[Fixed] Texture bug.

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Texture bug.

Postby Espi » Wed Dec 10, 2003 3:16 pm

There's something wrong with how ZDoom displays the BIGDOOR7 texture with doom.wad:
Image
This doesn't happen with doom2.wad nor with doom.exe/doom2.exe.
User avatar
Espi
Heh.
... in loving memory ...
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: Finland

Postby Enjay » Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:00 pm

As you say, it only happens with Doom.wad. Doom2.wad is fine. BIGDOOR7 is an odd one. The patches in it are 136 tall but the texture is 128. I looked into the texture lumps of the 2 wads, and found a difference.

In Doom2, the patch W105_1 is used twice at these offsets:

-5, 0 and 123, 0

In Doom (Ultimate), the offsets are:

-4,-4 and 124, -4

So, rather oddly, the texture is set up differently in Doom1 and Doom2. Because of the offsets, I would expect the bottom 4 pixels of that odd bit of the W105_1 patch to be visible in Doom1 when the texture was used on a door (ie as it is in Zdoom). However, as you point out, it doesn't seem to be done that way on testing it with Doom.exe.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:43 pm

Enjay wrote:So, rather oddly, the texture is set up differently in Doom1 and Doom2. Because of the offsets, I would expect the bottom 4 pixels of that odd bit of the W105_1 patch to be visible in Doom1 when the texture was used on a door (ie as it is in Zdoom). However, as you point out, it doesn't seem to be done that way on testing it with Doom.exe.



AFAIK Doom is not capable of handling patches larger than 128. It probably was just random luck that it looked correctly in Doom 1.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HotWax » Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:45 pm

IMO, given that the original behavior was actually a glitch of Doom's renderer, and that this isn't a game-killing compatibility issue, I'd leave things as they are now. Otherwise you either have to code a special case just for this texture, or else risk messing up textures designed for ZDoom.
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:47 pm

I agree. This was changed for a reason in Doom 2 and if it bothers anybody it stops no one from fixing it oneself in the WAD.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Xaser » Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:55 pm

Why not include a texture2 lump in zdoom.wad that fixes the door?
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:21 pm

ZDoom.wad is loaded before the IWAD so the fix wouldn't have any effect.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby NiGHTMARE » Fri Dec 12, 2003 9:47 pm

Yeah I've noticed this too. I think this door shows up like this in a few other ports besides ZDoom as well.

BTW this isn't the only texture that looks different in Doom 1 & 2; SHAWN1 does as well. IIRC in Doom 1 it has stone on the right side, whereas in Doom 2 it's all silver.

On second thoughts this might be something that was fixed in a late Doom 1 patch; I'm not too sure and I can't really check right now as Doom 1 isn't on this computer.
NiGHTMARE
.now.
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003

Postby randi » Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:01 pm

Added a hack to make this texture show up properly. The "problem" is that I added support for negative patch y offsets, and this is one texture that actually has a negative y offset. (Doom's SKY1 is another.)
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests