Testing a new rendering backend (New tests needed)

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Testing a new rendering backend (New tests needed)

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 30, 2021 2:12 pm

Hello. Those of you who have your ear to the ground will already know what this is - for those of you who don't, the author of D-Touch recently created a new rendering backend for GZDoom that is designed to work better with mobile and older systems.

We on the GZDoom development team have very limited knowledge about how well this works with older hardware. However, the results of the tests here may determine if this project is worth picking up and continuing in an official capacity.

As such, I've spent a couple hours creating a testing environment that should give us the information we need. Included in this package is the following:
  • A slightly modified version of the GZDoom in question, with this new backend
    • Modifications include updating the GZDoom core to a more recent version,
    • and also removing some annoying debug messages.
  • A slightly modified version of LZDoom 3.87c. (Compiled with MSVC for Vista and later only)
    • This version of LZDoom is designed so that it can run side-by-side with GZDoom within the same folder. It simply renames game_support.pk3 to lzdoom_game_support.pk3
  • .dll files to support both the GZDoom and LZDoom installations included in the package
  • Source code for the modifications to both the GZDoom and LZDoom included
  • Freedoom 1 & 2 (mostly because it's legal to distribute and it will run all of the included mods just fine, for purposes of this test)
  • Frozen Time
  • Phobos: Anomaly Reborn
  • The Darkest Hour
  • Vrack 3
  • Knee-Deep in ZDoom
  • Hurt
  • A batch script meant to be used for this testing
  • Savegames meant to be loaded by the batch files with the mods, trying to get as close as possible to the same points

So how do I help?

We're mostly looking for people who have older hardware. OpenGL 2.x and OpenGL 3.x preferred. This mostly includes graphics chips that were new between 2004 and 2010.

Inside the folder there's a Testing - Open Me!.cmd file. This file will ask you what mod to load, and whether you want to load GZDoom or LZDoom for that mod. Naturally, we would like you to try each mod once with both.

Please load each mod with LZDoom first. After each mod is loaded, open the console, then type "bench". Please give it a few seconds. (The FPS counter will disappear when it is done). Then exit LZDoom. Do the next mod using LZDoom.

When you are done, please rename "benchmarks.txt" to "benchmarks-lzdoom.txt"

Now, do the same thing with GZDoom. Load each mod in GZDoom, one after the other. After each mod loads, open the console and type "bench". As before, give it a few seconds, wait for the FPS counter to disappear, and when it does exit GZDoom and move on to the next mod.

When you are done with the GZDoom batch, rename "benchmarks.txt" to "benchmarks-gzdoom.txt".

Once you have both benchmarks files, please stick them in a zip file and post a reply in this thread with those files attached. That will be really helpful, thank you! Please also let us know your CPU, how much RAM you have, and what GPU you are using, and whether you are using a 64-bit system or a 32-bit system.

Before you download this testing kit, please remember one thing: The scripts included in this folder are designed specifically for testing, and they are *not* meant to be installed in your actual LZDoom/GZDoom installation. In fact, DO NOT PUT THEM IN YOUR NORMAL LZDOOM OR GZDOOM FOLDER! The scripts will wipe your configs if they are in the same folder, and you do not want that. Don't say we didn't warn you! The scripts are designed to wipe the configs clean for every test, and you do not want them doing that to your real GZDoom files, so please don't do that! Keep them in their own separate folder, please.

Without further ado, here is the download link for the testing kit:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BgpjR4 ... sp=sharing (Both 64-bit and 32-bit system included in this package, it will be auto-selected)

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide!
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Csonicgo » Tue Mar 30, 2021 2:19 pm

Definitely going to help with this.
User avatar
Csonicgo
OPL Goddess
 
Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Location: Leeds

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 30, 2021 2:35 pm

Also - I forgot to mention:

Please also let us know your CPU, how much RAM you have, and what GPU you are using.


Please put this in your reply! Thank you!
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby 4page » Tue Mar 30, 2021 2:58 pm

Hey, this system is a little later than the range you're looking for, but thought I'd do this anyways.
CPU: AMD A10-5750M 2.5 GHz
RAM: 8 GB
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 8650G
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
4page
 
Joined: 06 Aug 2019

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 30, 2021 2:59 pm

Still appreciate you doing this, thank you. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Mar 30, 2021 3:10 pm

It was still useful - it clearly shows that even on weaker cards with 'modern' support it is slower than using regular GZDoom (LZDoom won't make much of a difference on such hardware) with one shader for everything. I had the same result on my Geforce 1060, albeit far more pronounced.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby cubebert » Tue Mar 30, 2021 8:09 pm

Here's the benchmark tests from my slightly crappy PC. I would estimate that my computer is at the early-2010's range of gaming performance, so I think it should be useful in testing the backend.

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K @ 3.50 GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 960
Ram: 16.0 GB
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
cubebert
 
Joined: 14 Jun 2020
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Redneckerz » Tue Mar 30, 2021 10:55 pm

I am really glad you followed this up Rach. I knew this was something that would peek your interest.

Ill definitely join in on this, in the weekend. Have a mini holiday from work. Finally something i can make my garbage rug useful for.

Specs in advance:
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 215 @ stock
GPU: GeForce 6150 IGP
RAM: 3 GB DDR2
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:42 pm

Redneckerz wrote:Specs in advance:
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 215 @ stock
GPU: GeForce 6150 IGP
RAM: 3 GB DDR2

Yes - these specs I really want to know about how this will perform. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:31 am

cubebert wrote:Here's the benchmark tests from my slightly crappy PC. I would estimate that my computer is at the early-2010's range of gaming performance, so I think it should be useful in testing the backend.

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K @ 3.50 GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 960
Ram: 16.0 GB



Considering this, there really is no need to post here if your graphics hardware reports OpenGL 4.4 or higher. We already have enough data points for these to confirm that regular GZDoom works best for such systems.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Redneckerz » Wed Mar 31, 2021 1:15 am

Rachael wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:Specs in advance:
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 215 @ stock
GPU: GeForce 6150 IGP
RAM: 3 GB DDR2

Yes - these specs I really want to know about how this will perform. :)

:) Ill get the results in ASAP. I may also have soms thin cliënten lying around to test but ill have to configure those first.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby _mental_ » Wed Mar 31, 2021 1:52 am

Rachael, may I ask you to push new backend changes, for example to QZDoom repo? I need to track some changes in order to test it on platforms other than Windows.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Rachael » Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:30 am

_mental_ wrote:Rachael, may I ask you to push new backend changes, for example to QZDoom repo? I need to track some changes in order to test it on platforms other than Windows.

https://github.com/madame-rachelle/gzdo ... ree/gzdoom
https://github.com/madame-rachelle/gzdo ... ree/lzdoom
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Rachael » Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:35 am

Added a 32-bit test kit. I don't even know if it works. If you are successful in using it and can post data on it, it would still be helpful - but please let us know that your system is 32-bit. If you can use the 64-bit test kit though, please use that and don't bother with the 32-bit one.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Testing a new rendering backend

Postby Nash » Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:44 am

Tested this on a potato laptop recently given to me. OS is freshly formatted Windows 8.1 with all the latest software updates (even optional ones) installed.

Code: Select allExpand view
CPU speed: 2000 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
  Name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU N3510 @ 1.99GHz
  Family 6, Model 55, Stepping 3
  Features: SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 HyperThreading

GL_VENDOR: Intel
GL_RENDERER: Intel(R) HD Graphics
GL_VERSION: 4.0.0 - Build 10.18.10.4276
GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION: 4.00 - Build 10.18.10.4276
GL_EXTENSIONS:Resolution: 1008 x 561
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Next

Return to Developer Blog

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests