZDoom 3.7.1
Additionally the edges of sloped surfaces sometimes have visible texture glitches.

No such artifacts appear in the GL or True Colour Software Render, or in ZDoom 2.8.1
User avatar
Urthur
 
Joined: 31 May 2018

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:50 pm

What WAD/map, and what are your coordinates (use IDMYPOS)?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby Urthur » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:28 pm

It's a map I'm presently working on. Artifacts appear regardless of position or orientation.
User avatar
Urthur
 
Joined: 31 May 2018

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby Urthur » Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:37 pm

User avatar
Urthur
 
Joined: 31 May 2018

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby drfrag » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:04 pm

No idea of what's going on but this thing is old, also happened in 3.3.2 but not in ZDoom32 (it's not the floatification). But there's another problem with disappearing sprites and lower performance with models enabled.
Probably it's the same issue as this one: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=62417
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby Rachael » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:06 pm

drfrag wrote: but not in ZDoom32 (it's not the floatification).

What happens when you compile without ASM support? (Should be in the list when you run cmake-gui - you might want to create a new build folder for this test, as changing defines recompiles the whole project)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Slope Artifacts in Doom Software Renderer

Postby drfrag » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:17 pm

Ouch! They are there, there's no need to recompile as only the non GL exe uses ASM in order to link the main one (SSE2) with SAFESEH.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain


Return to Software Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: _mental_ and 0 guests