GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Xim » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:09 pm

When I first got GZDoom on my new PC it was unplayably laggy, like the loading wipe screen took almost a minute. I ran a windows update and then it worked fine. I updated my graphics drivers in an attempt to get another game working which didn't work either. And now GZDoom has become extremely laggy again. And now another game's graphics won't load properly and GZDoom has gone back to being super laggy. Any solutions other than just taking my PC back because it's been frustrating me every single day that I've had it?

Oh yeah here are my PC's specs
processor:intel(R) core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40ghz
8.00 gb of ram
windows 10 pro, 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Kinsie » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:18 pm

Your GPU is missing here.
User avatar
Kinsie
A Concept Utterly Obsolete
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:57 pm

It cannot be the CPU - I got the same one. But from the description it sounds like there's some deeper issue at play here.
What's your graphics card?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Xim » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:11 am

I haven't gotten an actual graphics card yet. I'm just using the on-board processor one for now. Device manager just says it's "intel(r) HD graphics 4000". I just don't understand why it previously worked and now it doesn't. Is it just going to buggy like this until I get an actual card?
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:44 am

It's hard to say. While an Intel HD 4000 is not the fastest thing around, when I last tested it performance was decent, but not great. Certainly not laggy.
Can you run Doom 2's MAP01, enter "stat rendertimes" at the console and make a screenshot?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Ernest Dessledale » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:08 am

I can barely even get the map opened. I'll try it once I get home from work. Appreciate the help so far.
Ernest Dessledale
 

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:40 am

Are you sure you have the proper drivers installed? This almost sounds like OpenGL is falling back on some software implementation somewhere.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby lil'devil » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:52 am

I had the same problem when GZDoom 3.0.0. was released, because it used the new OpenGL version. The issue was that Windows didn't provide new drivers for my graphics card (Intel HD Graphics, integrated, without number). But when I switched to Ubuntu, it did have the new drivers, so the issue dissapeared.

Maybe you can try running in software mode or something? Because otherwise I think you'll need a new graphics card or OS.
User avatar
lil'devil
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Location: Heck
Discord: Li'l devil#1651

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:06 am

Windows doesn't provide any usable drivers. Intel should.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby phantombeta » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:14 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Windows doesn't provide any usable drivers. Intel should.

Windows does provide a fallback software-rasterizer driver AFAIK. (at least on 10)
That said, it most definitely cannot run anything OpenGL - trying to start GZDoom on it will just tell you that your OpenGL version is too low, so something else must be off here. (I tried it once right after installing Windows just to see what would happen)
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:27 pm

I said "usable" driver.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Xim » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:45 pm

Okay so it took over three minutes for the game to load so I could take a screenshot... the screen shot didn't save properly. I'll try again, but I honestly think I'm fucked at this point.
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:47 pm

Are you sure your system is running at full speed? That'S not normal.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Xim » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:07 pm

I think my computer is running at full speed. I ran run Fallout New Vegas and Renegade X on High graphics, no lag. But this happened after I ran display driver update (that i mysteriously can't roll back).

I had to write down what it said for the stat rendertimes. Here's roughly what I got (numbers were changing a bit).

Code: Select allExpand view
BSP=0.017, CLIP=0.013
W: RENDER=0.72, SETUP=0.22
F: RENDER=0.26, SETUP=0.03
S: RENDER=0.26, SETUP=0.014
2d:3.677   FINISHED:0.088
ALL=4295.661, RENDER=0.232, SETUP=0.077, PORTAL=0.000, DRAWCALLS=0.178, FINISH=4296.014


edit: I don't know if this helps but task manager says it's using up 1.3-1.6% cpu and 176.4 mb of memory, less than Firefox.

But yeah I kind of think this is a problem with my computer and not GZDoom, so I'll understand if we can't fix the problem here. I might just have to run QZDoom in Borderless-Window'd mode if I want OpenGL. :lol:
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy

Re: GZDoom has become extremly laggy

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:35 pm

CPU-wise it looks ok, but the GPU processing takes forever. How do other games fare?
BTW, GZDoom already uses a borderless fullscreen window, so QZDoom may not help here.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests