Assuming the random damage should work like the original Doom's (that is, each pellet gets a different damage), that line is actually wrong. All the pellets will use the same damage, as it only calculates the value once - when the function is called. Probably why it feels too weak.Gerardo194 wrote:Great! I see now! I also set Rendering Quality in Quality and the switches in map 2 look stretched and map 3 looks the same way like your screenshot. It also happens in other maps. Do you always play Doom using Rendering Quality in Quality mode?
About the shotgun...that's the GZDoom P Random which causes this, you can also notice Super Shotgun is stronger than usual, killing Hell Knights and Mancubi with two shots. We will see what happens with this bugs and get them fixed for next update.
You know these things happens, specially when my brother do all the programing work for two projects, this and PSXDoom Master Edition for Play Station. Thanks for your support!
[RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC] ME
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 2119
- Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Brazil
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Now that you mention it, I'm aware that GZDoom has a different and more improved (pseudo)random number generator than vanilla Doom. For me at least, as long as the numbers are correct, I don't mind the damage output deviating from the original PSX/N64 Doom. Sure, it does change the gameplay, but it sort of counts as a bugfix. The original was limited in way that rolling some numbers was impossible and some to be rolled more likely than others. GZDooom AFAIK makes use of more than one RNG at the same time to better keep track of different things. It should ensure that all results are evenly distributed, more commonly known as a bell curve
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:58 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Hmmm, you go too fast, bro. It's this modified GZDoom port that has this weird issue. Our earlier versions didn't had this issue. We must check this up and get it fixed. I noticed this before publishing it but we decided to leave it like that.phantombeta wrote:Assuming the random damage should work like the original Doom's (that is, each pellet gets a different damage), that line is actually wrong. All the pellets will use the same damage, as it only calculates the value once - when the function is called. Probably why it feels too weak.Gerardo194 wrote:Great! I see now! I also set Rendering Quality in Quality and the switches in map 2 look stretched and map 3 looks the same way like your screenshot. It also happens in other maps. Do you always play Doom using Rendering Quality in Quality mode?
About the shotgun...that's the GZDoom P Random which causes this, you can also notice Super Shotgun is stronger than usual, killing Hell Knights and Mancubi with two shots. We will see what happens with this bugs and get them fixed for next update.
You know these things happens, specially when my brother do all the programing work for two projects, this and PSXDoom Master Edition for Play Station. Thanks for your support!
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
@phantombeta
Is this because of the FBF_NORANDOM flag? Else I dunno how it should look like.
Is this because of the FBF_NORANDOM flag? Else I dunno how it should look like.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:58 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
I misunderstood.
@phantombeta @DabbinSquidward, you are in the credits now for reporting this issues. Welcome
@phantombeta @DabbinSquidward, you are in the credits now for reporting this issues. Welcome
-
- Posts: 35
- Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:12 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
the solution like this:
since this is the damage formula for the shotgun,the same would be for the super shotgun and for psxdoom as well.thanks for the bug report.
Code: Select all
SHT1 AAAAAA 0 A_FireBullets (SPREAD_XY, 0, 1, ((random (0, 3) << 2) + 4), "D64BulletPuff", FBF_USEAMMO | FBF_NORANDOM)
SHT1 A 4 A_FireBullets (SPREAD_XY, 0, 1, ((random (0, 3) << 2) + 4), "D64BulletPuff", FBF_USEAMMO | FBF_NORANDOM)
-
- Posts: 422
- Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Any plans to base this project on the latest versions of GZDoom? And yeah, it's a pleasure to play this TC.
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Well, since the source was made available, it's only a matter of time and motivation for someone to implement this into the main line.Cacodemon345 wrote:Any plans to base this project on the latest versions of GZDoom? And yeah, it's a pleasure to play this TC.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:08 am
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
For some reason I can't hear any music on the Title Screen and the Menu Screen on PSX Doom, but in PSX Final Doom, I can.
Update: I guess today's update fixed it.
Update: I guess today's update fixed it.
Last edited by Elyos03 on Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 333
- Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:01 pm
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
this is pretty cool. these are perhaps like the best recreations ever made into total conversions
-
- Posts: 35
- Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:12 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Hey guys, there's an update in the OP.
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 6:49 am
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
the only thing I'd like to change if I could is to make the status bar widescreen, in the same manner the PSX Doom TC does, is there way I could manually do that or would it be something possible to add?
*edit
I just realised why, I thought for some reason that the game looked different, I was playing the initial version and that does use a couple of textures to fill in the blank gaps, but for some reason these are gone in the update. And I notice in the changelog you addressed this, but well for some reason they were there for me and the update actually made them gone.
*edit
I just realised why, I thought for some reason that the game looked different, I was playing the initial version and that does use a couple of textures to fill in the blank gaps, but for some reason these are gone in the update. And I notice in the changelog you addressed this, but well for some reason they were there for me and the update actually made them gone.
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:58 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Let's hope so! Thank you very much!Cacodemon345 wrote:Any plans to base this project on the latest versions of GZDoom? And yeah, it's a pleasure to play this TC.
Glad you could fixed it!Elyos03 wrote:For some reason I can't hear any music on the Title Screen and the Menu Screen on PSX Doom, but in PSX Final Doom, I can.
Update: I guess today's update fixed it.
Thank you very much, we put all of our efforts there, more is coming soon!MrRumbleRoses wrote:this is pretty cool. these are perhaps like the best recreations ever made into total conversions
I don't understand what you're trying to say, sorry! Maybe a couple of screenies can help me a bit.hybridial wrote:the only thing I'd like to change if I could is to make the status bar widescreen, in the same manner the PSX Doom TC does, is there way I could manually do that or would it be something possible to add?
*edit
I just realised why, I thought for some reason that the game looked different, I was playing the initial version and that does use a couple of textures to fill in the blank gaps, but for some reason these are gone in the update. And I notice in the changelog you addressed this, but well for some reason they were there for me and the update actually made them gone.
Now I want to ask, have you guys encountered more bugs or glitches? This can be helpful to get them fixed in next update!
-
- Posts: 37
- Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 6:49 am
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
I don't think I was quite sure of what I wanted to say, but I basically refer to the black bars either side of the HUD.
https://ibb.co/6tDnKP5
https://ibb.co/2FQvvp9
https://ibb.co/6tDnKP5
https://ibb.co/2FQvvp9
-
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:58 pm
- Location: Costa Rica
Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]
Oh, I see now. Actually those black bars aren't black bars at all, those are the green ones turned into dark blue.hybridial wrote:I don't think I was quite sure of what I wanted to say, but I basically refer to the black bars either side of the HUD.
https://ibb.co/6tDnKP5
https://ibb.co/2FQvvp9
Someone in Doomworld forums requested us that he would like to see black bars instead of the green ones just like the PSXDoom TC did, so we decided to give them a darker color. I don't know if you like this change we did.
By the way, next update will be running PSXDoom map format , yes, GZDoom [GEC] Master Edition will be running PSXDoom map format, the same maps included in your own PSXDoom CD.