[SOLVED!] MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[SOLVED!] MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:51 am

I have encountered an incredibly huge issue with the newest devbuilds of GZDoom. The problem is every sprite within the normal unedited Doom 2 wad all appear invisible ingame and I have no clue whatsoever how to fix it!. I'm 100% positive there is nothing wrong with the wad file, but when I try to play the game in hardware mode the sprites are, like I said, totally invisible. Everything else is perfectly fine and the sprites do however appear visible in software mode, but I prefer playing the game in OpenGL mode.

Do I need to update my OpenGL hardware or something?. If yes, then how do I do that?. A step-by-step tutorial would really help me a lot with this serious problem. Also, out of curiosity, does anyone else have this "invisible sprite bug" too?.

(Note: the sprites are invisible in both x32 and x64 versions on my computer).

-cmw1986
Last edited by cmw1986 on Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:11 am

If you have an old ATI card with OpenGL 3.x, yes you need a driver update. Some were quite broken.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:19 am

So how do I improve that?. Do you know any good sites in particular?.

In case if you need to know, I use a flatscreen Windows 7 (with the "tower" built into the screen).
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:33 am

cmw1986 wrote:So how do I improve that?. Do you know any good sites in particular?.

In case if you need to know, I use a flatscreen Windows 7 (with the "tower" built into the screen).

If you know the manufacturer of your computer's video hardware, it is best to go to the manufacturer's website. This can be easily checked by opening the Device Manager (you can search for it in the Start Menu's search box), then opening the "Display adapters" branch. If it's NVIDIA or ATI/AMD, go to the respective company's website to find your drivers. If it's Intel, you should probably get the driver from whoever manufactured your PC.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:03 am

Umm, just a question...what kind of graphics driver does GZDoom (now with zscript implemented) require?.
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby Caligari87 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:17 am

Just get the latest drivers for your graphics card.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:11 pm

I've done that and it still doesn't work!!! :bang:

I'm currently using an AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics card/driver/whatever and all the sprites are still invisible!!!...what the frickin' heck is going on here?!?!?! :evil:
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby wildweasel » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:19 pm

You got them from the AMD support site, right? Your chipset shouldn't have problems like that, as it does support (or claim to support, anyway) OpenGL 4.4 on the latest available drivers...
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:30 pm

Then what graphics card/driver should I be using then?. If it's not the graphics card, then my other guess would probably be that stupid zscript addition!!!. It's gotta be one or the other. :bang: :evil:
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby wildweasel » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:33 pm

Okay okay, calm down, please. Your video card is fine, and ZScript would not do this to you. Could you please install and run Speccy and post the specs that it shows?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:52 pm

Is this what you wanted?:

Speccy Snapshot.zip
(24.65 KiB) Downloaded 60 times
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby wildweasel » Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:03 pm

cmw1986 wrote:Is this what you wanted?:

Speccy Snapshot.zip

Yes, exactly what I needed. Going by this data, you seem to be running some very old driver software for your video card. I think this is the one you need, if I'm not reading these specs incorrectly, that is. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and try downloading the Radeon Software Crimson Edition Beta. If it gives you an option to perform a clean install, do it.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby cmw1986 » Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:24 am

Well what do you know, it worked!!!. PROBLEM SOLVED! :D

@wildweasel: I'm very, very, VERY sorry about my outburst yesterday. I can get pretty livid quickly when something like this happens to me and next time I'll try harder to be more calm. So for that, I apologize. 8-)

Now let's forget our troubles and celebrate with a nice cold glass of caffeine-free root beer!. :cheers: :thumb:

Peace!
-cmw1986
cmw1986
 
Joined: 09 Jan 2012

Re: [SOLVED!] MAJOR Help With Latest GZDoom

Postby wildweasel » Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:47 am

Excellent, I'm glad we could get that resolved.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest