[Fixedish] IDDT doesn't work in automap while playing a demo

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

IDDT doesn't work in automap while playing a demo

Postby Anonymous » Sun Sep 28, 2003 9:53 pm

Hi,

I'm actually using zdoom as part of a psychology experiment where I get users to walk through a maze. We're recording demos of their maze attempts and observing them afterwards in the automap view. However, when playing a demo, the "reveal" code IDDT doesn't work because pressing "i" brings up the menu as if I had pressed "esc". Is there any way this can be fixed in a future version?

Thanks!
Anonymous
 

Postby HotWax » Sun Sep 28, 2003 9:57 pm

Edit whatever level(s) you're using for the demos and tag all the lines with "Always on automap."
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Ultraviolet » Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:42 pm

And what if they want the Things to show up?
User avatar
Ultraviolet
AKA "Faint"
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Postby HotWax » Mon Sep 29, 2003 12:55 pm

Ultraviolet wrote:And what if they want the Things to show up?


Then they're screwed.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Mon Sep 29, 2003 2:53 pm

You could use the console to bind a key to iddt.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Postby Enjay » Mon Sep 29, 2003 3:11 pm

The Ultimate DooMer wrote:You could use the console to bind a key to iddt.


Nope, on 2 counts. IDDT is not a console command, and hitting any other key aside from tab seems to have the same effect as "i".
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Mon Sep 29, 2003 4:35 pm

IDDQD works fine when bound to a key.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Postby Anonymous » Mon Sep 29, 2003 5:01 pm

Hey guys,

It looks like I can't bind IDDT to a key, although IDDQD works (I tried, but correct me if I'm wrong). Thanks for all of the helpful replies. For now, I'll go with the suggestion to set all of the lines as "always on automap".

Thanks again!
Anonymous
 

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Sep 29, 2003 5:06 pm

You can bind IDDQD to a key because it exists both as console command and as cheat. With most other cheats you won't have much luck.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby randi » Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:52 pm

I can't change it so you can type the cheat while watching demos. However, I can (and will) move the cheat's state into the cvar am_cheat. Values of 0, 1, and 2 correspond to the number of times you use the IDDT cheat.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby Zell » Thu Oct 09, 2003 6:23 am

wont

bind f4 "give automap"

work? :D
User avatar
Zell
:O ALIVE[again]
 
Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Location: IN A GODDAMN BOX[In Erie.]

Postby Hirogen2 » Thu Oct 09, 2003 7:14 am

Automap is not the same as iddt.
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Enjay » Thu Oct 09, 2003 8:56 am

This also means we can use the console command in Heretic and Hexen without having to remember all those game specific commands, right?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest