Revised splashes

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Siberian Tiger »

I apologize if this is considered bumping, but - thank you for revising these splashes! I just finally implemented it to work with my project, and it looks fantastic!

Spoiler: What happens when you mix splashes + rain?
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12298
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: Revised splashes

Post by NeuralStunner »

Are there small-type splashes? There probably should be. Then you can give the rain drops (or whatever else) <10 mass, and they'll have a much nicer effect on water.
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Siberian Tiger »

NeuralStunner wrote:Are there small-type splashes? There probably should be. Then you can give the rain drops (or whatever else) <10 mass, and they'll have a much nicer effect on water.
Good idea, I'll get on that once I am awake. I seriously lost track of time last night :P
User avatar
Koto
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 9:12 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Southamerican sacrifice zone (Chile)

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Koto »

Nice splashes, i will use on my project (if there's no problem).
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Nash »

MEGA BUMP!!!

Hey Enjay, this is showing "unknown flat" errors when autoloaded with Doom 1/Ultimate Doom... this can be solved by using lump filtering. Create a folder inside called /filter/doom.id.doom2/ and put this terrain.txt into that folder:

Code: Select all

floor RROCK01 LavaSmoke

floor RROCK02 LavaSmoke

floor RROCK05 LavaSmoke
floor RROCK06 LavaSmoke
floor RROCK07 LavaSmoke
floor RROCK08 LavaSmoke

floor SLIME01 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME02 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME03 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME04 SlimeBrown

floor SLIME05 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME06 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME07 SlimeBrown
floor SLIME08 SlimeBrown

floor SLIME09 LavaSmoke
floor SLIME10 LavaSmoke
floor SLIME11 LavaSmoke
floor SLIME12 LavaSmoke
Finally, remove the same entries from the top-level terrain.txt.

Just in case you want to update the file. :P I have made local changes to my copy.

Thanks again for this simple but essential mod!
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26416
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Enjay »

I can't do it immediately, but that certainly makes sense. I will do though. Thanks for the suggestion.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Nash »

Another mega bump :D :D :D

This topic came up again, and I thought - heck, why did I not just upload my modified version that I suggested to Enjay 2 years ago?!

Enjay, feel free to offer this version in the OP if you want.

I have made no changes other than moving the Doom 2 terrain into a filter folder to silence the warnings when the mod is loaded in Doom 1. Everything else is left intact just the way you made it. :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26416
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Enjay »

First post updated to link to your post Nash. Thanks for doing that. I had completely forgotten about the suggestion.
User avatar
Reactor
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Island's Beauty, Hungary

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Reactor »

Bumpnessnessness :)

I made some new splashes since then. I upload two motionless samples for ya. You can decide whether or not you find them appealing. If so, I can upload the whole set :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17296
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Nash »

I'll let Enjay decide for himself, but in my opinion, those don't mesh with the vanilla art style.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7316
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: Revised splashes

Post by Kinsie »

This mod is "just" a port of the Raven splashes for ease of Doom mod use. Anything outside of that scope should probably get its own thread.

Return to “Resources”