[Fixed] [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Project Dark Fox » Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:54 am

If playing on Nightmare skill or with Double Ammo on, and players drop weapons when they die, if you pick up such a weapon it will have double the rounds it was carrying. For instance, if Player A had a rocket launcher with 8 shots left before Player B killed him, this new rocket launcher that he dropped can be picked up for 16 missiles.
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Remmirath » Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:37 am

PDF, that's not a bug, it's intended to work like this; it's also present in SkullTag, when you activate the double ammo option, and you drop your ammo via console, when you pick them again, you'll get double...nice trick :mrgreen:
User avatar
Remmirath
Slowest mapper on Earth
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Location: My house
Discord: Remmirath#0424
Twitch ID: TheRemmirath
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:23 am

If that happens, it's a bug.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Remmirath » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:36 am

No, plz, don't fix it, it's funny... :(
User avatar
Remmirath
Slowest mapper on Earth
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Location: My house
Discord: Remmirath#0424
Twitch ID: TheRemmirath
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:46 am

Fixed - also for ammo drops. It's an exploit and therefore considered a bug.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby TheDarkArchon » Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:37 pm

And yet chaingun sniping isn't considered an exploit :mrgreen:
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Project Dark Fox » Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:08 pm

TheDarkArchon wrote:And yet chaingun sniping isn't considered an exploit :mrgreen:

There's no Sniper rifle (heck, not even a standard assault rifle), so the chaingun is the next best thing. :P
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:57 am

TheDarkArchon wrote:And yet chaingun sniping isn't considered an exploit :mrgreen:


The difference being that the chaingun is coded to fire 2 accurate shots whereas the incorrect ammo dropping for weapons was just an oversight due to an insufficient implementation of the ammo pickup at the time it was written.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Enjay » Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:39 am

Not wishing to open this old can of worms any further but, nowadays, if chaingun sniping is a problem, an alternative chaingun can be made using decorate.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: [2.2.0, MP] Double Ammo on dropped weapons

Postby Project Dark Fox » Sat Apr 26, 2008 3:59 am

Enjay wrote:Not wishing to open this old can of worms any further but, nowadays, if chaingun sniping is a problem, an alternative chaingun can be made using decorate.

Already did that. Not stopping me from using the old one for the more classic mods. :P
Since the bug is settled, shouldn't this be locked and/or split?
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest