[Fixed] [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpost

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpost

Postby Zhs2 » Tue May 07, 2019 9:55 pm

GZDoom Vulkan crashes whenever it attempts to render the Outpost map of DoomRPG SE. I cannot pin down exactly why this happens all by myself, but I do have a crash report to offer. Loading the map by itself without the rest of DoomRPG's resources does not seem to cause the crash, so perhaps it is a texture oddity?
Attachments
CrashReport.zip
(40.61 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of meh.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby dpJudas » Sun May 12, 2019 4:10 pm

Anyone have a link to the actual pk3 for this mod? Seems the links I'm finding wants me to download launchers and run various exe files.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby XxMiltenXx » Sun May 12, 2019 4:50 pm

Apparently for manual installation - as they call it - you have to download this whole repository here and then follow these instructions
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby dpJudas » Sun May 12, 2019 5:53 pm

Which involves running exe files.

Edit: ok apparently those instructions didn't include running the bat file. Anyway.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby Rachael » Sun May 12, 2019 5:59 pm

That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby wildweasel » Sun May 12, 2019 6:29 pm

Rachael wrote:That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.

DoomRPG is unfortunately a really complicated mod with a lot of different parts, which means there's about 10 or so different things that either need to be loaded or not loaded depending on what it's being run with.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby phantombeta » Sun May 12, 2019 6:42 pm

wildweasel wrote:
Rachael wrote:That's a terrible way to distribute a mod, imo. It should run with just the .pk3 only, you should not need .exe's or .bat's.

DoomRPG is unfortunately a really complicated mod with a lot of different parts, which means there's about 10 or so different things that either need to be loaded or not loaded depending on what it's being run with.

Indeed. I'd argue it's even actually a far better way to distribute it, considering loading DoomRPG correctly from the command line is pretty much hell (at least IMO). And I dunno about the continued DRPG version floating around, but the launcher for the original DoomRPG is a pretty simple open source application written in C#.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby dpJudas » Sun May 12, 2019 6:57 pm

That makes it sound like I will have to spend considerable time figuring out how to replicate this bug report. Sorry, I'm not interested enough in DoomRPG to do that. These bugs aren't even entertaining to fix to begin with.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby Rachael » Sun May 12, 2019 7:24 pm

I'll leave this open in case _mental_ or Graf might have an idea that might tackle this. Otherwise, this will unfortunately have to get closed. :(
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby phantombeta » Sun May 12, 2019 7:33 pm

From some testing, it doesn't seem to be related to the outpost map at all - if you start the game on E1M1, it'll crash, too. Gonna test it further and report back on any possible findings.

[edit] Also, rather than a full-on crash, I seem to get the "Failed to submit command buffer" error instead. Gonna try on the latest master too, just in case.
Last edited by phantombeta on Sun May 12, 2019 7:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby dpJudas » Sun May 12, 2019 7:46 pm

Testing on 4.1.1 right now will just create too many false reports.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby phantombeta » Sun May 12, 2019 7:50 pm

After testing on a debug build of the latest master, I seem to be getting no crashes anymore. That said, I seem to be getting assertion errors in p_sight.cpp when running DoomRPG... But only when using OpenGL. I don't get those assertion errors with Vulkan.
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby _mental_ » Mon May 13, 2019 2:50 am

This assertion may fail regardless of renderer. The second argument of ACS CheckSight() function is zero and script activator is null as well.
Hard to say what errors these assertions supposed to catch. There are explicit tests for null pointers right after them.

As for the crash, please test with the latest devbuild.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [4.1.1] Crash with Vulkan enabled on DoomRPG SE's Outpos

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 13, 2019 3:16 am

These assertions come from a time when this function could not be called from ACS. With that function in the game the assertions are useless.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests