[Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Atendega » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:17 pm

Erenussocrates wrote:Well, firstly it wasn't angrily complaining, secondly I'm the one who needed help here, not anyone else, you seem to be slow to get that notion.

Thirdly, it isn't counted as necroposting as long as someone still needs help on the said subject and if the post matches the topic that is posted on. Which my post, suits the both criteria. Plus being a a rule-OCD on a forum that has 15-20 members on simultaneously on an average day is... pretty dumb and useless anyways. Like I said, it wasn't even something useless, it was calling for help on a relevant topic. And I was either gonna ask for help in that relevant topic, or go and post a new topic about this already pre-existing topic.

While it's true that you're allowed to ask for help, what you asked for was explicitly against the rules (distribution of commercial wads), so I assumed it didn't count. Though seeing as the all-powerful wildweasel himself (praise be) implied he'd be willing to help out with this, I'm a bit confused.

Anyway, while I don't much appreciate your tone, I have the Master Levels handy and I'd be willing to help you out. The issue is that I'm unsure at this point whether or not I'm allowed to ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
User avatar
Atendega
 
Joined: 25 Jul 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby wildweasel » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:20 pm

Well, to be clear, what I was willing to help with was providing the exact instructions needed to stop the WadSmoosh implementation of the Master Levels from eating your inventory every level. Since I'm not in a position where I can generate such a file, I can't give instructions as exact as I'd like to.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby DoomRater » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:24 pm

Ooh, copyright clarification! While you may think downloading a copy of something you already own is legal, it's the copy that is being made that is against the agreement and thus a copyright violation. The courts even ruled on this one. I only know this because I was recently arguing with someone who thought enforcing copyright was mandatory and that damages received are dependent on how carefully you defend it (pretty much false, and of course he couldn't supply a court room case where this actually happened). Desperate to prove myself wrong before the other guy can get a chance, I looked stuff up and.... read over a bunch of key court rulings on copyright cases. One of which is that "infringing copies downloaded even when the user already had said material counts as copyright infringement".

Edit: TeamViewer, anyone? Someone else could literally do the work for you over the internet!
Last edited by DoomRater on Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Atendega » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:30 pm

wildweasel wrote:Well, to be clear, what I was willing to help with was providing the exact instructions needed to stop the WadSmoosh implementation of the Master Levels from eating your inventory every level. Since I'm not in a position where I can generate such a file, I can't give instructions as exact as I'd like to.

Ah, I see. I knew that it was illegal even if they owned it themselves, so this makes much more sense :lol:

Erunussocrates, if you're willing to do it yourself, I could make you a guide with screenshots of what to do. Would that be good enough?

EDIT: Here you go.
User avatar
Atendega
 
Joined: 25 Jul 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Erenussocrates » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:57 pm

wildweasel wrote:
(that means I want to keep my inventory dammit, don't tell me to spawn weapons)

I have all it takes to run a mod goddammit, why do I have to be bothered with taking even more steps like downloading an extra program to edit something that I don't even care to learn about?

can't anyone just help me out here and send me, like a readily available .wad or something?

I'm the one who needed help here, not anyone else, you seem to be slow to get that notion.


This doesn't really strike me as the kind of respect I'd like to be seeing around here. Asking for help is fine, you're not breaking rules just for that. But I would really prefer if, in the future, you tried your best not to take your frustrations out on a userbase that ultimately has little-to-nothing to do with why you're upset.


I wasn't taking my frustrations out on doom community with what I said. Yes it's true I was frustrated because I had been trying to run that damn thing for a while, and in the end it seems I really was obliged to do all that extra work if I wanted to run the Interface mod. I just don't like going as far as downloading yet another program just to make this work, a program that I highly doubt I would be using a second time for anything else.
I wouldn't really deem my own first post as disrespectful, as it wasn't even really addressing anyone. In order for my post to be disrespectful, I think it has to address a certain someone, but I think at worst, my first post had an outspoken and familiar -or even humorous and goofy- kind of tone in it, which wasn't addressed to anyone.
"(that means I want to keep my inventory dammit, don't tell me to spawn weapons)" quote was just a pre-answer against general dismissive arseholes in mod communities that I've come to experience a lot. The other quotes were just the same examples of my outspoken tone reflecting my general frustration about this matter. And the last quote was a counter against someone who actually disrespected me first. Not the other way around.


Edit: I don't need help about the Interface mod anymore, since I've just migrated to unified official Doomwads solution (though master levels are still pistol start). I understand the issue with legality and that's why I said that you can find me on steam and even message me if you still don't trust me that we are the same user. But like I said, I don't think I need help with Interface anymore. But then again, master levels are still stuck to being a pistol start, which is a shame.

Edit 2: Thanks Atendega. Though, I think I will need help on making unified Doom .wad be able to load inventory, which might be even harder than this I can imagine. Sorry I've been reading the posts one by one instead of reading up until the last one. A bit tired right now.
Last edited by Erenussocrates on Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Erenussocrates
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Nevander » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:04 pm

Wtf? It literally takes no time at all to use SLADE to copy TEETH.WAD and take out MAP32 from one and MAP31 from the other. I did it myself using XWE a long time ago and these days using SLADE would be even easier. Not to mention SLADE itself is a super useful tool for doing any kind of Doom modding. You could even use it to make your own version that simply loads one map to the next (i.e. MAP01 is ATTACK, MAP02 is whatever, and so on).
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2014

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Atendega » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:24 pm

Erenussocrates wrote:And the last quote was a counter against someone who actually disrespected me first. Not the other way around.

Your complaint was worded not as a lack of understanding, but as a lack of willingness to follow some simple directions to get something to work. I referred to that as lazy because that's literally the definition of lazy. I guess I worded it pretty bluntly, but I certainly didn't mean to insult you. I'm sorry about that.

What you did was very blatantly insult my intelligence. There's a difference there, in terms of "disrespect".

In any case, your response to perceived disrespect shouldn't be to throw disrespect right back at the person. "But they started it!" is generally not a great argument :V

Anyway, glad you found a solution. I would recommend keeping the pistol starts, as the levels weren't designed to be played with any sort of progression or sequence. But if you really want to keep your stuff between levels, open the WadSmoosh-created .pk3 in Slade 3 (just do it, the program is a tiny download and this is a simple edit), open the "mapinfo" subfolder, delete masterlevels.txt, and replace it by importing the file I've attached. You should be able to figure this out easily if you look at the tutorial I made.
Attachments
masterlevels.txt
(2.99 KiB) Downloaded 51 times
User avatar
Atendega
 
Joined: 25 Jul 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Gez » Wed Feb 15, 2017 5:27 am

Heck a PK3 is a zip file in disguise, so you could do that switcheroo with any zip utility, including the one built-in Windows.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Atendega » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:09 am

Gez wrote:Heck a PK3 is a zip file in disguise, so you could do that switcheroo with any zip utility, including the one built-in Windows.

Oh right, I guess I was still thinking in terms of WADs :V

What he said^
User avatar
Atendega
 
Joined: 25 Jul 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Erenussocrates » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:00 pm

@Atendega, yes, exactly, it was a lack of willingness to do it. Because I am not willing to go such lengths in order to make a mod work, all of the mods I've downloaded so far just works with dumping them into ZDL (which is a tool I was forced to use in order to manage load orders ever since I've started using multiple mods), and I'm sure as hell that majority of mods hosted here also doesn't require many other extra things here. In that case I wouldn't consider myself "lazy" by default, I would consider the installing of this mod "inconvenient", if someone or something really needs a name to be called for.

In any case, your response to perceived disrespect shouldn't be to throw disrespect right back at the person. "But they started it!" is generally not a great argument :V


No, just no. That won't ever work with whomever has a sliver of self-respect or dignity. You disrespect or trash talk someone, you better be ready to be called back in the same kind. And that's pretty normal.

Thanks for the advice about Slade 3, if I feel myself desperate enough while playing, I guess I will indulge in that
Erenussocrates
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2016

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Zippy » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:10 pm

UPDATE

A completely random person emailed me the other day, asking me to create an ipk3 version of this project using the IWADINFO feature. I, being bright with splendorous magnanimity, obliged immediately.

Here it is. (Dropbox)

I welcome any responses and comments. The IWADINFO is a small addition, and to the best of my testing everything worked. But you never know. Since it uses a newer feature, utilize GZDoom 3.2.0 or later. The first post of the thread has also been updated.

You still have to provide your own Master Levels and pack them into the ipk3 yourself for everything to work. Or, if you're so inclined, autoloading works now because it's an IWAD, but that seems the more cumbersome way to do it.
User avatar
Zippy
Your Golden Boy
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Discord: Zurock#4834

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:58 pm

Discovered a bug with the M_DOOM graphic:
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby BlueFireZ88 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:28 am

I don't mean to bump this relatively quiet thread, but I had a thought regarding this particular menu:

Was it ever ever considered making this menu modular? In other words, making so that people could use the menu interface, but place any levels they wanted into it? Seems like a great way to streamline a lot of great single levels into one convenient place.
User avatar
BlueFireZ88
Fight fire with BlueFire.
 
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Argent Tower

Re: [Done] Master Levels Menu Interface

Postby Yarn366 » Fri May 24, 2019 7:59 pm

GZDoom 4.1.0 changed the autoload names for the Doom games: the Id Doom games now start with doom.id, while the Freedoom games now start with doom.freedoom. You should change the Master Levels Menu Interface's autoload name to doom.id.doom2.masterlevels to conform to this.
Yarn366
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: OfficialYeen, Shadez12, Untitled, Zanieon and 7 guests