Fill Spectre v3.1

Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by Pixel Eater »

Cheers, I'm glad you like it :D

Keep your eye out in a day or so <scratch that it's the weekend> because I have something near complete to address Nash's concern above. While I cannot remove the original sprite, I think I've improved the way it's hidden...
Last edited by Pixel Eater on Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12951
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by Rachael »

There is one thing you can do. You can still use FF00FF as a key color, but leave the green channel completely empty. Then set the sprite's renderstyle to be 90% opacity, having the shader cue off of any color that is within 10% of FF00FF. (can be done if FragColor.r >= .9 && FragColor.b >= .9 && FragColor.g <= .1 - might lead to some false positives but hopefully not many)

Inside the shader, you remove the F000F0 from the sprite, and then multiply the result by 9 to restore the original image underneath of it.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by Pixel Eater »

Ooh I see what you're saying. The green channel is used for the contour information so it might end up looking flat if I can't work something else out. I'll definitely give it a try :thumb:
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by Pixel Eater »

Well I can confirm that absolutely works, thanks Rachael! It does lose the contoured look but still succeeds at lensing the background (which I might be able to use for a bumpy contour anyway). What's really intriguing me about this revelation though is it's potential to achieve the original DOS Doom effect :ugeek:
sylandro
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:49 pm

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by sylandro »

For some reason, I'm seeing pink blood when I shoot the spectres as if the color was not being caught by the shader.

Also, a small request, can you do a version of this for the Doom 64 spectre? Probably Nevander's Retribution mod can be used as a base.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by Pixel Eater »

That's weird, I thought i disabled the line which made the spectre's blood pink before uploading. Is your tolerance setting at 0.51?
Also, a small request, can you do a version of this for the Doom 64 spectre? Probably Nevander's Retribution mod can be used as a base.
I can't believe that hasn't occurred to me! I'll be doing that next chance 8-)
sylandro
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:49 pm

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1

Post by sylandro »

I figured it out, it was because I had the Blood type setting set to Sprites and particles. The particles have pink color, the sprites are ok.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v1.1 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Pixel Eater »

I'm glad it's ok...

The DooM 64 spectre's sprites are in the opening post now :)
User avatar
Armaetus
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:55 pm
Discord: Armaetus#8512
Github ID: GlaiceOldSchoolRTS
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: New York State

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Armaetus »

1) Setting "Tolerance" to 0 makes everything all warpy.

2) I am getting a magenta highlight around the spectres.

Port: GZDoom 3.2.1, 32 bit

Specs: AMD FX 8300, 16GB DDR3 RAM, Sapphire RX 480 8GB
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Pixel Eater »

The warpy effect is normal. Think of this effect like a "green screen" that's tuned to magenta but can be made to see all colours with a low tolerance. I call it Spectre Vision (tm) :P

I can't guarantee the outlines can be totally removed under all situations, but if you disable the settings in the added menu's "shortcuts" section that should improve things. Add them back one at a time to see what works for you. The default for Tolerance is also 0.51 for a good starting point.

In the first picture you've posted you can see the problem mentioned in the OP where when Spectres pass in front of each other they gain an opaque shape. This is because the alpha value needed by the shader changes when the sprites combine. Originally it was a bright white shape but the workaround I've used inverts that.
User avatar
Trusty McLegit
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Trusty McLegit »

This mod is producing some strange results for me. I tried on both 3.2.3 and the latest dev build. Same results. It's like theres a different effect applied in each of the 4 quadrants of the screen, split by the crosshair. Any ideas?
Image
Image
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Pixel Eater »

That looks like you have the depth control set very low, try 1.0. It's basically a pinch/punch effect 8-)
User avatar
Trusty McLegit
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Trusty McLegit »

Same problem regardless of the settings I use. It does change how it looks, but it still shows the 4 different effects in the 4 quadrants of the screen
User avatar
Pixel Eater
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am
Location: In between the Moon and you, between the buried and me.

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Pixel Eater »

That's interesting. When you type "gl_fillspectre_depth" into the console what value do you get? I'm thinking it could be a menu problem...

Is anyone else having issues?
User avatar
Trusty McLegit
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Fill Spectre v2 + DooM 64 Sprites

Post by Trusty McLegit »

I tried that and got a value of "1". Here's a video of the problem at different settings

Return to “Shaders”