downgrading

Ask about editing graphics, sounds, models, music, etc here!
Shaders (GLSL) and SNDINFO questions also go here!

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
shadstarn
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:22 pm

downgrading

Post by shadstarn »

can someone help me ?

is there anyway to downgrade mods to work with older GZDOOM?
because i am trying to make them work on GZDOOM ANDROID
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13303
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: downgrading

Post by Rachael »

Wait until the newer version of D-Touch comes out.

Most of the new mods that are out now use ZScript, which either makes it impossible or difficult to downgrade to the earlier D-Touch versions, which did not support it.

It's the same support hiatus as Zandronum. Either the mod has to be (re?)made for those versions, or they just won't work period. Sorry.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7390
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: MAP33

Re: downgrading

Post by Kinsie »

You can learn more about D-Touch's continued development at this Doomworld thread: What the heck happened to Doom Touch/D Touch??
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1384
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Post by ramon.dexter »

Wait, I had found out that there exists some kind of gzdoom for android.

Here, take a look at it. Looks like it is based on newer build than doom-touch.

https://github.com/nvllsvm/GZDoom-Android
shadstarn
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:22 pm

Re: downgrading

Post by shadstarn »

where is the APK file in that link
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1384
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Post by ramon.dexter »

shadstarn
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:22 pm

Re: downgrading

Post by shadstarn »

i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21643
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: downgrading

Post by wildweasel »

shadstarn wrote:i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have
I'm afraid you're out of luck until one of these Android developers rebases to a newer GZDoom, or your Android device receives an OS update. If you're using a phone/tablet older than a couple of years, you're probably screwed.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1384
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: downgrading

Post by ramon.dexter »

shadstarn wrote:i want to play some special mods like death of machine WOLF3D it beggs for hand held but it wont work on the android version i have
So, you expect developer to support some older android version that could lack some features? Lucky you. Just upgrade your android tablet.
shadstarn
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:22 pm

Re: downgrading

Post by shadstarn »

you cant just upgrade your android and get a better version of an app.. the app has to be update itself.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21643
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: downgrading

Post by wildweasel »

shadstarn wrote:you cant just upgrade your android and get a better version of an app.. the app has to be update itself.
Which is exactly what we're trying to tell you.
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: downgrading

Post by Nevander »

Depending on the mod, you might could change some code to make it work. For example, I've seen mods that would work just fine on super old versions if it weren't for anonymous functions. Remove the code block of the anonymous function and re-write it without it and it might work... that is of course if the mod isn't full-on ZScript or something really new. This of course might break the intended way of an actor to behave, for example.

Return to “Assets (and other stuff)”